We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Nearby Hotels
$117
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$98
$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$129
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$67
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
49
24
8
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
24
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree lodgeweaver birdsall mod consjungle gym for the kidshigh teabraai facilitiesgame drivesself cateringwith open armsgame reservecomfy bedexcellent staya nice place to staydoor stepstayed here for nightsovernight stopon stilts
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 86 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Had a fantastic time at Ubizane...hospitality was brilliant, the management team always being close at hand to cater for any whim; good food, lovely bar, and the swimming pools (both at Tree Lodge and Safari Lodge) were in perfect condition! Loved the game around the lodge area and the convenience of Hluhluwe town close by on one side, and the National Park on the other side. All in all I had an excellent stay, and will return soon - next time with more friends to enjoy it with me, and more time to explore St. Lucia and Sodwana which are both close by. A special thankyou to Tiaan, Natacha, Darius and Hannah for everything.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review! We aim to give guests a luxurious and memorable experience of Zululand.
Thank you for choosing Ubizane Wildlife Reserve as one of your destinations during your trip!

Looking forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My Brother-In-Law's 80th occurred on Sunday 29th January 2012. My Sister-In-Law decided to find a venue that could contain the 21 contingent family, keep them entertained, and turn the celebration into an intimate weekend affair. For the most part, she sponsored the whole weekend. Having been to a very similar event once before, I was cynical - this was good intentions structured to fail. How wrong can a guy be!? The Ubizane Wildlife Reserve made the entire weekend a huge success - from the welcome at the gate to the final goodbye, the attention to detail and guest satisfaction objective never faltered! What stars they were! In retrospect, everything was actually quite simple, but the execution and attitude made it very special, with the highlite being the Birthday Dinner around a fire in the bush - specatular and a memory made!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Safari Lodge in Rondavels and they are very well appointed, with everything you need!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are delighted to hear that we were part of such special memories!
We aim to give guests an unforgettable time and we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Thank you so much for the beautiful review and hope to see you again in the near future!
Warmest Regards,
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed there for a weekend, place was amazing. Very clean, comfortable, recently refurbished self catering rondavels. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Peaceful surroundings with wildlife roaming on property. Not much onsite activities for kids, but the surrounding area has much to offer. Perfect place just to relax and get away from it all. I will return here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

First of all we would like to sincerely thank you for your visit to Ubizane Wildlife Reserve. We aim to give guests a memorable experience in nature, enjoying what Zululand has to offer.
Thank you for the great review and kind words!

We are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable time and hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I loved everything about our stay there!
We were greeted with hot chocolate and marshmallows when we arrived (it was still a bit cool).
The huts were very generous (including a kitchen) and there were always zebras and antilopes walking right in front of our hut.
The drives were great - the guide really took his time to explain the animals and we even went on a bush walk.
Truly a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Safari lodges are round huts. Tree lodges are tree houses.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinnabrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This was our first trip to South Africa and our first experience of staying on a reserve. Its a beautiful place (it had been recently refurbished), and we did enjoy our stay here. The rooms were clean and tidy. We thought the food was average and slightly bland. There were a couple of things that annoyed us considering the price per person per night we paid to stay here. First of all, for the duration of our stay the pool at the safari lodge was unclean. The water was green instead of blue, and it has all sorts of things in it. The colour of the water aside, it just did not look like something we wanted to get into! When we spoke to reception about it, their answer was that they didnt know when it would be cleaned, and instead we could just use the pool down at reception instead which was much much smaller and also it was a car journey away from the actual lodge we were staying in. So we didnt get to use the pool at all, we could only lie by it!

Our second issue was regarding the game drives. We had one game drive per day in Hluhluwe, and one in Ubizane. On our first day in Hluhluwe we had wonderful sightings of many of the big five. Our guide had asked us if we wanted to see any in particular and I replied that I would like to see some big cats - be it lions or leopards I really didnt mind. He did his best to track some down but to no avail. On our return to the lodge he said that our best chance to see some lions was to go out even earlier that our previous 5.30 am start and drive to the Umfolozi end of the reserve, which he said would take about an hour from Hluhluwe. Having driven around a lot of Hluhluwe that day we agreed that it would be nice to see even further into the reserve and extend our chances of seeing some lions.
However that night at dinner, the manager came to our table and said that if WE wanted to drive to Umfolozi to see some lions it would be an extra £100 PER PERSON. Somewhat confused I explained that I wasnt some crazy tourist demanding to see some lions and that it was the actual guide who suggested Umfolozi to us in the first place....and £100 per person was just insane. That left a bad taste in my mouth and I really wasnt impresses by the whole oufit after that. It was pleasant enough, but nowhere near value for money and I wouldnt return here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doll84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews