We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great place! Both lodges are excellent. The food is great and safaris are always exciting with their experiences rangers. Be ware of monekys in the breakfast area :)
Both the local afternoon game drive and the morning trips to the big safari park are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write this beautiful review. We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time at Ubizane and have enjoyed the wonders of the magical African bush.
We strive to show our guests how wonderful the bush and nature can be while living in the lap of luxury. As for the monkeys, they are very naughty and love the muffins we set out so we’ve got our hands full with the mischievous little creatures!

We thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again back at Ubizane in the near future!

Kind Regards,
The Ubizane Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in one of the tree lodges overlooking zebra grazing and monkeys running around. What a treat! The welcome when we arrived was lovely, the staff took our bags and gave us a refreshing welcome cocktail. Our tree lodge was very comfortable. It was very unfortunate that we had a power cut on the first evening, and without the use of air conditioning our room was stiffling hot, which made for a terrible nights sleep. We just wish the staff had told us that there was a fuse switch and at about 11pm the power had actually come back on and if we had used this switch we wouldn't have had such a bad night....never mind.
The food was delicious and we were lucky to have 1 evening in the resturant and another outside around the fire. Great hospitality and wonderful staff - I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Only 1 hour from St Lucia where they do boat trips to see crocodile & hippos - an excellent trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaird_215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Greetings from Ubizane!

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are so delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay and always try to give our guests the best experience in the bush! We are sorry to hear that you had a uncomfortable night during the power cut. We will definitively make sure that all our staff are aware of the fuse switch in some of the rooms to ensure that this does not happen again during an electricity cut in the future. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the boma dinner and the food! We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to the area!

Warm Regards
Ettione Ferreira
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ubizane is easily accessible from Durban and offers a great combination of individual cottages, luxurious lodge facilities, helpful staff and all that set in a well 'stocked' private game reserve.
Upon arrival Hamilton whisked us off on our first game drive and we quickly came across black rhino, giraffes, baboons, wart-hogs, all washed down with coldest and crispest G&Ts you can imagine. Back at the lodge the food was generous and the fire was roaring, perhaps there were too few people around at the time but the overall atmosphere was less than the sum of its parts - but there were only 2 or 3 couples there. The wildlife walking around the lodge made up for rather dull dining, nowhere else can you photo so many different species grazing and playing - from the comfort of your own bed !! Utterly charming and well worth trying for a few days.

Room Tip: we stayed in a 'tree house' - the cottages in the neighbouring lodge also looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Ubizane is delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the bush experience! We cannot take credit for the wonderful wildlife we have as only nature can take credit for that but we are very glad to hear you had close encounters with the animals and nature.
We are sorry that the atmosphere at dinner wasn’t as expected and we do sometimes go through times where the lodge is very quiet with only two or three guests for dinner which might become too quiet for some but we always encourage suggestions and feedback so we can look at ways of improving the bush experience for our guests.

We really enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a brilliant 2 day stop at Tree Tops Ubizane, wished it had been longer ... The staff were very welcoming and always wanting to help, loved our rooms and verandahs, so peaceful. Eating under the African sky in the evening in the Booma was fantastic again the staff were so accommadating. Well done to management for making our 2 day trip memorable . Will definitely recommended you to friends and Friends. Word of mouth is a great advertising tool!!!

Room Tip: Don't leave your room unattended with doors open!!! Monkey Alert.... We were warned and forgot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review! We also would like to thank you for choosing Zululand Tree Lodge as a destination during your African journey.

We aim to give our guests a memorable Zululand experience and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed it! As for the monkeys, they can be very cute but very naughty at the same time – thank you for the tip for future travelers!

We look forward to your next visit to Ubizane and we cannot wait to welcome your friends! Thank you so much for your referrals, it is greatly appreciated!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a difficult time getting here because we were coming from afar but we stayed in touch with the staff who helped us get there and navigate in the dark. The staff greeted us, took our bags and they had saved dinner for us. We were so touched by that. Our treehouse was gorgeous and we loved the decor and grounds. Wild animals roaming about. We went on a game drive in the morning which was fine but not great as the animals were not out until the end of the drive. The staff was helpful and pleasant. We just wish we had more time. This was a terrific choice if you don't want anything too luxurious or too basic. You'll love it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khyati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
First of all we would like to sincerely thank you for your visit to Ubizane Wildlife Reserve. We aim to give guests a memorable experience in nature, enjoying what Zululand has to offer.
Thank you for the great review and kind words!

We are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable time and hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just spent a long weekend at the Tree Lodge and had a wonderful time. Accommodation was good, rooms clean and well serviced. All rooms look out into Fever Trees with Nyala and Duiker grazing close by. Food was good and plentiful. Lance (Head Chef) is very friendly and happy to discuss the menu. Could have offered a braai (barbeque) over the weekend in keeping with the bush theme. Hannah and Elizabeth (Front Staff) took care of us well and we will easily return to this very friendly Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the restaurant as it is quite a walk from the outer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for chosing Zululand Tree Lodge for your stay! It has been our pleasure making you feel comfortable and give you the most memorable experience at the Lodge.
We have recently started doing Bring & Braai’s at our Zululand Safari Lodge because they are self-catering and buffet candlelight dinners in the Boma area have been done a few times before. We regret that you did not get the chance to experience the Boma dinners and hope you will get the chance with your next visit!

We appreciate the beautiful review you have written for us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Had a fantastic time at Ubizane...hospitality was brilliant, the management team always being close at hand to cater for any whim; good food, lovely bar, and the swimming pools (both at Tree Lodge and Safari Lodge) were in perfect condition! Loved the game around the lodge area and the convenience of Hluhluwe town close by on one side, and the National Park on the other side. All in all I had an excellent stay, and will return soon - next time with more friends to enjoy it with me, and more time to explore St. Lucia and Sodwana which are both close by. A special thankyou to Tiaan, Natacha, Darius and Hannah for everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We aim to give guests a luxurious and memorable experience of Zululand.
Thank you for choosing Ubizane Wildlife Reserve as one of your destinations during your trip!

Looking forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
0.3 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
130 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7.3 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
25 reviews
20.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
8.4 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubizane Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubizane Wildlife Reserve

Property: Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Address: Memorial Gate Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ubizane Wildlife Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zulu for the place of calling, Ubizane Wildlife Reserve is situated a mere 4 Kilometers from Hluhluwe Town and is on the access road to Hluhluwe Umfolozi National Park. Ubizane Wildlife Reserve is an invaluable location for any tourist to experience wildlife while traveling in the surrounding area, including the Greater St Lucia World Heritage Site. Ubizane Wildlife Reserve is situated in the heart of Zululand, but is only a mere two and a half hours drive from Durban's King Shaka Airport. With an expanse of 1200 hectares, this privately owned, low risk Malaria reserve is teaming with wildlife, some of which include: Giraffe, Wildebeest, White Rhino, Ostrich and Zebra, as well as most antelope species. Not to mention the bird life which includes over 450 species! During the start of a brand new era, Ubizane renovations and restorations were undertaken on a large scale , with the emphasis on returning the glory that has stood for more than 50 years and improving with the resources that our advanced modern society has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ubizane Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing