We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bushwillow Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We spent 3 nights in Bushwillow and enjoyed our stay very much indeed. Jabu and Victoria looked after us very well indeed. Excellent food en service from the lovely ladies. The accomodation is situated in a private game park and each lodge is private in the park. We stayed in the Tambotie room which has beautiful views and you can literally lie in bed and watch the animals walk by. The local wharthog has two babies at the moment. The tips for the next day from Liz were very much appreciated and we went golfing in the areas, visited local parks like Hluhluwe wildlife reserve. (excellent Rhino's)
We went for a lovely walk in the park looking for game and unfortunately we were sleeping when the girafe visited our chalet in the early morning.
This is the place if you want to stay in the bush with a lot of privacy and excellent service.

Room Tip: Only two chalets available an both are fantastic
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Bushwillow Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 315 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very special place run by very special people. Beautiful surroundings and walks - you never know who do you meet (I heve never before or after our two trips here saw a family of giraffes so close!) We have been here as a couple and as a family, it works for both perfectly. If you want some peaceful quality time with animal watching (on foot!) we can highly recommend Bushwillow! We will be back!

Room Tip: Tambotie room is great, totally private.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagdalenaH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had an awesome time exploring the North Coast on our honeymoon using Buswillow as our base of operations. Our whole week was effectively all planned by Julian and Liz, who were very helpful with making recommendations and bookings. We'd definitely recommend their 5-day package.

We stayed in the Tambotie room which has beautiful views and you can literally lie in bed and watch the animals walk by! Don't forget to leave your room and take a walk through the reserve though, and don't be afraid of the giraffe and bucks!

We took a game drive through the Hluhluwe wildlife reserve which was amazing. We took the full day drive and though we saw a lot of animals, it does get quite long. So we'd recommend rather doing two shorter drives. We also drove to Sodwana Bay and St Lucia, as well as doing the elephant interaction, which was fantastic. Each of these were a day-trip and though you do a lot of driving, it's always nice to know you can come home and put your feet up in luxury and privacy, or take a dip in the pool.

Jabu and Victoria were delightful "co-hosts" and cooked and served us the most wonderful food throughout the week. The were also always on hand to help with any question we had, whilst remaining discreet throughout.

We'd definitely recommend Bushwillow to anyone and can find little fault with our stay there.

Room Tip: The Tambotie room has a beautiful view of the watering hole and has ample space. You'll feel lik...
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillemA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

An oasis of quiet tranquillity in a small (l3 hectare) private game reserve. Lovely wooden "lodge rooms" at the end of boardwalks linked to a large central one which has a big deck, small plunge pool. Large picture windows overlook the bush and the bathroom has both a bath and very good shower.

The main Lodge is beautifully decorated inside with comfy sofas and lots of reading material and a honesty bar! Food is excellent but no choice although you are asked if you have any particular dislikes, and cooked by the most lovely and elegant Zulu lady and her charming assisant, Victoria. Breakfast ditto. Don't think about eating elsewhere - there isn't anywhere good locally.

We enjoyed the well signposted walks along trails through the Reserve trying to glimpse the shy wildlife. All small and not scary so no problem with walking around. Lots of information from our host, Julian, who doesn't live on site, but visited every day to see if we were okay and to help with suggestions for that day's itinerary. He built the Lodge himself and is in the process of buildng another. Go soon!

John and Jacqui Wigg

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnywiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We immensely enjoyed our first visit to Bushwillow last year, so decided on a return 3 night stay this year and we weren't disappointed. Great location - close to Hluhluwe and St Lucia. The accommodation is so peaceful, and has great views of the wildlife from your windows - giraffe and warthog right in front of our room. Liz and Julian are friendly hosts and Julian does a great braai. My awkward dietary needs were very well catered for - thanks to Jabu and Victoria who work very hard to make their guests happy. Fantastic food - we enjoyed everything. The breakfasts were wonderful, out in the open air, overlooking the bush. You must try Victoria's muffins - best I've ever tasted. With regard to price, this is really good value when compared with the extortionate rates offered by many other lodges. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed. Planning our third visit already .......!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponteview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at Bushwillow. The rooms have been positioned to give a good view of the small waterhole and visiting game whilst retaining a high level of privacy. The room itself shows a commitment to quality and great attention to detail. It is possible to see quite a wide range of game and birds without moving from the room.
The food at both breakfast and dinner was very good, beautifully cooked presented and served by Jabu and Victoria. The fresh fruit creations at breakfast were the best we had during our stay in South Africa, and there was stiff competition from the other eleven places we stayed. Whilst dinner was a fixed menu it was well balanced and individual preferences were accommodated – thank you Jabu. A sensible selection of wine etc. is available from the honesty bar.
Bushwillow is close to Hluhluwe and for our early morning start Jabu prepared a picnic “breakfast”, a wonderful selection that saw us through lunch before we could do it justice.
There is a high level of personal commitment from the whole team, and each evening Julian visited the lodge for a chat, and to advise and assist with our plans for the following day.
All this adds up to make Bushwillow a special place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeakTravellers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

A rather belated review, but we feel full credit was due to Julian Liz and the team. After a nightmare drive from Jo' burg ( we were 3 hrs late) we were met and made to feel right at home from the outset. We opted for the 5 night all inclusive, and it turned out to be excellent value for money. The food and service was excellent, set meals at a time that suited the guests. Varied menus, 3 courses and all locally sourced. From Kudu to line fish, and fresh friut and vegetables. Attention to detail, ambience was second to none, all credit to Jabu and Victoria. Julian (always busy!) popped in before supper and made sure everything was fine. Sit the man down and enjoy fantastic stories of his animal encounters in all parts of Africa as a Bush ranger, guide and conservationist
The story of the Buffalo attack will have you open mouthed!

The rooms are huge, with verandahs, and are nicely appointed. We stayed in the Marula suite, as there were 3 in our group. There are tea and coffee facilities, so you can just get on with it. The freshly prepared cooked breakfasts, and fresh coffee are a must. ( again prepared at a time to suit.) Enjoy waking up to a Giraffe or 3 plus numerous other antelope that pass throught the camp. The resident Warthog family that reside under the Marula rooms will have you in stiches, I ws even perpared to forgive them banging around under the raised flooring on more than one occasion!

The 3 or 5 day all Inclusive is worth the cost. Speak to Julian or Liz before you book. We loved the African elephant interaction and the ladies enjoyed the facial and beauty treatment in a nearby lodge. Having been fortunate enough to travel extensivley in Africa
over the years we usually avoid days trips like the plague. These excursions were certainly not tacky, very informative and Conservation minded. We did however find the boat trip to St Lucia very disapointing, in fact you can see more crocs and Hippos in the estuary. Still worth having a fresh fish lunch at one of the numerous restaurants though.

The 3 hr Game drive to the nearby Hluhuwe/IMfolozi National Park is great for your very first visit to SA, also good for Rhino sightings. We declined the afternoon drive as we have been spoilt elewhere, but Julian will book you some where else instead.

Also and finally do walk in the Kuleni Park whist staying at Buswillow. The paths are clearly marked and you will always see the game at close hand. Look out for pythons though!!

All in all, a fantastic place to stay. If it is good enough for the Greenwood guide, then it was good enough for us, and it lived up to our expectations, bar none.

Thanks

Mark Jane and Brenda 14th -19th Nov 2010
Vernham Street ,Hampshire UK

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkWilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
9.5 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
11.7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
154 reviews
17.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 9 in Mkuze
373 reviews
14.5 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#4 of 32 in Hluhluwe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwillow Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwillow Collection

Address: PO Box 693 | Kuleni Game Park, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa (Formerly Bushwillow Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: $131 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bushwillow Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Quirky or Cosy! Choose between self-catering, dinner bed & breakfast or all inclusive packages. Bushwillow Collection offers 3 totally different accommodation style options to suit your mood and we strive to provide a very personalised service, and we pride ourselves on this. Stay at our LODGE with warm wooden floors, reed ceilings and muted colours for a feeling of serenity and oneness with nature, together with good, honest home cooking. Meet fellow travellers at the central lodge area with pool deck and share adventures. Choose one of our BOUTIQUE self-catering chalets with private pool and quirky design and let the bright and cheerful colour schemes lift your spirit whilst still allowing nature to bring balance. Ask nicely, and we can bring you breakfast... or try an evening meal at our lodge one evening, subject to availability. Retreat to our self-catering COTTAGE with thatched roof set under tall and rare Lebombo Wattles for a cosy and relaxing escape. Relax in the spa bath on the outside deck and listen to the sounds of the African night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bushwillow Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing