We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classy joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 9th Avenue Bistro

9th Avenue Bistro
Ranked #4 of 598 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: twitter: http://twitter.com/9thavenuebistro
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
199 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A classy joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've been here perhaps three times in years gone by. It's my spot for fine dining and really good food. Precise and to the point menu with interesting wine list. Visit this spot to spoil yourself and your loved one. Expect high prices but a high quality experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Durban460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    107
    33
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Bistro Ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Amazing place to be in Durban, excellent ambience. The quality of food and service is really commendable. The staffs are very friendly and passionate about their job. Excellent time spent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarun g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Amazing, splendid, great service in a local neighborhood in Durban. However, international tourist beware! I'm not a local so the local shrimp (which was grilled) left me and my stomach incapacitated for the next 2 days after the meal. Stick to the chicken and meat dishes and you'll be fine! Otherwise a must if you're in Durban. Great wine list too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marsha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Little gem tucked away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great service, careful food preparation, wonderful wine list. Definitely one of my favorites in Durban.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BryanSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“UIA INTERNATIONAL DINNER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were a large table of 20 and all were treated well.The wine was excellent and the food really tasty .Diffrent menues were made up for the international guests who wanted something special.Thanks for being flexible.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank csstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9th Avenue Bistro also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to 9th Avenue Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing