We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fever Tree experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zululand Tree Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We recently stayed at the Lodge for 3 nights on an out-of-season special rate which included one game drive within the reserve; we, however, swapped that for an afternoon bush walk. Very little game within the reserve but wonderful to be able to self-drive in our own time within Hluhluwe which is only 15 minutes away; we saw plenty of game there and were able to remain in the park all day if we so wished which made a pleasant change from cold early morning 3 hour game drives. The room was small but adequate with an extremely comfortable bed and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony after dinner savouring the total peace of the forest which is beautiful. An enclosure has been erected for crocodiles right in front of the dining room which has spoilt the scenery; in our opinion a water hole for the buck would have been more pleasing and less smelly! The food was buffet-style - plain but plenty of it and always served by a smiling chef. The staff are to be congratulated on their efficiency and attitude - always ready to help and with a smile; we couldn't fault the service and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting a room away from the lodge, rather noisy in the early morning if you don't ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Admin at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2014

Dear Iona S

Thank you so much for such a great review of Zululand Tree Lodge, we really do appreciate the time and effort you took to write this review.We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we will make sure that the entire staff know that their hard work and friendliness does not go unseen by our guests.Thank you again for the great review and we really do hope to see you soon again,
Regards
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 161 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there in dec 13 and enjoyed the place a lot. I fully agree on what previous travelers say about the lodge and rooms but i also have to say that i wasnt to happy with the food and the service of some of the waiters. .. They can improve a lot in this area. I e.g. would expect freshly squeezed juices for breakfast and a variety of fresh fruits as well as cappuccino and not this watery tasting filter coffee. - we did 2 game drives, one with alan in the afternoon on the lodges own fabulous game reserve and we loved it. Alan was a fantastic guide that talked us through the wild life and explained and answered all our questions whilst in my humble opinion the guide Hamilton we had for the early morning game drive was more a driver than a guide. So my personal preference is with no doubt alan. Other than that enjoy it :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for this review! Ubizane really values our guests opinions as it is of the utmost importance for us to be made aware of areas we can improve on in order to make your experience with us as positive as possible. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your game drive with Alan and your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to our beautiful country.
Best wishes for the new year!
Regards
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Thanks to good service, and an exellent personal touch we felt very welcome and enjoyed two gorgeous days in between the whispering fever trees. We thoroughly enjoyed the informative and personal game drives with knowlegeable and calm ranger Alan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bram v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write such a wonderful review! Everyone at Ubizane is so happy you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope the memories last a lifetime and we get to see you again soon..

Best regards.
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After initial doubts but after reading reviews about the place we decided to stay at the lodge. Our stay at the lodge was promised to be one of our best game lodge experiences and that we would definitely return on our arrival by Wayne, one of the persons who received us. He also promised us that the food would be exceptional as they always approved it before it was presented to clients.

Well on both counts he was wrong. The service, except for the game ranger, Alan, left much to be desired. I do not blame the service staff for this. It seems as if the lodge has invested very little if any in the training and development of the service staff. In the restaurant the waitrons had no idea as to what to do when wine was ordered. We eventually gave up. Make no mistake, some of the staff were willing and keen, but we just did not think it our task to show them what must be done.

If you expect much game, don't. Sightings are few and far be between except for the hippo's, giraffe and buck ie if you are booked for the Hluhluwe Reserve. However on the lodge property itself, game is almost non-existent. Most disappointing.

I think the towel with holes in our room is perhaps an indication of the standard of utilities in the room. The room was ok but the standard of utilities was not. From holes in the mosquito net to ants in the kettle.

The restaurant was where most of the disappointment occurred. The chefs were not very helpful and do not expect any healthy alternatives and they seriously ration certain foods by allowing only the chef to dish for you. Food is also below standard for an establishment with this rating. Again, staff need serious training.

What perhaps was most disappointing of all was the absence of management staff at most times. Never on hand to give attention to matters and not around to guide the staff. When we made a simple request in the restaurant, none were around to deal with the delay and at our departure, none were present. This was symptomatic of the whole stay.

Probably will not recommend to friends and will not return

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, General Manager at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guests,

We are truly saddened that you did not voice your concerns whilst you stayed here, as you were here for three days, and we hate the thought that you were unhappy for the entire time that you were staying with us, yet never voicing your issues directly to us, as we value how much our guests’ holidays mean to them. Posting a review on a public forum like this is always disheartening to us, especially that you were willing to take to public forums, but yet you cannot raise your issues with us whilst staying here, it’s an unfair disadvantage, as we would have liked to have the opportunity to fix whatever you felt was wrong, as we have worked long and hard in the last three years to uplift our service levels and reputation, as you can see from the other comments on this forum.

We don’t think you were aware that Wayne is our lodge manager, as we have an unofficial motto of not “declaring” titles, we are all here to serve the guests, from myself the general manager right through to scullery and gardeners. So we don’t understand what you keep referring to regarding “management not being present”, as there is always at least 5 managers present throughout the day, with two of them based by the main walkway where guests pass, and two managers at night time on duty during dinner.

At the end of the day, it is not about what we felt or did, it is about what you experienced, and you were not pleased. We will take to heart and action what issues you have raised, as our guest opinion is what keeps us in business. It is always a bit harder for a property like us, we have the facilities of a four star property, even though we are not graded, but we always try and provide five star service. And sadly whilst you stayed with us, we had so much rain over that period, and we were fully booked with numerous other families, and plenty kids between both properties, so perhaps your stay was not as intimate as you had expected, and the gloomy weather always creates a negative aura, as no one can lie by the pool, and we can’t use our outdoor dining areas, so these are also quite possibly contributing factors.

We can assure you that our meals are above standard, and we always get complimented for our food, being plentiful, as we never ration our food, and we provide a large choice, as our buffet consists of the following, a soup of the day and bread, salad green with a choice of seven toppings, a starter dish like a risotto or phyllo baskets with a filling, three vegetable choices, two/three starches, two/three meat choices, and two desserts with a cheese platter, and tea/coffee. Our food is not overtly spiced and loaded with cream, we make use of all the vegetables and fruit that our region offers.

It is always hard for us as a hospitality establishment to provide a service that would please each and every guests’ personal expectations, and as hard as we try every person is unique and service delivery is in the eye of the beholder, we always try our utmost with all our marketing material to ensure that it is 100% true and not edited to the tee, to ensure that it is as life-like as possible. And with our service delivery of a personal standard, we always try and ensure that we treat our guests with the utmost respect and friendliness that our abilities afford.

Once again, we are truly sad that you did not enjoy your time here, but as said above, if we are not aware of issues, we cannot try and resolve them.

Ubizane Wildlife Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and our room was good with air conditioning, there was terrace overlooking the trees and saw nyala running through. We went on an afternoon drive in Ubizane with Hamilton who was great and although not many animals mainly antelope but showed us some birds and nice sundowner with a view. The following day we drove ourselves around Hluhluwe, ,which was great lots of rhino, elephants, zebra, giraffes and buffalo, went to Umfolozi and were disappointed as little wildlife and found couldn't get lunch at Mpila but did find some in a craft centre.
The meals were OK but tended to be noisy as some large groups were there. The food was good but could have been warmer at dinner but breakfast had fresh eggs and bacon. The staff were friendly and got us a table on the edge where it was quieter.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for game viewing. We loved the property and seeing antelopes and zebra even on our drive from the main gate to the lodge. Our lodge on stilts was clean and comfortable. We loved sitting on our terrace watching the monkeys and antelopes roaming around. The staff were friendly and very helpful and as there were only two couples staying for our first couple of nights we were even provided a dinner under the stars by the pool. We had wonderful game drives in Hluhluwe with Hamilton, who had us up at dawn but showed us more animals that we ever hoped for - including (at a distance) lions and very large numbers of rhino. We were also able to get very close to all sorts of animals - giraffe, zebra, wilderbeest, warthogs, various antelope - in Ubizane game reserve within which the Tree Lodge sits. Zululand Tree Lodge was extremely comfortable, luxurious even, but without being opulent: it never seemed over-the-top given its place in such a natural haven.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

The Ubizane team thanks you for the time you took to write this beautiful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the time you spent at Tree Lodge. We are glad to hear you had such a fantastic time in nature and saw so many amazing animals. We are very lucky to be surrounded by the magical wildlife and we always enjoy hearing that our guests had a wonderful time appreciating wildlife like we do. As for the staff, we always try to give our guests a luxurious experience in the bush, while keeping the focus on the nature around us. We hope you will carry Ubizane memories with your forever and hopefully we can spoil you again on your next trip to this part of the world!

Warm Regards,

The Entire Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arriving after a specially organised safari at Hluhluwe Game Reserve (which was brilliant!), we got to Zululand Tree Lodge just as it was getting dark. The property is absolutely beautiful, and the accommodation is clean, tastefully furnished and large. The room, set high on stilts, overlooked the forest, where frogs and birds could be heard most of the night. The huge bed, covered with a mosquito net, was very comfortable. Staff had decorated areas of the room, such as the bed, the bathroom basin, etc. with leaves, which added to the "safari" feel of the place. The large porch outside sliding glass doors was nice to sit on and enjoy a cup of coffee. No tv, but who needs a tv at a place like this? Hairdryer can be borrowed from Reception.

Dinner at the restaurant was fabulous, including a new soup - beetroot and orange (really delicious!). The chef was obviously very proud of his menu, and justifiably so. Lovely selection of food, and plenty of it too!

Very friendly staff, including the lovely dog who patrols the camp. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kid_U_Not58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

First of all we would like to thank you for the beautiful review and the time you took to write such a detailed piece!
We enjoy hearing back from the guests to ensure our services are adequate and to see what is most important to each guest. We want our guests to have a comfortable stay while experiencing Africa at its finest. We are lucky to have so many bird species living in the Fever Trees and the frogs are starting to crawl out now that we have a dam in front of the restaurant. We are glad our guests enjoy the natural sounds of the night at our Reserve as much as we do!

We enjoyed having you at our lodge and we hope to meet you again soon on your next trip to Africa! Keep in touch with us on our social sites! We would love to keep hearing from you!

Warmest Regards,
Ettione Ferreira
Social Media Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
81 reviews
3 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
0.3 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#10 of 34 in Hluhluwe
74 reviews
10.9 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#7 of 34 in Hluhluwe
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zululand Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zululand Tree Lodge

Address: Box 116 | Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range: $224 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zululand Tree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cool, whispering tranquility of a fever tree forest, the TreeLodge is a truly special retreat where you will be accommodated in luxurious stilted chalets. Enjoy the quiet lounge, observation deck and a sunny pool area where you might be visited by a family of warthog, a shy Red Duiker or a pair of Purple-crested Loeries. Accommodation at Zululand Tree Lodge consists of thatched chalets raised above the floor on stilts, set in the cool tranquility of a fever tree forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zululand Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zululand Tree Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing