We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emdoneni Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$127
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$82
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
194
79
10
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
79
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscat tourbeautiful catswild catsfire pitbig catslittle touchescheetah experiencecity lifetwo night stayan amazing experiencenight packagestayed here for two nightshoneymoon suitehluhluwe game reservegreat gamedinner buffetgame drives
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 289 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at Emdomeni lodge on the 6th and 7th of April 2013. It was a last minute arrangement and we are all so glad that we happened to find your leaflet and that you had availability. My husband, me and our two boys, 5 and 7, loved the cat experience and the game drive. We considered the 2 night price, which included breakfast and dinner, the cat experience and a game drive a Hluhluwe, very reasonable. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of no Wifi, the beds were the best I slept in for the 3 weeks we travelled around SA and the meals were of a very high standard. Having grown up in SA myself, I'd never been to this part of the country and I can't believe I've missed out in the past. Its perfect for enjoying the seaside and the game reserves and its so beautiful. Although I would avoid Hluhluwe town itself, we felt a bit uncomfortble going shopping in the Shoprite.
Your customer service and hospitality was brilliant, being greeted with a refreshing cloth and cold orange juice was a lovely touch and when we very disappointed that we couldn't have the game drive in the morning (only in the afternoon), your reaction to let us have a complimentry bush walk with Dumisani (excuse my spelling) was much appreciated and enjoyed especially by the kids. Also being able to see the Cerval kittens in the evening was very special! Thank you soo much, our boys are still talking about their experiences in SA and Emdomeni Lodge was a definite highlight! We will be recommending you highly to anyone travelling to SA!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sol269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Lodge. It is always great to see what we have done right and what to do more to make Emdoneni Lodge the best ever destination!

We want to thank you for the sms stating your unhappiness about the drive and we appreciate your understanding that the park would be filled of game drive vehicles doing a drive for a cruise ship guests!

It was only a pleasure introducing the baby servals to your kids. The kittens are doing well and are gorgeous and very playful at the moment.

Looking forward to meet with you in the near future!

Warm regards
Louis & Cecillie Nel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice lodge, with lush green plants and trees and nice spacious cabins. Cabin had both a ceiling fan and airco, as well as
a fridge.

The cat sanctuary on the lodge premises has very nice tours where you can see different cat species such as cheetahs and servals. You can even enter their cages and cuddle them while they are eating!

Close to various game reserves if you want to do a safari day trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ijansch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your feedback about Emdoneni Lodge and for taking the time to write a review - we appreciated it very much

We will constantly strive to be better and therefor ensure to be the best holiday destination in our part of the world!

Be blessed in 2013 and hope to see you soon back at the lodge.

Warm regards
Louis & Cecillie Nel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at ths lodge for two nights. Both nights we had to partake in a Buffet style dinner. The cost of this dinner is R190.00. One cannot just have a starter or something small. Ether the whole Buffet of nothing. The beds have no top sheets, only a duvet cover. The rooms are generaly quite small. As far as breakfast goes if you are part of a tourgroup you would not be entitled to bacon with your eggs. Only other clients have that privelage. Petty is it not. The cat expierience also has a price tag to it.
THERE IS NO WI-FI. So its really a case of being in the bush.
Generaly speaking the lodge is pretty expensive compared to other establishments in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get the older chalets close to reception
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Bennie

Thank you for your still negative feedback after a long discussion with you on the phone to address your unhappiness. Your feedback most certainly contradicts your comments that Emdoneni is a wonderful place! You were always happy in the last years you visited Emdoneni, why this sudden change of mind?

As you know, for many 20 years, we only serve a buffet to cater for all our guests needs. You demanded that your guests have the option to have the following :

Soup and bread OR soup, bread and starter OR salad and dessert OR only dessert OR only main buffet. How do you expect us to cater for all these requests AFTER you booked for full buffet for ALL your guests 4 days prior arrival??

Our meals are not R190,00 per person. It is R175,00 pp.

Don’t you think you are a bit unfair to request all these different options from us?

WiFi : as you are fully aware as well , we are surrounded by bush. Telkom lines are not reliable and non-existent. You are also aware that we are looking into this matter and these things take time. This will be sorted in a couple of weeks, so next time you visit you will have WiFi.

Breakfast : The operator that you guide for is fully aware about how we do our breakfast. Pax travelling in groups requested the change of breakfast as they get bacon and eggs every day for 14 days. Funny that the one that gets food for free is the one that complains the most…??

Cat Tours : Once again this is a rehabilitation centre and funds getting from this project are going back to the cats. You are the only guide that refuses to support this project. Once again it is all about commission.

Top sheets : We always do top sheets, only white linen is used, in hot summer months our guests requested to remove the top sheets.

We cannot keep everyone happy, but will surely try our best!

Looking forward to see you back at the lodge, hopefully this time with a better attitude from you and your bus driver??

Regards
Louis & Cecillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Tour took about 1 hour and you get to go in with cheetah, serval and caracal, the guide was very knowledgable about the animals many of which he rescued himself. He knew about the other cat projects across the country.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sonyaclairelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Owners, Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest

On behalf of ourselves and all lodge staff, thank you for your kind words of praise, we were all delighted to read about it!

We accommodate many guests, either by accommodation and cat tour visits, and we strive to make all our guests stay/visit to the cats a satisfying and memorable one. The principal goal of our lodge is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But it is only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

We will surely strive to improve and be the best destination in Hluhluwe!

With kind regards
Louis & Cecillie Nel
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I grew up in the bush of Southern Africa... with little ‘civilisation’ and lots of wild experiences. :) I wanted to take my husband (from the UK) and my 16 year old daughter on a week-end, where they could experience the ‘bush’ as I knew it, however in more comfortable surroundings. Even though it rained most of our week-end at Emdoneni, it was still one of the most amazing experiences that we have ever had... and one we intend to repeat every year, or more often if possible. Although we have travelled extensively, it is one of the best places we have visited, and having the animals roam free like a Kudu and Zebra around our accommodation was a wonderful experience for our daughter. The staff were great, the food was fabulous... and the Cat Rehabilitation Centre, especially interaction with the Cheetahs was exceptional. We also love the “Adopt A Cat” program which allows anyone, from anywhere in the world to help with this amazing project. There was lots to see and enjoy, with too little time for everything. :)

Between our delicious meals and Cat Tours, we were able to travel to different attractions in the area. The Hluhluwe Game Reserve was only a short drive away and we enjoyed a wonderful Game Drive were we saw Rhino grazing beside the road... Zebra, Warthogs, Baboons, lots of Buffalo, Wildebeest and much, much more. We came across a big herd of Elephants crossing the road, and alongside the road and enjoyed watching their antics for more than an hour.

Our stay at Emdoneni Lodge was definitely one of our best getaway experiences, despite the rain, which actually didn’t hinder our enjoyment at all... except maybe our photos. So we are going back very soon, to take more photographs and enjoy the very warm and wonderful hospitality, of Emdoneni and staff.

A BIG thank-you to all!

Room Tip: We loved the Rondavels.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest

On behalf of ourselves and all lodge staff, thank you for your kind words of praise, we were all delighted to read about it!

We accommodate many guests, and we strive to make all our guests stay a satisfying and memorable one. The principal goal of our lodge is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But it is only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

We will surely strive to improve and be the best destination in Hluhluwe!

With kind regards
Louis & Cecillie Nel
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews