We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our best stays in a month in South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 9 Hluhluwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, Usa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of our best stays in a month in South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The owners are wonderful. Their sense of decorating and style are first class. The units are cozy, quiet, tasteful, functional, and comfortable. They offer WiFi, but you may not be able to access it from your room. But they have a beautiful sitting room where reception is 5-bars. Breakfast is great (but please offer flavored yogurt instead of plain). We will stay there again if we go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank toeserFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    63
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
67
120
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at Amazulu Guest House in Hluhluwe for 3 nights and were vey disappointed. The proprietor made no effort to introduce herself even though we caught glimpses of her around and about. Her husband was very nice and helpful even though he told us that he is not involved in the running of the guest house at all. The breakfasts were very unappetising. The room was very nice although we would have preferred a door to the bathroom for a little privacy. Also the pillows were so lumpy we couldn't sleep on them. We won't be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Check all the reviews before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, Kwazulu-natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed @ ama zulu for one night on a work trip. It was very beutifully set out, neat and beatifull smells in the room. The host was very helpfull and had a good tasy breakfast. It will definatetly be my home on my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zama Mashenge Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mestre, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the honeymoon suite, very good value for money. The owner was very kind and gave us a lot of useful suggestions. The room was large, well decorated and clean, with room facilities for breakfast. Beautiful bathromm with large shower, tub and double washbasin. Flexible breakfast time.

Room Tip: I loved 'honeymoon' suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItaliTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg & Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were very, very pleasantly surprised by how great our room was (Cheetah Room). So many nice touches- fresh milk for coffee waiting in the fridge, bathrobes!, many TV channels, great hosts, a beautiful pool area, and an incredibly convenient location for visiting the game reserve.

Probably our favorite room that we've stayed at in South Africa, especially for the value. A R1000 room for a R600 price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights in 2 rooms--Kudu and Lion Suites. Beautifully decorated, nice braii and pool area, quiet, comfortable beds, ac, great service and close to game parks. The owners were very nice and accommodating including packing us a great picnic breakfast and delivering it at 5:30 am so we could get to the game parks early. A lovely retreat, I just wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Kudu suite has a large luxurious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Owners were very friendly and the service was great. They very flexible on arrival time, breakfast time, the owner even lent us his binoculars for wild animal viewing. The rooms were very nice and we took advantage of the braii and pool. My wife and I shared the honeymoon suite, which is huge with a very nice shower, and my kids each had their own room at a very reasonable rate. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DClauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
3.3 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#10 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fever Tree Guest House
6.6 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ama Zulu Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ama Zulu Guesthouse

Property: Ama Zulu Guesthouse
Address: 70 Nyala Street | Hluhluwe, Hluhluwe 3950, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ama Zulu Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ama Zulu Guesthouse is set in the heart of Hluhluwe and the beautiful untamed Elephant Coast in KwaZulu Natal. This newly renovated house offers guests comfortable accommodation in a relaxing atmosphere at affordable rates. The taste fully furnished and decorated bedrooms all have private entrances, en-suite bathrooms and are equipped with coffee and tea making facilities, bar fridge and colour TV with M-Net. A Continental and full English Breakfast is served daily. Dinners on request. Guests are welcome to relax in the courtyard or at the pool area and enjoy the fresh air and sunny skies. Braai/ barbeque facilities are available! Laundry service available! Children welcome! This Guesthouse greatest asset is it's location ideally situated between the world renowned Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve and the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park. Where the untamed wildlife and marine reserves meet creating an eco-system of unparalleled bio-diversity. Ama Zulu Guesthouse is also within easy reach of Sodwana Bay, St Lucia, Cape Vidal, Lake Sibaya, Mkuze Game Reserve, as well as Ndumo Game Reserve, Tembe Elephant Park and Lake Josini. The "umHluhluwe Safaris" arranges three, six and nine hour safaris into the game reserve. Champagne breakfasts, bush braai's, lunch packs as well as picnics in the Park can also be arranged on request. Qualified field guides will take you on safari in comfortable, modern open game drive vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ama Zulu Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing