We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and peaceful place to relax!”
Review of Leopard Walk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leopard Walk Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful and peaceful place to relax!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a great stay at the Leopard Walk Lodge. The place is wonderful and quiet. At night, Zebras come to the dining area and the huge compound gives a home to several african annimals (Gnus, Zebra, Monkeys, ..)

The owner and the staff are very helpful and give their best to keep this place clean and tidy. There are several activities around this place to do (Hluhluwe Nt. Park, Sodwana Bay, Crocodile Farm,etc).

I can highly recommend a stay in this lodge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisco2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    46
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
99
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

For our honeymoon destination we chose this place, and were quite impressed when enteríng the compound, as we were greated by a herd of Zebra. Very nice.
We checked in, and it was indeed very private, as we had our own house, and it was secluded.
Dinner that evening, was very traditional for this part of the world, which was fine, but when similar dishes were served for the remainder of our stay, it got a bit tedious.
After a good nights sleep, we met Rob, the owner, or Boss, as he was refered to as being for the remainder of our stay, as this was the only time we actually met him. He advised us as to which attractions where in the area, and we had a pleasent enough stay.

Now, being from overseas, I had submitted my creditcard details, and payment was made, with an inclusion of 5% for "services rendered" I might be a bit naïve, but I expected this would be to cover any drinks etc. we might have from the bar, for the duration of our stay, however I was wrong. The money was to cover the creditcard fee, which I later learned, is not the done thing. In fact, small businessholders I know in SA, have told me that this is in fact not legal procedure, and when I wrote to Leopard Walk Lodge, to ask for a refund, I never heard back!

I must say, that I am very upset, that I as a foreigner, have been met with such disgraceful treatment, and as I expect there are quite a lot of foreigners visiting, they should be aware of this conduct.

Still waiting to hear from them, but doubt it will happen.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cht38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

we have never done anything like this before,it was great. out in the bush in the middle of nowhere being a couple of townies we found it very scary at first.! the rooms are very large and comfy loved the hot tub outside!! thanks to sindy for catering for us and the other girl who's name i cant remember.had a brilliant time visiting the area would recommend this place as a base.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masonace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The last year, this lodge was one of our favorites - so it was clear we will come back during our next visit in South Africa.
Again, we were very satisfied with this lodge. The rooms are outstanding, every couple has its own house of approx. sixty square meters plus a huge terrace including a private hot tub. The walls are almost complete windows so there's a real 'bush feeling'. By night, the sounds of the animals are incredible. Since the lodge is far away from other lodges and/or villages, the perfect darkness guarantees perfect views to the starlit sky.
Driving to this lodge is not the same than driving to a hotel in the town - you have to go some kilometers on unpaved, sandy roads. So we wouldn't come to here for just one night. In this case, you wouldn't be able to enjoy the great accommodation and tranquility of this place - the greatest advantage of this lodge!
The food is not gourmet, but home cooking. Expect braas, not amuse gueules. If you need anything, just ask and Rob and the team will try to help you!
It's some kilometers to the surrounding national parks (which are as good as the Kruger NP), breakfast doesn't start before seven. So if you want to be very early in the parks, this maybe isn't the first choice. But if you want to relax for some days, we can highly recommend staying here!
For more details, see my review from the year before (in German).

The next visit is already booked...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KurtMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Leopard Walk Lodge had stunning rooms - private (you see no other guests), glass walls make you feel closer to the forest, outside spa-bath was a nice touch. We recommend - not more than 3 nights at the lodge, canoeing with hippos (Muzi Pan adventure), horse riding with Hluhluwe River Trails (we did the bush ride at Falaza), St Lucia day trip, eat out at Amarello. The food at the lodge was nice,home cooked and large portions but if you stay for longer than 2 days the meals feel monotonous.

Room Tip: Older rooms are 3star, newer ones are 4star. Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g-in-africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We arrived a bit before check in time, but the staff and owner made sure our room was available as soon as possible. We even got an upgrade to one of the honeymoon suites. The room was enormous with big bathroom and even a jacuzi outside. No lunch was available but we got a good tip and had a really nice lunch at a golf resort only 10-15 minutes by car. The dinner was pretty good in buffet style and that evening some wild zebras passed by. We only stayed here for one night since we were passing through but there's a lot to do in the vicinity of this lodge. We really enjoyed our stay here and the staff is really friendly. That said, I could highly recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Just one night spent here before we moved on but wonderful accommodation in the A+ Suite . Spacious, comfortably furnished and glass walls to feel part of the private forest. Outside jacuzzi to enjoy whilst listening to bird calls. Memorable evening when the zebra came to say hello after dinner - never stroked a zebra before. Staff friendly and food good - would be more than happy to return for more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
0.0 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#10 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Walk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Walk Lodge

Property: Leopard Walk Lodge
Address: D 405 False Bay, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leopard Walk Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your safari to Leopard Walk Lodge – a safe, romantic and friendly destination with excellent rates. Ideal for honeymoons, special occassions and eco-tourists – will bring you to South Africa’s world famous Elephant Coast, a spectacular natural wildlife area. Rejoice in your luxuarious accommodation with glass wrapped rooms set in a unique sand forest and relax in your own private outdoor Jaucuzzi. Set in a private wildlife reserve with over 350 bird species and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Leopard Walk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing