We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping at Isinkwe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
Durban
1 review
“Camping at Isinkwe”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A Great place. Well situated, even if you don't have a car - there are good neighbours such as Cat Sanctuary to visit. It's a Lovely campsite, pool and communal kitchen. And thanks to Ivan for the lifts!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PascalB956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
22
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I decided to take my dad on a holiday, and booked in at Isinkwe for 4 nights. That was the best decision I ever made. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, the "home cooked" meals and a drink from Zama's bar every night were always something to look forward to. We stayed in the Bushbaby Cabin which was very comfortable. The only thing I was a bit disappointed about, and yes was my fault for not finding out more, but because I just booked for self catering accommodation through "booking.com" I was not really aware of all the activities provided from isinkwe, so knowing that it was near the Hululuwe Umfolozi reserve, I organised and paid for the day safari through them, and so did not get to enjoy a drive with Pinky from the lodge, which would have been much more convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JannineS701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our stay was a disapointment. It was not what we were told. Service was an effort. Blocked drains in shower, water leaking in kitchen, staff watching TV whilst guests want to eat breakfast. It is sad as this place has so much potential. Sadly it is also slightly overpriced compared to other camps in the area that much neater and friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MARK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isinkwe, Owner at Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
In regards to the complaint above, we contacted the clients by email in order to further investigate their complaints. We, as the owners, endeavored to look into each one of their complaints and to rectify the problems they have highlighted, as we take these reviews very seriously. They kindly communicated to us in detail their complaints and we were able to resolve the issues amicably.



The customers were originally quoted on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis, as our rooms do not have kitchens. We later offered to change the booking to a room only rate, as they were visiting family in the area. Before arriving they phoned our receptionist to enquire if the room had a kitchen. Unfortunately, misunderstanding the question, she answered yes, however, she was referring to the communal kitchen. None of our rooms have kitchens, except for 1 Self-catering unit. We advertise and quote our rooms on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis only, as per original quote sent to the client. It is unfortunate, that after the phone conversation, they were under the impression that the room would have a kitchen. This misunderstanding caused them to be unhappy with the room, as well as the receptionist's level of experience in dealing with situation upon check in.



Due to a high occupancy over the Christmas and New Year's season, prior to their stay, the shower drains unfortunately became blocked and there was a leaking tap in the self-catering kitchen, which were dealt with shortly after their stay.



Our staff members are not permitted to watch TV. Our investigation has lead us to believe this was an isolated incident.



Our rate for the room is R230.00 ($26) per person, which we do not consider to be overpriced.



We will endeavor to continue to improve service levels by training our staff to deal with difficult situations in a satisfactory way. We sincerely hope this review will not detract from your plans to visit Isinkwe Bushcamp in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in mid-December, when the place was almost empty. Our room, a stand-alone cabin surrounded by lush vegetation, was nicely appointed and comfortable -- good double bed plus a single, good bathroom, nice little table outside to sit and enjoy nature. We never did try the swimming pool, though it looked great, and the food (no choices, just meal du jour) was tasty and came in generous portions. They also allow you to do your own BBQ and start a fire in their big communal pit. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, and since they run their own tours, it's a great place of operations -- we did a full-day safari in Hluhluwe Imfolozi that was one of the highlights of our South Africa trip.

Room Tip: The rooms with their own bathrooms (en suite) seem to be more isolated, which is nice because you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marionsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had a low budget for our trip and were looking for a cheap safari. Whilst browsing the internet we came across Isinkwe and their very affordable safari-arrangements. We booked and read the reviews afterwards.. By the time we arrived here we had low expectations on our stay here. We arrived quite late and got a pleasant welcome at the reception. We had the jewel beetle room with the double bed. it's a nice, small room with a fan, a bed, a bedside table and a light. That's all and it was enough for us. it was already past dinnertime but we still got a nice meal. Nothing fancy but we loved it. that is a bit the thing here.. Nothing here is fancy, but what can you expect on such a low budget. You get to stay in the middle of nowhere with only the sound of the bush around you, you're provided with warm meals, an English breakfast, a friendly guide on the safari and a wonderful experience of the friendly people that work here. if you want luxury, go to one of the more expensive lodges, if you want basic, do yourself a favor and come stay at Isinkwe. We loved every minute of it!
We also had a nice safari trip. We were taken in a jeep to the gamepark where we drove around with the guide for the whole day. She seemed to have eagle-eyes as she saw the wildlife everywhere and pointed everything out to us. We got to see loads of zebra's, giraffes, monkeys, a dung-beetle, elephants (really, really, REALLY close!), buffalo's, wildebeests, antelopes, lions, lizards, rhino's, vultures and an incredible scenery. Our guide also turned out to be our cook and we were given a very basic breakfast in the morning at a picnic area and hamburgers from the skottelbraai in the afternoon. All and all we had a very nice experience here and we're looking forward to returning here someday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascal_Butz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at isinkwe with lovely staff,nice accommodation and safaris ,this place is a little paradise irecomend it

Room Tip: cicade ensuites rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karoline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have just returned from a 3 week stay in South Africa, culminating with 3 nights at Isinkwe, on the Elephant Coast Explorer package.

Isinkwe is well located, balancing a bush/rural experience with easy access from the N2, only 2.5 hours from Durban. The camp itself is attractive and comfortable and the food provided is good simple home cooking, with generous portions.

Our rooms, (Cicada) were clean and comfortable (albeit with the odd small gecko visiting us) and set apart in a wooded area with nice views and the usual dawn and dusk bush choruses. The pool was kept clean and provided a refreshing place to cool down after a day on safari. The bar was pleasant and well stocked. All of the staff were friendly and helpful

The trips out - a local nature walk in the bush, a visit to a Zulu cultural village, a walk around a local private game reserve and two (very) full day trips to Hluhluwe Game Reserve and St Lucia Wetland National Park - were fantastic providing opporrtunities to see everything that you would expect in South Africa, except the elusive Leopard. The guide for the trips was courteous, extremely knowledgeable and great at spotting animals and birds for us.

We hope to retrun before to long.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clivekeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
6.4 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7.2 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 32 in Hluhluwe
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Wildebees Ecolodge
Wildebees Ecolodge
#18 of 32 in Hluhluwe
159 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
#1 of 10 in Hluhluwe
241 reviews
20.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp

Property: Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
Address: Bushlands Turnoff from N2 | Bushlands, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp is situated 15 km south of Hluhluwe, within indigenous woodland bushveld. Accommodation options consists of a self-catering chalet, en-suite double or twin rooms and standard double or twin rooms, family rooms, dormitories and camping. Our lodge offers meals, breakfast and dinners, next to the swimming pool and entertainment area. We offer 4x4 open-vehicle safaris to Hluhluwe/iMfolozi Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing