We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The game park was great, the hotel okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The game park was great, the hotel okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Our decision to stay at Hluhluwe Hotel was a last minute one after we were told we had to go to the Hluhluwe Game Park if we were in the area. The hotel had a package which included bed, breakfast and dinner as well as a 3 hour game safari and a 2 hour river cruise in the St Lucia estuary. All in all, it was good value, but the highlight was definitely the Game Park rather than the hotel.

We had a standard room which was air conditioned, very clean and tidy with a large bed and nice bathroom. The hotel itself doesn't really have much in the way of grounds - it's just the rooms and a pool and bar area (but then we weren't there for the hotel, we were there for the Game Park). Breakfast and dinner was really good - buffet style, but really tasty. The only let down really was the service. The rooms, facilities, restaurant etc were great. The service was average to say the least - no one is proactive, everything takes longer than it should (quite a contrast from the service we received in Zambia).

We would recommend this hotel based on value for money, proximity to the Game Park and the safaris that they run (which are great). The Hluhluwe Game Park was amazing. We saw so many animals - all the big five are there and rhino are in abundance. But don't expect great service otherwise you'll be dissapointed.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L2C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, December 15, 2015
Dear GUEST
We would like to humbly apologise for the tardiness of this reply to your constructive feedback that you have left on our property a while back.
We would just like to inform you of the fact that the hotel is now under new management and new ownership. We have taken all the comments of you as a GUEST to heart to ensure as we take this business forward we ensure that the GUEST always comes first.

We hope that you would find it in your heart to come see for yourself the vast improvements we have made on all level.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kindest Regards

Pieter Blackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    72
    54
    21
    13
See reviews for
69
63
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

I think they did a great job of putting a stunning facade on an old hotel.

Firstly, dont be misled by the pictures of the rooms on the hotel's website. the website shows a luxurious spacious chalet layout.
I have seen 2 or 3 chalets on the property, but the rest are very normal hotel rooms, only two floors up.

Secondly, dont allow the name to mislead you to think it is situated in or close to the HluHluwe Imfolozi park. This hotel is situated in the town of Hluhluwe which has as its highlight two entire traffic circles! Hluhluwe is 17 km away from the park, on a dangerous road where cattle, goats, sheep, pedestrians roam freely into traffic.

Hotel has a stunning entrance, lobby, pool area and restaurant, but as I said, its just a facade.
I requested to have a braai, (bbq) which was refused. I was told that braaing is not allowed anywhere on the premises. The next day, I discovered a whole braai area! when I enquired, they said its only for occasions.

When I requested a later checkout of 14:00, I was refused on managers instructions. when I asked to see the manager, he bluntly said no. I explained that this request is never refused at southern sun hotels of which I am a frequent guest member, to which he simply said: 'That's their policy and this is ours.'
i explained that I was going into the park, and I was only requesting a late checkout to be safe, cause through experience, game drives can sometimes get exciting and delay you. He didnt seem to understand.

While the managers know nothing of hospitality, I must mention that the staff at the front desks, are really warm and accommodating.

Just a pity Southern Sun has no hotels in this region.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, December 15, 2015
Dear GUEST
We would like to humbly apologise for the tardiness of this reply to your constructive feedback that you have left on our property a while back.
We would just like to inform you of the fact that the hotel is now under new management and new ownership. We have taken all the comments of you as a GUEST to heart to ensure as we take this business forward we ensure that the GUEST always comes first.

We hope that you would find it in your heart to come see for yourself the vast improvements we have made on all level.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kindest Regards

Pieter Blackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hluhluwe hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

Stayed in Durban at the start of our holiday and were looking for a Safari Experience within driving distance. Hluhluwe Umfolozi Game Reserve is 3 hours drive from Durban on good quality roads and has "the big 5". Hluhluwe hotel is 5 minutes off the motorway but not within the Game Park itself, so easy to arrive later in the day: the Game Park entrance shuts at 6pm. Also located within 20 minutes of St Lucia Wetland Park which is worth driving around.

Stayed 2 nights. Hotel nice but we were lucky to be upgraded to the luxury lodge which was amazing- own plange pool, braii (barbeque) and 2 huge bedrooms with amazing bathrooms, large open plan dining room/kitchen/lounge area with beautiful wooden furniture. Food was buffet style and average quality with reasonable choice. Evening entertainment provided by traditional Zulu Dancers was a highlight of the holiday.

Did 1 game drive organised throught the hotel and then decided to take our own car through the park on 2 more occasions, as we felt more confident. Definitely recommend at least one guided tour though as the Drivers have so much knowledge to impart. Saw lots of animals but unfortunately no big cats- too much grass/greenery as end of the rainy season so would recommend going later in the year near their Autumn.

If was returning to Hluhluwe I would stay at Hilltop Camp as it is a hotel within the Game Park which enables you to do sunset game drives and you can sit with a pair of binoculars from the bar/terrace and look for animals. Very safe as electric fence around the perimeter. Only negative aspect would be arriving and having to drive into the Game Park on your own to get to the hotel- bit daunting if you've never done it before!

I came across Flaza Game Reserve Accommodation when looking to book the trip and would not recommend this simply due to its location within a much smaller Game Park. I think you would wish you were staying nearer Hluhlue Game Park as much bigger ( approx 35 mins drive from Falaza).

  • Liked — Getting upgraded to Luxury Lodge
  • Disliked — Rained so didn't get to use pool
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scotstraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, December 15, 2015
Dear GUEST
We would like to humbly apologise for the tardiness of this reply to your constructive feedback that you have left on our property a while back.
We would just like to inform you of the fact that the hotel is now under new management and new ownership. We have taken all the comments of you as a GUEST to heart to ensure as we take this business forward we ensure that the GUEST always comes first.

We hope that you would find it in your heart to come see for yourself the vast improvements we have made on all level.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kindest Regards

Pieter Blackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

I stayed 3 nights at Hluhluwe Hotel & Safaris as part of a South Africa tour. The property was clean and attractive, the room comfortable and quiet, and the service was outstanding. I ate breakfasts and dinners here, and the food was well-prepared and interesting, with plenty of choices.

The hotel organizes safaris in the Hluhluwe/Omfolozi park, and our driver had excellent knowledge of probable game locations and was patient with our group.

I would stay there again, and recommend it to individuals.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — lack of internet
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank squarebrackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, December 15, 2015
Dear GUEST
We would like to humbly apologise for the tardiness of this reply to your constructive feedback that you have left on our property a while back.
We would just like to inform you of the fact that the hotel is now under new management and new ownership. We have taken all the comments of you as a GUEST to heart to ensure as we take this business forward we ensure that the GUEST always comes first.

We hope that you would find it in your heart to come see for yourself the vast improvements we have made on all level.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kindest Regards

Pieter Blackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
2.6 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#4 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
9.4 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#3 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#10 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris

Property: Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Address: 104 Main Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris - Luxury Set in the Heart of The Zulu Kingdom. Rich in natural ambience and with a distinctively African rhythm, Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris treats guests to luxurious accommodation, tantalising cuisine, and a world-class service with friendly staff who live the motto "hospitality is our game". The Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris encourages visitors to leave the modern world behind and to embark on a discovery ... The untamed beauty of Kwazulu Natal's Elephant coast and the neighbouring wildlife and marine reserves have created a vibrant eco-system of unrivalled diversity. Soak up the sun at the swimming pool terrace and feel the cultural richness in the evenings whilst sipping on a refreshing sundowner and watching the Zulu dance shows are held beneath the magnificent Umkanyakude (Fever) Tree. At Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, you'll discover the wild nature of Africa, rejoice in the luxury and revel in the friendly warmth of one of Africa's most welcoming hotels!Let one of our Guides take you on Game drive adventure to Hluhluwe/Umfolozi park or one of the many interactions and activities The Elephant Coast has to offer . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe And Safaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing