We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for national park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
1,955 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,912 helpful votes
“Good location for national park”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is about the only hotel to stay at if going to the oldest national park in South Africa. It is a somewhat old, tired place that has a certain charm. The rooms are large and the beds were OK, but it had an ancient safe which needs a skeleton key (I would not trust using it), a somewhat dirty shower area. There is a coffee maker, but no micro or fridge. There is free wifi that you have to use in the lobby--which has some dirty rugs and musty chairs. There is a pool in a nice setting. Buffet dinner was fair as is the breakfast buffet where they ran out of items and did not replace--orange juice, fruit especially pineapple which the area is famous for. You can eat at a Wimpy's near the hotel which is in the Engen station and is open untl 7 PM.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear “Pnemiller”

Thank you for your candid feedback and for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community.

I am glad to inform you that we are currently discussing a future soft refurbishment of the hotel in order to further enhance the nostalgic charm of the hotel, which includes replacement of our current in room safes. I fully agree with you that our hotel's location is ideal for a visit to the stunning Hluhluwe Imfolozi Park.

Your comments around our breakfast and dinner service will be discussed with the TEAM. Clearly your service experience in the morning was not of standard we aim to provide to our guests. Apologies for the inconveniences experienced and we hope we will be able to welcome you back soon to enhance your overall impression of our beloved hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Tom Voster – General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    78
    58
    24
    15
See reviews for
75
73
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

There isnt much to say about this hotel but then it delivers what is expected from the Protea brand. For the money you get a fairly large room with a bathroom and a toilet and aircon. All pretty standard stuff.
The rooms look a bit dated if not slightly grubby. For the money I paid I wasnt too critical.
The food was edible but not good. There is plenty of it! There is a limited selection of eateries in town but I suspect this place is probably the best there is. Hluhluwe really is a bit of a gastronomic wasteland.
The pool is small but perfectly adequate and welcome in the December heat.
The service from reception and waitering staff was poor but now all too common in South Africa. They're friendly enough, just bad at their jobs. The GM was of a different calibre - both friendly and capable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_acacia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear andy_acacia27,

Thank you for your frank and constructive feedback on your stay with us.

We are happy to hear we have been able to create a comfortable stay for you, however a bit disappointed at the same time, knowing we have not been able to exceed your expectations either.

Clearly, we will continue to focus on extensive training of our team members allowing them to further improve their skills and continuously improve service and product levels at our hotel. Both in the reception as well as the restaurant service areas. Further review will be conducted to identify improvements in our food offering - both a la carte as well as buffet - as mentioned by your kindself in your review.

On behalf of the entire TEAM at Protea Hotel Hluhluwe, we appreciate the feedback and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Tom Vorster - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Hluhluwe, set deep in the African Zulu kingdom, is rich in beauty, wildlife, tranquility and history. This quaint little town lies between many points - each as interesting & exciting as the next.
So, it makes logical sense for one to use this as a hub - to dart into different directions - coming "home" to this one place...
Ah, the Protea Hluhluwe ! It reminds me of a cleverly crafted side-project, masterminded by 2 entrepreneurial plumbers dreaming of becoming hoteliers. No doubt, all of this came to fruition after punishing a large bottle of spirits.
You see, when the hungover wore off and reality kicked in - it didn't seem such fun anymore. Now, there was work to be done, stuff that broke - needed fixing and guests that needed to be doted upon!

At the heart of it - these revolutionary plumbers should not have set out to change the hospitality world. To cook, clean, serve, host, entertain and dazzle is beyond them.

Hluhluwe has a billion stars on a clear night. This hotel has 3. Why are we talking about stars ..?
When one does a quick Internet search, this seems like a perfect star. The trifecta of a brand name, Protea Hotels, combined with 3 stars & the sought after location, Hluhluwe makes this an obvious choice.
The price isn't cheap either.
Had this been called the Plumbers Inn and had 2 stars - it would have been glanced over ! It should be glanced over !
Here's why :-
1) drinks at the pool was served by rude, arrogant gents blasting rave music. 160 beats per minute in the middle of the Zulu kingdom just didn't do it for me, nor did the green pool - which looked filthy.
2) at / around 2am, we awoke with a bone-chilling fright after an overhead lampshade bounced off our heads.
3) at breakfast, I requested tomato sauce (ketchup) for the kids. I was told there wasn't any. I asked the manager to go across the street to the supermarket and get more. He promptly reminded me of how his imminent deliveries demanded more attention than his guests and that my request was unreasonable and not possible.
4) I've seen hotels in central London with more parking bays than this one. Guests just make do and park anywhere in frustration. Heaven forbid that anyone had a real emergency. Half the hotel would have had to get up to move their cars.
5) the final straw, the showers !!! Regardless of the setting, it's an assalt of extremities - boiling HOT followed by freezing COLD within 5 seconds. The kids and I were red & blue after the melting & freezing experience.

I would never recommend this hotel.
I have come to realize that I can never trust the Protea brand, implicitly as I once could.
As for the plumbers, they should stick to what they do best....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear avi2310,

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Protea Hotel Hluhluwe, we sincerely thank you for informing us of the various service issues experienced while staying at our hotel. I would like to offer you my genuine apologies for the embarrassing operational lapses.

All service related problems mentioned by your kind self around the poor service received at our pool bar and in the breakfast room have been addressed with all relevant team members directly, and I can assure you further training on the correct standard has already been implemented. Clearly your experience does not reflect the standard of service we aim to provide to each and every guest.

Our sincere apologies for the broken lampshade in your room as well as the drop in water pressure you experienced while taking a shower. Our maintenance team has been able to address both unfortunate issues soon after, however our apologies for the inconvenience it has caused.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and restore confidence in both the hotel's operation as well as the Protea brand.

Yours faithfully,


Tom Vorster - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hluhluwe hotels

Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very nice and comfortable inside with large lobby with wifi, restaurant, and nice gift shop with curios. But the outside is incredible complete with peacocks roaming the yard. Lots of opportunities for the kids to blow off steam.
Great spot for visiting the Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve.

Room Tip: Likely best to avoid the pricey guided tours. Drive yourself in the park and you will see plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOinFredVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear KOinFredVegas,

Greetings form the entire TEAM at the Protea Hotel Hluhluwe. We are thrilled to hear we have been able to create a comfortable and relaxing experience for you and your family! Thank you for your kind recommendations on the service received, your dining experience as well as our Kids facilities. All key ingredients of our hotel's GUEST experience, so thank you for acknowledging these!

Warm regards and we all - including the peacocks - are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Tom Vorster - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Hluhluwe felt a lot more like a lodge than a hotel. We stayed here with a tour group and our guide told us that we had gotten lucky and were assigned the best room. Our room was large and comfortable but had very poor lighting, making it very difficult to read. The bathroom was a bit outdated, but everything worked fine. There was a nice grassy courtyard outside our room. We peeked into a couple of other rooms and they appeared to be considerably smaller. There was a small gift shop on site. The hotel is beginning to show its age, but served our purposes well. There are not a lot of nearby dining options. We ate one night at the Wimpys in the gas station, as our guide told us to avoid the KFC claiming that it attracts an unsavory element. I didn't notice any problems, but took his word for it. The included breakfast was very nice. Overall we were quite satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear DCH47,

Greetings from Hluhluwe, South Africa! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind feedback. The TEAM and I are very happy to hear that you and the group you travelled with enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments around the comfort and cleanliness of your room as well as the positive breakfast experience will be shared and celebrated with everyone at the hotel. The souvenir shop on site provides a carefully selected limited range of gifts and souvenirs, supporting some of the local communities around the hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed the offering!

We look forward hosting you again in future upon your return to South Africa!

Warm regards,

Tom Vorster - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano, WA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Okay, so this isn't the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in, but parts of it were so charming. The pool deck is quite nice, the lobby and lounge areas also quite nice. There was even a piano for those lucky enough to possess that skill. We also thought the curio shop had some interesting items. The peacocks on the property were beautiful, and I think they would have come on in to our room if the windows would have opened wider! The rooms were dated, but big deal. They had a safe (yes it was old), coffee/tea supplies, and LOTS of hot water for showers. I'll admit though, the bathrooms were definitely the one area in our room that could use some sprucing up, starting with more lighting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomAndAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear MomAndAll,

A big thanks on behalf of the entire TEAM for your kind words and constructive feedback on your stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed the charms of our hotel including the piano available to our guests. All comments made on the in room facilities will most definitely be discussed with senior management.

The peacocks at the Protea Hotel Hluhluwe are part of the family and therefore are - just as the rest of the TEAM - looking forward to welcoming you back soon upon your next visit to South Africa!

Kind regards,

Tom Vorster - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Like an earlier reviewer Rocky R, I stayed in room 130. I won't really add much to the earlier reviews except to say two things - firstly the electrical wiring in the room looked positively dangerous; two appliances wired Heath Robinson style into a single wall plug is not what I expect from a Protea managed hotel. Secondly the block's aircon units are arranged along the ground directly outside the ground floor room windows. This makes for a noisy night if you are in a ground floor room.

The bathroom was tired, the room had that tropical "musty" smell and there is no WiFi in the rooms distant from the reception. On a positive note the boma braai (bbq) was really good.

I think that the hotel survives on its good location for the game parks and its large number of rooms being able to handle coach tours and conferences.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room (or one of the newer/revamped rooms) to avoid the noisy ground floor air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CIVUH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear CIVUH5,

Thank you for your honest feedback on your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear we have not been able to meet and exceed your expectations while visiting the Hluhluwe area.

We will most definitely use your detailed comments as valuable input for any future refurbishment activity at the hotel, focused on further improving our services and facilities for all of our guests. And I can assure you that I will discuss the wiring issues in your room with our maintenance team and action this accordingly. Furthermore, at this stage our free wifi services are only offered in the public areas but will hopefully soon be extended to our guest rooms as well. We are glad to hear you did enjoy the sumptuous food offering in our boma area.

Thank you for assisting us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests. Your interest and concern are much appreciated. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcoming you to the Protea Hotel Hluhluwe in future.

Yours sincerely,

Tom Vorster - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
3.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
130 reviews
5.4 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
20.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
71 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
151 reviews
19.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Mkuze
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris

Property: Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Address: 104 Main Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa (Formerly Hluhluwe Hotel & Safaris)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris - Luxury Set in the Heart of The Zulu Kingdom. Rich in natural ambience and with a distinctively African rhythm, Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris treats guests to luxurious accommodation, tantalising cuisine, and a world-class service with friendly staff who live the motto "hospitality is our game". The Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris encourages visitors to leave the modern world behind and to embark on a discovery ... The untamed beauty of Kwazulu Natal's Elephant coast and the neighbouring wildlife and marine reserves have created a vibrant eco-system of unrivalled diversity. Soak up the sun at the swimming pool terrace and feel the cultural richness in the evenings whilst sipping on a refreshing sundowner and watching the Zulu dance shows are held beneath the magnificent Umkanyakude (Fever) Tree. At Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, you'll discover the wild nature of Africa, rejoice in the luxury and revel in the friendly warmth of one of Africa's most welcoming hotels!Let one of our Guides take you on Game drive adventure to Hluhluwe/Umfolozi park or one of the many interactions and activities The Elephant Coast has to offer . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe And Safaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing