We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a quick bite”

Amorello Sunset Deck Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Hluhluwe
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Seafood, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fine for a quick bite”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The food is simple and suitable if you expect this.
Cocktails weren't great, I'd avoid the fishbowl type coacktail with the rum!
View is OK
It is the best option in this area

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hluhluwe, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive with very poor service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have been to Amorello twice in the last two weeks. It is very expensive with very poor service. There was only us and one other table at 19h30. None of the tables had been made up or cleaned from earlier in the day. We had to ask for knives, forks, salt pepper etc. We were never offered a drink after the first round. The second visit we played golf and went to the bar for a drink. The barmaid got the order wrong then argued with us. there were no glasses available. when we asked if she could was none she told us it was not her job. The barmaid was not even around when we wanted to order our next round. Very expensive so you would expect service to relate to the price

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmOrgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
211 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Bartender great person/food good/other staff not so friendly”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a light lunch at the Amorello last week in the Zulu land area. The greek salad and toasted sandwich were pretty good. We enjoyed the bartender who was pleasant and efficient. The other folks' around the restaurant were unfriendly and almost hostile when we asked to use their internet in a small crisis. They should learn a bit about making people feel good about their experience at Amorello....It made me write this review which was unfriendly, too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushgolf, Owner at Amorello Sunset Deck Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Jeffrey,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us and your comments are noted and appreciated.

With regards to the WIFi access which was requested, we have a large problem where other accommodation venues who do not offer what Amorello does such as the Wifi access, pool, gym etc..., and they then send their guests here to make use of our facilities often without spending a cent. When we allowed restaurant patrons to use our Wifi, the system was abused whereby our cap rate was finished by early morning sometimes, and as a result had to stop handing the password out, as our automated booking system requires internet access constantly and cannot basically function without it, and we were not able to conduct part of our online business either.

In SOuth AFrica, our internet usage fees are also still very expensive unlike most 1st World countries, especially out in the bush, and as such we are limited to 1GB per day at Amorello.

Had you indicated that it was an emergency of sort, we would not have hesitated in assisting you in every way possible as we have done with many of our guests in the past, from re-arranging their tours to flights to Visa applications to doctors, even though they were not booked with us.

I will follow up the attitude of the waitrons though as a negative attitude is unacceptable and i can only apologise for this.

We hope you had a pleasant holiday in South Africa though and am happy that the food was enjoyable at Amorello.

Keep well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hluhluwe, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well-spent sunset!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The food is great! I've ate there many times eating pizzas, pastas and chicken cordon-bleu and I've never been disappointed! The only thing I dislike is the service. Even though the waitresses are always friendly, they don't really seem to know what they're doing but nonetheless we enjoy our time there and will be visiting again soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etto07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pietermarizburg
2 reviews
“yum yum yum”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I often visit Amorello, and even if i am quickly stopping in to grab a take away pizza I land up there for at least 2 hours, enjoying a cocktail or two...try the blue velvet sooo yum. Have had far to many good night there, thank you Warren.
Miss ladies nights though.
Love having somewhere to get a decent pizza, thinking about the Bacon Supreme makes me wanna jump in my car and race over.
Many good parties there too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lonewander89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amorello Sunset Deck Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Hluhluwe, Zululand
 

Been to Amorello Sunset Deck Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing