We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a beautiful night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amorello Bush Golf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amorello Bush Golf Lodge
Vryheid, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a beautiful night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Was at this beautiful, quite and amazing Lodge on the 11th Nov travelling with my boyfriend for a night as we had a long drive. We stayed at Impala Chalet as the rooms were full. We didn't mind to be on a self catering room as we were just there to rest for a night and go in the morning and we had supper already.
I loved the room & the view even though its very far from the reception especially if you are driving but its quite and there is privacy ( was scare to walk in a walkway to our rooms from the parking as the rooms is in a bush-like place ) but all in all for me its an average Lodge to stay in may be for a weekend away with your Family or Friends.
The price is reasonable for Chalet.
Please check water at bathroom, they were not running properly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlengiwe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushgolf, Owner at Amorello Bush Golf Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi Hlengiwe,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, much appreciated.

The chalets are very private, and granted, the bush at night can be a bit intimidating when one is not used to it, but i can assure you that you were 100% safe at all times whilst at Amorello.

We are about to upgrade all the chalets extensively, but we promise to keep the outside showers as I am sure you must have enjoyed showering under the stars.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
15
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived to check in..were asked to pay the outstanding amount on our credit cards..only to be told the credit card machine did not work..after 10 minutes the receptionist "made a plan".
We asked if there was someone who could help us carry our luggage to the chalet the response was "no". So after 5 trips between the car and the chalet we opened a bottle of wine only to find 2 odd wine glasses in the chalet.
There were many other incidents like a resident rat.
To summarize..I would not book this lodge again the "gym" is filthy, the pool table is locked away and we were told we need R250 cash to unlock the room...there was no fire in the eating area..the couches were dirty and the facilities meet the minimum only.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegsJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushgolf, Owner at Amorello Bush Golf Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
HI Megan,

Thanks for the review.

Unfortunately credit card machines, even with dual sim cards, often do not pick up signal out in the bush which can be a bit frustrating for both parties, but i am really glad to see that my receptionist "made a plan" at least.

Our games room is locked in order to control the usage as well as damage control, and a refundable deposit is a normal request, as would be the same at any other venues with the same equipment.

The Chalets, which most people find 'very comfortable' as per the reviews, are all about to be totally upgraded though, and hopefully we will still get to see the occasional Elephant Shrew, as the reason most come to this area is to escape the city hustle and bustle, and get a bit of nature for the soul?

Hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have just spent the weekend of September 6th to September 9th at Amorello Bush Golf Lodge with a friend, and I actually had such a good time that I then came back the next weekend.

It must be said that you should not expect to see the Big 5 while drinking your sundowner at the bar, but it is the perfect base for discovering what is in my mind the most fantastically diverse area of South Africa, and probably Africa itself.

Accomodations offer a choice between private chalets or rooms. I did not actually stay in a room but visited one briefly, and it looked very spacious and rather well-equipped.

I would however recommend one of the chalets, which is where I stayed both times. They are very comfortable and intimate. It's like a real home away from home, except better than my home in my case.

The lower floor comprises a well-equipped kitchen (fridge, stove, kettle, sinks, plates, glasses, cups, free coffee and tea...), a dining room and living room well furnished and really pleasant to stay in, as well as a proper bathroom (wuth a bathtub) and an outside shower. Upstairs are two big rooms with a large balcony each, which feel more like a terrace and are perfect for enjoying the beautiful view and night skies. I just loved waking up at dawn and stepping out of the living room, sipping my coffee while being serenated by the songs of birds, with duikers and other antelopes grazing about 100m from where I was standing.

There is also a barbecue setup in the garden. Both the rooms as well as the living room are equipped with AC and fans, and the beds are very comfy.

The bar, restaurant and lounge area is nice, with very good service, and a pizza oven which produces Italian quality pizzas. I must admit I can not say much about the rest of the food on the menu, since I got addicted to the pizzas...

The golf course is a true bush course, not a five star PGA course but it is well-maintained and playing among the wildlife made me see golf in a new way.

In the main area, there is a pro shop, a pool table, a fitness and the major sports events are broadcasted on a big screen.

The best thing for me was the fact that Warren, the owner and manager, was an ever-presence in the main area: he was very helpful in advising and helping me organising trips to the many attractions that are within an hour of the lodge (beach, fresh water lakes, pans scintillating with birdlife...).

WIldlife, relaxation, sports, snorkling, surfing are among the many joys that this place has to offer.

I would definitely reccomend this place and actually intend to go back there in February or March 2014, since there are still many activities I haven't had the time to experience. I'll review it as well to see if service levels match my first two experiences.

Room Tip: Chalets are amazingly peaceful, private and intimate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Amorello is a fantastic place to use as a base to explore the Maputaland area. There is a well-maintained 9-hole golf course (mind the impala, zebra and wildebeest!) and a really good restaurant that serves very good pizza and other food. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Amorello is within close drives of Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve and other wildlife areas and also only 45 minutes from the beach at Sodwana Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbowaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

First we must say we did enjoy our stay, and recognize the efforts of the staff and owners to make every effort to help us.

There are a couple of things on the minus side that should be more clear when making a booking decision,
The lodge is very close to the R22 road, which is busy and we found very intrusive in our room, however after asking were we were located in one of the lodges, so much better. many thanks and would recommend that if you book - book a lodge.
The golf couse was very poor - the greens very dry and not in a good state, we know it was winter but playing was a bit of hit and hope. ( a quick tidy up of the golf shop would not go a miss)
There was maintenance being done on the roof and this did close the terrace and bar. Which was ok for us as we did the game park... Better to shut and get this work done.

On the positive the staff always helpfull and proactive when dealing with the maintenance work
We did enjoy evenings in the restaurant and bar. Good value and honest food.

Average - but such helpful staff... And a nice feeling about the place in the sunset

Room Tip: Take a lodge if you want a more restfull time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pfb53Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushgolf, Owner at Amorello Bush Golf Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi Peter,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review for us.

I must apologise for the maintenance work which was underway when you were here and appreciate your patience and acceptance of it.

We hope to see you back here again when we can offer you BIg 5 on the farm next door in the near future.

Keep well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

What an awesome place, unbelivable venue and great food!!! Staff are always will to go the extra mile! You have to try the 'all rounder' pizza! From warm summer days to cosy winter nights you can only expect the best for this wonderful 'home away from home'

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TarynGucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wow we had such a blast at the sun set deck that barely noticed much else.
Woke up feeling great, Aircon is a huge Godsend as well as a comfy bed. We really enjoyed that Warren fit us in last minute. Had a good chuckle watching the game on the golf course. Thank you to the Whole AMO's team for Great memories!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course really great at sun set!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonelywanderer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.0 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#3 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#4 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
0.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amorello Bush Golf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amorello Bush Golf Lodge

Property: Amorello Bush Golf Lodge
Address: Route 22 | 300 km north of Durban, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amorello Bush Golf Lodge & Conference Centre can be found on the R22 Sodwana Road, past the little town of Hluhluwe in the heart of Zululand, nestled below the majestic Lebombo Mountains. Amorello Bush Golf Lodge provides both an ideal hideaway for a relaxing break or the perfect setting for corporate functions, conferences and weddings. The affiliated SAGU golf course is a short but testing 9 holer with 18 tee boxes set amongst the wild bush with wildebeest and antelope watching your every shot. Let the festivities begin after a good day out and join us at Amorello Sunset Deck Restaurant and Bar for a refreshing drink followed by a pizza fresh from our unique to the region pizza oven. We have an extensive menu to tempt you. Stay over and choose from one of our Big 5 rooms or our 4 modern fully fitted self-catering 3-star Bush Chalets located in the heart of our bush golf course surrounded by thick indigenous trees. If you prefer something a bit more private, we also have our exclusive and lavish 5-star Ihlozi Private Lodge available. Amorello offers free hi-speed wireless internet access to all our visitors as well as use of our helipad for landings. We also have a big screen TV for the sports fans, a fantastic rock swimming pool, a fully equipped gymnasium and a kiddie’s jungle gym which gives everybody something to do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing