We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning value for money.”
Review of Nibela Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nibela Lake Lodge
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning value for money.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I thought this place was simply gorgeous, rooms were stunning, staff were ever eagar to please and the local guides coudnt be more knowlegable..only draw backs were it was far from everything so you either had a bit of a journey or you wondered round the grounds..however if you are looking to do nothing this is the place for you. The food was very tasty and well prepared but the set menu was very meat and two vege. The staff were very good with my dairy alergy once they understood the issue.Overall the place was fantastic and I will definately going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We had a few relaxing days in the time-share section of Nibela in November 2010.
It was a great get-away-from-it-all experience in luxury accommodation in the heart of Zulu-land.
Staff were welcoming, friendly and very efficient. Our rooms were cleaned twice a day.
The swimming-pools are beautiful, and the two jack-russells Bullet and T-bone were very entertaining. We got some beautiful pics of the wild-life.
HIGHLY recommended! We will be back when we are next in South-Africa.
Jonathan, Martyn and the McGuinness/Potgieter party

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank siebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Nibela surpassed all our expectations! All chalets are totally private, accessed by means of wooden boardwalks, feels like walking through a tropical forest. Our unit was beautifully appointed with a private deck giving stunning views of Lake St Lucia, which has water now and although not 100% full, is still a sight to behold. We enjoyed an informative guided walk, will definitely do the quad bike trail next time! The meals were excellent and a really nice touch was being able to order home-baked goods from the kitchen, so we were able to take home a 'slice' of Nibela. Mini bar prices very reasonable as were the curios. This very special and tranquil resort should be enjoyed by all seeking a breakaway in the African bush, but still wanting to enjoy the luxury of a beautiful and comfortable unit. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LizelleBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

Nibela Lake Lodge is situated in the Lake St Lucia Heritage site on is on the edge of the Lake. It is in a beautifull setting - the only problem is that there is absolutely no water in the lake at the moment due to a drought which have caused the lake to dry and numerous animals (like crocodiles and hippos) have since died or moved to other areas. Although the drought plays a major role in the dryness of the Lake, it should never have happened. Humans are blamed for this by the local people - calling it a curse " the revenge of the fish". Always taking from nature, but never putting anything back.

The accomodation is lovely with Semi Attached glass and wood chalets, each with an excellent view of the Lake and interlinked with wooden walkways linking each one and the main reception, restuarant and lounge. There is a pool and a bar with a televsion for those who cannot do without one - an item whcich we could have done without - with sports being turned on loudly or MTV that the kids were listening to. In my opion this is not a place for children as there is not much to do if you do not like to go for walks (which are all guided)and kids get bored very easily.

Prices at this stage is very reasonable due to the situation with the dry lake, but I know that the prices increase when the lake is full.

I would love to go back when the lake has water in and lets hope that it will be soon as this is a very sad sight indeed.

Helpful?
7 Thank crestedmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
10.2 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
13.2 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
129 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 31 in Hluhluwe
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#1 of 31 in Hluhluwe
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 31 in Hluhluwe
149 reviews
5.2 mi away
Falaza Game Park & Spa
Falaza Game Park & Spa
#5 of 31 in Hluhluwe
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nibela Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nibela Lake Lodge

Property: Nibela Lake Lodge
Address: Nibela Peninsula, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nibela Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive location in the unique conservation area of the iSimangaliso (Greater St Lucia), Wetlands Park, situated in one of Africa's World Heritage Sites. A wetland of international significance and national pride. Nibela Lake Lodge blends almost magically into the forest surrounds. Eleven luxurious thatched chalets are situated high up in the ...Cool forest beneath a magnificent canopy of trees, where guests can enjoy the solitude and tranquility of Africa at its best. Enjoy breakfast and lunch to the song of indigenous birds or dinner under a sky of scattered stars with only the multitude of bird species breaking the silence of the tranquil sanctuary. Kiddies meals and vegetarian options are also available on request. Offering ultimate comfort, the units include en-suite bathrooms, mini-bar, dressing-room and private viewing deck where sundowners can be enjoyed in a serene and secluded setting with spectacular views. TV's with DSTV in rooms. The prestigious complex seat 30 people and focuses on personalized service and excellent cuisine. A lounge area with TV and DSTV channels, housing a variety of wildlife books and board games leads out onto a wraparound wooden viewing deck. The lodge also boasts a bar with TV and DSTV channels, entertainment centre, curio shop and two swimming pools to cool off in the magical Zululand climate. Swimming towels and umbrellas are available at reception on request. The lodge also has a giant chess set in the garden, a jungle gym and trampolines. Boma dinners with Zulu dancing every Tuesday and Saturday evening (weather permits) Viewing deck on the Hell's Gate side of the property. We are very focused on birding, as we are situated in on of the top 10 best birding spots for rare birds in South - Africa. We offer guided walking trails and our guide Lucky is extremely experienced. We have a boat for scenic and fishing trips on the famous Lake St. Lucia. This is very popular activities and a lifetime experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Nibela Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nibela Lake Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing