We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
51
24
9
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
24
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree lodge weaver birds all mod cons game drives braai facilities excellent stay game reserve comfy bed mosquito net door step stayed here for nights overnight stop early morning drive on stilts guided walk memorial gate main building
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

I had been spoilt staying at some of the most incredible lodges on a scouting trip for business. Thus the Safari Lodge was not in any way enticing for my tastes.
I found the dark wood and typical African safari setting a bit much for my palate. I could see the international tourists loved it though.
The staff were friendly and they went out of their way to make sure one was comfortable and well treated.
The accommodation were small little rondavels scattered across a mown area. The buck enjoying the safety of the cut grass in the evenings was a real pleasure.
The room was good in many ways.
This was a convenient B&B for me, not to my taste, but they were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you battle with walking, get a room close to the parking area
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UbizaneTeam, General Manager at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Dear Anton N,

Thank you for the honest review, it is really appreciated. We do understand that we will not be ablle to accommodate/meet each and every of our guest's taste/prefrences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Loved our two night stay here - best place we have stayed during our two weeks here in South Africa. Tree lodge rooms were very comfortable, king bed with mosquito net, large deck on which to sit and watch the nyala, Impala and monkeys below. Plenty of storage space for clothes, fridge in room, air conditioning. WiFi only available in bar/restaurant area which was fine, although charging 150 Rand ($10) for 1 gig is a bit pricey. The first 500mb is free per person but that doesn't go far when uploading photos. Nice open sided restaurant and bar area overlooking a pond with crocodiles and Weaver birds, and we took the short walk to see the Ostrich. Food was good, especially breakfast with eggs cooked to order. We did two game drives with Alan who was very knowledgeable. The first drive was inside Ubizane's private reserve and the second was inside the main Hluwe-luwe park. Fortunately we saw a tip from a previous reviewer on wrapping up for the early morning drive along the main road from Ubizane to the Hluwe-luwe park entrance - definitely take warm hats and layers! We saw lots of game both days. Wish we could have spent longer here and had more game drives!

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UbizaneTeam, General Manager at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sally G,

Thank you very much for this positive review, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Safari Lodge rondavels. Had a braai at the Boma on first night and supper at the restaurant on second night. The restaurant had a lovely candlelight- under-the-stars setting and food was good- Chakalaka was best tasting pap gravy ever! Chocolate pudding made in a potjie pot was a treat.

We enjoyed afternoon guided walk and morning game drive. Take note - drive from Lodge to Hluhluwe Game Reserve is very cold. Dress warm- jacket, hats, scarf and blanket.

All staff good but special mention to reception staff.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank Jaxw1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UbizaneTeam, General Manager at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jaxw1962,

Thank you for the beautifule review, I will deffinately relay the message to my staff and (especially) the reception staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We did a guided walk with Alan. Alan was knowledgeable and showed us lots of interesting plants and told us about their customary uses. We got up close to a group of giraffes and gnus and zebras and impala and nyala and waterbuck. The fever tree forest shines.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

The surroundings are pretty, we walked into the main building to see weaver birds building their nests, which hang upside down on the branches of trees, below them were Crocodiles in a man made large pool and enclosure. Our tree house was lovely with all mod cons, in and amongst the trees, where we watched monkeys playing in the branches, with Zebra and Impalas walking around below us. Fabulous

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews