We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bush experience in Northern KZN, South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonamanzi Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great bush experience in Northern KZN, South Africa”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My hubby booked a weeks get away at a lovely tree house unit with beautiful trees, bush, birds and buck that visited the site daily. We had a self-catering unit but only had breakfast there with lunch and dinner taken at the main lodge. During the day, the views from the deck over the dams teeming with birds, crocodiles and turtles were lovely and dinner outside around the boma were so enjoyable. We were made to feel very welcome and the staff went out of their way to attend our every need. The highlight for us, was a river cruise were we had a once-in-a-lifetime viewing of a fish eagle and a golliath heron in a fight over territory. It was spectacular and the other guides were jealous of our experience! We also went on two game drives in Hluhluwe game reserve with the privilege of viewing rhino, elephant, hippo, giraffe and numerous antelope. A wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The main bungalow's overlooking the dam are good and all the tree houses are well positioned and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Carol H

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our guides are still talking about your great sighting on the boat cruise. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Maybe in one of the Lalapanzi Chalets or our Dini zulu lodge.

Yours in Hospitality
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    48
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
63
47
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pinetown in Kzn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My Husband surprised me with a weekend away to Bonamanzi Game Reserve. We stayed in a lovely tree house. The self catering unit was well equipped, the Beds were comfortable, the veranda was nice to sit on. We went on the Boat trip and saw quite a few birds, but no game on the drive to the river. The most popular game we saw were Nyala and Impala and warthogs. The Crockodile feeding was nice to see at 1PM on the Friday afternoon. We would have liked to have seen more game. The Brid hide was an easy walk and worth the effort. We ate at the Restaurant the one night and then had our own braai the following night. We enjoyed the Breakfast in the Restaurant and found that the monkeys love to try and steel rusks from the buffet! The staff at Bonamanzi were friendly. We loved our stay and next time we may take the kids with :) I definitely want to take a Game Drive next time as we wanted to seen more Game. Very relaxing. Thank You.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Finetown

Thank you for your review of our Lodge and Reserve. I have shared your comments with our staff. We do have 2 bedroom Tree houses and a 3 bedroom Tree lodge for you to enjoy when you bring the family next time.

Yours in Hospitality
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here in April 2012 with family. The resort is well designed and within its own game reserved. Restaurant setting was unique and it had a decent kids play ground. It has a bird hide set on a lake and the the resort units and outside areas are well maintained. I stayed in the Lalapanzi rooms and the treehouse. They have there own mini animal farm with crocs, tortoises and other animals. There a hikes on the property as well.

My only grip was the lack of water supply in the unit. We were told that an elephant had broken the pipe (regular occurence) and even 24 hours later was not repaired. They also did not make alternate arrangements for water or offer another unit with water. Surely they could have buried the pipes deeper and/or had better measures to repair them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Khalid B

Thank you for your review of Bonamanzi. We thank you for your positive feedback and all our facilities and reserve activities.

You will be pleased to know, now a year after your visit, we have managed to bury most of the water pipes deep enough for the Elephants not to dig up.

We hope you will come and visit again soon.

Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

it was a dream vacation and the days we spent at the lodge were probably the best I ever experienced unbelievable location and amazing staff I highly recommend it to families (mine includes 5 children aged 18 to 11 and they all had the time of their lives) although we ran into many honeymooners so I suppose it will work for anyone

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasiliki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Vasiliki G

Thank you for you recent review of Bonamanzi Game Reserve, we are so glad to hear about the great stay you had. We do hope you and the extended family come back for a visit in the near future.

Do you have any photo's you would like to share on our facebook page?

Yours in Hospitality
Tracey Gold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A lovely stay. But you must remember that this is a bush experience, not a stay at a 5* hotel in the middle of the city!
It was great being on a little reserve and seeing all the animals on our way to and from the main buildings.
We found the boat trip a bit expensive - there is very little to see (especially in summer when the grasses are so high) - and definitely too boring for children. We had been told that it was more for birdwatchers.

Room Tip: The tree house lodge (3 bedrooms, large self catering cottage and in the trees) is really for self c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Jane B

Thank you for your recent review of Bonamanzi, and your very generous 5 star rating of our service and cleanliness.

I have taken to heart the feedback regarding our boat cruise, and have made adjustments to the price, and also ensuring our Rangers cut the grass along the edge, especially in Summer.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
190 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the Lalapanzi Combos for the New Year break. Bonamanzi is wonderful for birding and to see game. Our accomodation was fair....4 separate rooms with en suite and tiny varanda, Tea/coffee making facility in room. No fridge or tv. Rooms could do with a revamp. We enjoyed the game drive and river boat cruise. Rangers gave good information. However there appears to be a lack of management on the food and beverage side of the operation. Staff were not friendly, service was poor. It was a busy time and very hot. There was no ice and no cold drinks on New Years 'Eve. No apologies given and resort is not far from Hluhluwe. Food was average, nobody checking on guests and service. Quality of music poor and most guests drifetd away before midnight. Breakfasts disappointing.

Room Tip: Self catering the best option. Friends enjoyed staying in the tree house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dacabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Friendly and capable staff at reception. We were a group of five adults and a toddler. One unit is too cramped for five people, so we booked two units. Units are neat but were not serviced during our two night stay. Braai grid was cleaned every day. Excellent for self catering with all the utensils, stove, microwave and fridge in the unit. If you want to eat at the restaurant it would be a good idea to stay in the units within walking distance. We only did self catering.
There is a spa on the premises but we did not make use of the facility.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet, any tree house will do as they are isolated from the rest of the units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanici M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
5.2 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
3.7 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#10 of 33 in Hluhluwe
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
148 reviews
23.2 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
3.3 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#4 of 33 in Hluhluwe
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonamanzi Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonamanzi Game Reserve

Property: Bonamanzi Game Reserve
Address: Bonamanzi Game Park | c/o Bonamanzi Game Park, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonamanzi Game Reserve 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonamanzi Game Reserve, a Big 4 Reserve, is a Natural Heritage Site bordered by the spectacular Lake St. Lucia Isimangaliso Wetlands - a World Heritage Site - and the magnificent Hluhluwe River.This privately owned game reserve and safari lodge is widely recognised as one of the best birding destinations in Southern Africa. Lake St Lucia and the Hluhluwe River give Bonamanzi its Zulu name, meaning "Look, Water!". Its almost 4000 ha teams with game, and one of Bonamanzi's special features is that it provides a safe and interactive bush experience in which you can do walks or drive, with or without the company of a trained field guide. To see the Big Five animals, the famous Hluhluwe Imfolozi Game Reserve is a short 20 minute drive away or join us on one of our Game Drives.A wonderful climate prevails all year long with splendid summers and warm winter days. Set your own pace as you absorb the peaceful sounds and spectacles of three adjoining eco-systems: coastal grassland, tropical forest, and woodland. Comfortable Accommodation and every facility is available to ensure that your stay is a pleasant one, be it a peaceful getaway for couples or families, or Conference and Events or Weddings parties. And there are plenty of Activities from Boat Cruises, Bird Safari and Game Drives to relaxing at the pool at Lalapanzi Camp to ensure that your every whim is catered for.Bonamanzi Game Reserve is easily accessible, being just a few hours drive from the Durban airport as well as the Golela border post with Swaziland, and perfectly situated to explore the splendour of this heavenly part of the world. Come, and experience Zululand's warm and friendly hospitality at its finest - we'd love to share it with you ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bonamanzi Game Park Tree House Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing