We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well catered, comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hlulala Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hlulala Guest House
Ranked #5 of 9 Hluhluwe B&B and Inns
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well catered, comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We came as a group of 3 couples and a single for a 3 night stay while visiting the Hluhluwe-Umfolosi game parks. It is very conveniently located - only a 10 minute drive to the Memorial Gates entrance. We stayed in Rooms 1, 3, 6 & 7 which were all very comfortable and beautifully furnished. A minor criticism is that storage and hanging space is rather limited in Rooms 1 and 6 - which is fine for a short stay if you don't mind living out of your suitcase. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean, well supplied and the showers had decent pressure. There was a minor problem with the water-heater supplying Rooms 6 & 7, by the pool, but Pieter, the owner was onto getting it fixed, and luckily as we all knew each other we could co-ordinate between the 4 occupants in the two rooms, so we didn't drain all the available hot water at the same time.
The family run Guest House benefits from the charm, local knowledge and helpfulness of the hosts. They were extremely kind when one member of our group fell ill shortly after our arrival and we felt he was safe left in their care to make a good recovery during the day while we went to the Game Reserve. We were in the middle of our 3 week stay in South Africa when we visited here, so I was grateful the maids laundered some clothes for me on request which they did quickly and very well.
The ample breakfasts were delicious and had a good variety and choice. We ate in for dinner all three evenings - a simple, home-cooked, delicious 3 course meal of soup, meat & vegetables and desert. The vegetarian in our party was well catered for with a different dish each night. We also enjoyed the picnic boxes of sandwiches, fruit and yoghurt they supplied for our lunches in the Game Park.
I would definitely stay at Hlulala again when I next visit the Hluhluwe area.

Room Tip: Room 1 & 2 are nearest the gate overlooking a busy road, therefore get some traffic noise from l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonwontutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
8
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This venue is ideal if conducting business in the Hluhluwe area of Kwa Zulu Natal province, South Africa or visiting one of the two famous game/ nature reserves in the area (about 20 km from Hluhluwe/Umfolosi gamev reserve and about 50km from Mkuze nature reserve. It is situated opposite the only major hotel in the Hluhluwe region. The property is well maintained, the rooms very clean and the breakfast satisfactory. The tariff is very competitive and more affordable than the hotel referred to above and the accommodation in the Hluhluwe game reserve. It is kept in a far cleaner condition than the accommodation in the Hluhluwe park. Reasonable number of birds in the garden to keep one amused. Would recommend as a night stopover if more favourable accommodation has not been arranged.

Room Tip: see whats available and then make your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhoops2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a pleasant and comfortable guest house, with good rooms and a good breakfast. We stayed 1 night here on route to the Hluhluwe Game Reserve. However, our arrival and check in was not the best. When we got to the Guest House, we could not contact the owners and were let in by other guests. It took about an hour before anyone arrived who could show us to our rooms. After flying overnight the night before and then driving over 500km to get here, being tired and in need of a shower, this was not great. The owners were friendly and helpful and we had a comfortable night here. The gardens and swimming pool area were beautiful. My only critism of the room is that a bathroom door would be preferable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKTTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Really a nice place to stay ... large, pleasant rooms, helpful staff and hosts.

I'll definitely use it again next time I'm in the area :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed here for two nights to see the Hluhluwe park. Rooms are nicely decorated and have large windows facing the garden. They are equipped with shower, TV, tea/coffee maker. The very nice owner can help you with information regarding the park and also helps you to book tours etc. I wanted to leave very early to the park, so she organized a breakfast and lunch pack to take with me. Next day I enjoyed the regular breakfast, which was excellent. There is free and safe parking on the premises. Shopping facilities and (fast food) restaurants are located just across the road.

Overall: Highly recommended as a base to see Hluhluwe park. Would go anytime again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fruehstueckspause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

A last minute decision to stay an additional night in the area we found Hlulala.

The owner went out of her way to make us feel comfortable on checking in and recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner.

We wanted to leave early to go to the Game Park and in turn she provided an excellent breakfast pack for us.

If in the area again I will definitely return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niederrhein
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

A good place to go to Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve.
We found a nlovely garden and friendly and helpful hosts. You can even have dinner there so that you don't have to find a restaurant after a busy day in Hluhluwe. If it wasn't for Hluhluwe you wouldn't go to this village anyway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musimausi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
2.6 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
#1 of 9 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#12 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlulala Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlulala Guest House

Property: Hlulala Guest House
Address: 56 Main Rd, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hlulala Guest House is the perfect base from which to explore Coastal attractions like Cape Vidal, Black Rock, 9 Mile Beach, Kosi Bay Mouth, Mabibi, Mapelane, Mission Rocks and Sodwana Bay. Hlulala Guest House is situated at the entrance of Hluhluwe Village, within walking distance of all supermarkets and stores. When entering the village Hlulala Guest House is the second house on the right."....kick off your shoes 'cause you're home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hlulala Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing