We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to be back as soon as possible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hluhluwe Backpackers
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Fantastic place. Very happy that my friends and I chose this backpackers. Situated in beautiful rural KZN, very close to the Hluhluwe-iMfolozi Park. Dave is awesome and very hospitable. Hope to be back to Durban again, and when I am I will be sure to make a stop off at Hluhluwe Backpackers for a few days of safari. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Quite enjoyed the caravan lodging
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexTodd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Hluhluwe Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2010

Hluhluwe backpackers has an awesome vibe! My partner and I Camped here for three days with full access to all the facilities, which are basic, but all that you need. The backpackers was an awesome base for the Hluhluwe - infolozi game reserve as it is only a few kms from the Memorial entrence.
Facilities were good, everything you'd expect from a backpackers and Dave the owner is very helpful and friendly.
If i am ever back in the area I will definately go back to this backpackers.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jacindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

A friendly Dave with his dog Nelson; this is a great place to stop by if you want to enjoy Hluhluwe Park. We enjoyed it for one week.
Dave will make your stay easy, serve you good food or if you want just cook your own. He will also be your guide to the park we we enjoy the nicest time in.
Make your , make your choice and go for it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

your friend jakmes germany , what a great place , wespend 3 days here and was fantastic , what a GREAT HOST

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yourhostdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurélie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marielamothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
360travel_11, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudukitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
360travel_11, Owner at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
4.5 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
7.4 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
9.5 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
13.9 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in KwaNompondo
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hluhluwe Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hluhluwe Backpackers

Address: Cnr Memorial Gate & Hluhluwe Dam Rds | Hluhluwe Dam Road, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: $29 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest spot (1km) to the Hluhluwe/Imfolozi National Park. For the best 4x4 open vehicle game drives, visit Hluhluwe Backpackers!! We call the Big 5 our neighbours and enjoy a stunning 360 degree view onto the surrounding hills of Zululand and the mountains of the Park in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hluhluwe Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing