We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel near great safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I agree with most reviews. Rooms are dated, service average, town was not very inviting - but did enjoy safaris, wifi in lounge, pool, evening dancing show.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NashvilleExplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am most disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations to the fullest.
But without your comments, we would never know whether you leave our establishment completely satisfied, but more importantly, leave disappointed and dissatisfied.

I can assure you your comments will be most carefully investigated and action will be taken accordingly. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcoming you to the Protea Hotel Hluhluwe again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ben Jonas - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 285 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are out of the 70s. The dining is surprisingly good. It is reasonably convenient to the game park. The staff was fine. It's nice that it is a short walk to the limited shops and restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmm20901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

A short note of gratitude for your kind comments on the service received by our staff and your dining experience. We endeavour to upgrade our facilities in the nearby future to further enhance the guest experience.

We all look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the Hluhluwe area.

Warm regards,

Ben Jonas - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here as part of a SmarTours South Africa Tour. It is ideally located close to the Hluhluwe Game Reserve. Brad, a hotel employee, was our guide in the Reserve. He has a great knowledge of the animals and their habits, and we were fortunate to see the "BIG 5" on our first day out in the Reserve. The hotel needs an upgrade, and the room, although very large and clean, was very dark aqnd appeared dated. There was a native show on the premises, after dinner, which we enjoyed. Food was average.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKAY18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3960, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive and frank feedback. I will most definitely pass on your kind commendations to the Safari Team. And great to hear you enjoyed the evening entertainment offered to you and your group at the hotel.

Your comments on the need for upgrade are noted and we hope we can soon announce a further upgrade of our hotel's facilities to further improve the guest experience.

Hope to welcoming you back soon at Protea Hotel Hluhluwe.

At your service,

Ben Jonas - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a wonderful Welcome from the staff at reception. The place is very good to end the year's exhaustion wth its tranqulity and home environment. The pool eare is so relaxing you ca watch your kids enjoying while you enjoy the bar facilitity. They need to put a pool table to complete the entertainment but th kids enjoyed all the programes that were planned for them for festive enjojment

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mangobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Greetings from the entire team at Protea Hotel Hluhluwe. Looking forward welcoming you back soon...

At your service,

Ben Jonas - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour package. It was a comfortable hotel with clean rooms. Everyone enjoyed the Zulu dancers performing in the lobby. In general it was a comfortable hotel and a great base for game drives.

We saw a huge snail on the property near the gift shop....big enough to deserve a photo. The gift shop was well stocked and reasonably priced as well.

Hubby and I walked into the little shopping area near the hotel (Sunday so most things closed early) and it did seem a bit rough. I would not suggest going there after dark.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatWomanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Thank you for your kind words, we are thrilled to hear we made your stay memorable. Looking forward hosting you soon upon your next visit to the Hluhluwe area...

Warm regards,

Ben Jonas - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed in nine hotels on our tour of South Africa and this one was a disappointment.
Staff was friendly and courteous, the room clean and comfortable; laundry service reliable; adapter readily available at front desk, and no surprises on check-out.

But, we were in room 111 across from housekeeping closet and the nexus of the main hall connecting restaurant and front with the rooms in that wing--it was noisy with kids running through the halls, staff laughing and going about routine business and doors slamming continuously. A bathroom vent seemed to have some connection to a place where there was much yelling, laughing and loud voices that were delivered into our room.

The breakfast buffet was okay, a wide variety. The dinner buffet, however, offered a wide variety, but every stew or goulash that I tried contained bones. Roast beef each night was so tough no one in our group could cut it with the knives provided.

The hotel grounds are pleasant and well-kept with plenty of diversions for children. It is near a local marketplace that offers KFC and a Wimpy's if you don't want to try the buffet. You can get all the necessities from curbside vendors and more from the traditional shops and terrific grocery store.

We would definitely stay at another hotel if we should ever return to the area.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Your interest and concern are much appreciated and have been shared with all of our team members at the hotel. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in future.

Yours sincerely,

Ben Jonas
General Manager Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Before staying here you should be aware that this property is very dated and in need of a complete renovation. The building look old and neglected. The room looked liked it had not been renovated in ten years with damaged furniture and absolutely filthy floors. Service in restaurant was horrible with long waits just to get the check. The location however is a good base if you're visiting hluhluwe and isimangaliso wetlands independently which I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations when staying with us at the Protea Hotel Hluhluwe. Your feedback has been noted and addressed accordingly. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in future.

Yours sincerely,

Ben Jonas
General Manager Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
5.4 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
0 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
3 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
80 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hluhluwe
Hluhluwe
#7 of 7 in Hluhluwe
103 reviews
3.2 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#10 of 33 in Hluhluwe
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris

Address: 104 Main Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa (Formerly Hluhluwe Hotel & Safaris)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range: $93 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris - Luxury Set in the Heart of The Zulu Kingdom. Rich in natural ambience and with a distinctively African rhythm, Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris treats guests to luxurious accommodation, tantalising cuisine, and a world-class service with friendly staff who live the motto "hospitality is our game". The Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris encourages visitors to leave the modern world behind and to embark on a discovery ... The untamed beauty of Kwazulu Natal's Elephant coast and the neighbouring wildlife and marine reserves have created a vibrant eco-system of unrivalled diversity. Soak up the sun at the swimming pool terrace and feel the cultural richness in the evenings whilst sipping on a refreshing sundowner and watching the Zulu dance shows are held beneath the magnificent Umkanyakude (Fever) Tree. At Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, you'll discover the wild nature of Africa, rejoice in the luxury and revel in the friendly warmth of one of Africa's most welcoming hotels!Let one of our Guides take you on Game drive adventure to Hluhluwe/Umfolozi park or one of the many interactions and activities The Elephant Coast has to offer . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe And Safaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing