We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bushwillow Collection
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$97
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$122
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$189
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$94
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
283
48
6
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
48
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbushwillow lodgespider walkred ivoryhonesty bargame parkgas braainight walkself cateringyellow woodwalking trailsplunge poolthe main lodgeour honeymoonsmall poolamazing lodgea wonderful staywelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 342 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

what an amazing way to start the new year. Ww ariived at the Lodge on 1st January 2014, stayed 3 nights. It was perfect....exceptionally clean, spacious, the kitchen was a dream with every utensil you could think off. Jabu and the team were so heplful.. even with the kids. Liz was exceptionally welcoming. There is nothing I would change!!! thank you for an amazing stay...omashni and family....

Room Tip: ask for the self catering...perfect!!!
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank omashni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushwillow_Lodge, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Yuveka, Omashni and family, what a pleasure to have you stay and enjoy our lodge for the New Year. It was a pity that your Father lost his wallet somewhere whilst on the game drive, but he was so relaxed about it. Bushwillow certainly is a relaxing place, though your men still seemed to keep you busy in the kitchen. Thanks for the watermelon - it was just what was needed on a hot Hluhluwe day! Welcome back any time - your children were so well behaved and enthralled with the nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had an amazing time and were so well looked after that we didn't want to leave. The staff took care of our every need and the meals were delicious. It is amazing to wake up in the morning looking out over the bush and seeing a little buck staring back at you. Will definitely return and have recommended it to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Justine0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is one property I would be more than happy to visit again and again. The hosts, Liz and Julian were among the best hosts we've come across in a long time, always ready to assist whenever necessary. No request was too big or too small. They were also able to recommend other activities such as going on a boat cruise, places to have dinner, snake and crocodile interactions, interactions with elephants, game drives at the nearby Hluhluwe Imfolozi Game Reserve, etc. in the area. Their staff were also great and made our stay as pleasant as possible.
The quietness of the bush, often interrupted by the sound of birds, a warthog family and a family of Nyalas, was exactly what I needed to recharge my batteries. I will certainly return and recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: The establishment does not have a television set, but then again, who needs the interruption of a television set when you are in the bush! You can bring your own games to play as a family. The establishment does provide games such as 30 Seconds and cards. We spent quality time as a family as a result. The establishment has wifi connection for those who are addicted to their technologies.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lesibana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushwillow_Lodge, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Lesibana & family, thank you for your kind words and encouragement. It was lovely to have your family stay for a whole nine nights.... and your wife and children after much coaxing survived all this time without TV! Afterall, we have the bush TV, which is far better for mind and soul! And congratulations to your son for passing his Matric with such distinction - you must be very proud. It is so great when guests keep in touch with us after leaving, and we look forward to seeing you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed four nights in the brand new (self-catering) cottage; a luxurious villa in beautiful private game reserve. Fantastic cottage with great large terrace with BBQ and jacuzi(!) and on fantastic location close to Hluhluwe Park. The only downside was some misunderstanding with the owners, which caused an uncomfortable feeling to us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duif_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushwillow_Lodge, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Jurian & family, Thank you for your review and I am pleased to know that you and your family appreciated the cottage over Christmas 2013. Your 2 young children certainly seemed to be enjoying themselves! I am sorry if you felt uncomfortable during your stay. I can only think this was because I charged for the extra guest that stayed on the final night of your stay and that I reminded you that check-out needed to be by 10h00. I was concerned that we have the cottage looking spick and span for our new guests that were arriving that same day so that they would find it ready in the same way as you found it upon your arrival. Regards, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nestled inside the Kuleni game reserve in Hluhluwe, Zululand. We stayed in the Red Ivory room which is contemporary and very clean. It has its own private plunge pool and since game roams freely on the grounds you can game view from the pool. We also highly recommend the walking trails (fitness centre) inside the reserve.

Room Tip: There is no air-conditioner in the Red Ivory room but the ceiling fan does the job as well as a dip in the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamideko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushwillow_Lodge, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Tamara, thank you for taking the time and to be our first review for our new boutique chalet: Red Ivory. Since these are our self-catering chalets, we did not see much of you at all! In fact, I don't think we actually met; only by e-mail! We are hoping eventually to take these chalets 'off the grid' and run then entirely on solar - hence our decision not to install air-cons for now and to see what the guest response is like. I think we will be going with mosquito nets though.... not necessarily for mosquitoes but so that guests can keep the stackable doors open at night and really get that 'bush feeling' happening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews