We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem”
Review of 9th Avenue Bistro

9th Avenue Bistro
Ranked #4 of 604 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: twitter: http://twitter.com/9thavenuebistro
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This was the best evening meal from a two week trip to KZN. The restaurant doesn't promise much from the outside - I don't think we would have gone in had we not reserved. The restaurant is a short walk away from the Benjamin hotel, has a broad menu and excellent food. I'd happily return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    109
    35
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stepping into the Masterchef kitchen...”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Its a special occasion to eat at 9th Ave Bistro. Its not cheap but its worth it!

There are very few restaurants in Durban that offer the high standard of food on offer at 9th..
The service is good. Food didnt take too long. All were very happy at the table by the end of our meal. What more do you want?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal/New Years Eve”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went to 9th Avenue Bistro for New Years Eve. The interior is sort of French/American Style with a bar, wine shelves and the view of the kitchen. Staff was very friendly took us to our table quickly.
The menu included an aperitif of sparklingly wine, dry and very pleasant. The menu had plenty of choice and it was delightful to move up from the usual steak/ meat dishes. After my wife had made her choices, the waitress, instead of the usual “excellent choice, Madam” said “Cool”. I liked that very refreshing.
We had a bottle of “First Sighting” 2010, as I like Pinot Noir with duck. It was really wonderful wine. Extremely good value for money.
The homemade butternut squash raviolis were delicious, truly enjoyable. For mains I had the duck. The breast was cooked pink, perfectly while the thigh was cooked style confit de canard. It was very tasty and delicious and it went really well with the pinot noir. I’m not really a desert person but I loved the dark chocolate tarte, very rich and nice.
Whereas most restaurants in the UK seem to be able to cook in the Xmas month, 9th Avenue Bistro managed without any difficulty. I was very pleased with our evening and I would like to thank the kitchen and staff for providing us with a memorable New Year’s meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WikingDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable New Year's Eve dinner”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed our meal at 9th Avenue Bistro. We were a bit sceptical about the area and the appearance of the restaurant but this proved to be unfounded. It is a bistro after all and not a fine dining establishment, I was surprised to see a small area what was outside but under cover, we would have liked to sit there instead of being inside on such a warm evening.

The set menu for NYE had several choices per course plus a glass of sparkling wine on arrival, an amuse bouche and a palate cleanser. We believe the price of ZAR475pp was very reasonable for NYE. Try getting a meal for this price in other cities eg London or Paris on NYE. Usually we pay about minimum of ZAR1000 just for a bottle of wine in a London restaurant. I can see that the price might be expensive for ZA standards. Usually the standard of cooking in restaurants goes downhill when you reach Christmas and NY but not at 9th Avenue Bistro.

We had butternut squash ravioli and a dish of smoked duck breast for starter. The ravioli was extremely good, duck breast was also good served with beetroot. For main, I had the roast suckling pig with gorgonzola mash, it was very delicious and was a big portion. For those who don't know, suckling pig is quite fatty anyway, so the restaurant had roasted this and "pulled" the meat from the pig and served it with crackling and a jus. It was very tasty. My other half had the free range duck which he enjoyed very much.

For dessert, I had a Drackensberg goats cheese with poached peaches, creme fraiche and a glass of dessert wine. I felt the peaches were not sweet enough and I didn't understand the combination but it was interesting to try (esp the cheese and dessert wine). My other half had a chocolate sponge with white chocolate ice cream (which was not rich or white chocolately enough to complement the chocolate sponge IMO) but very enjoyable nonetheless.

The service was very fast so we asked that they slow it down a little, which they did. It was a lovely meal and would definitely return if we are in Durban again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fru_sorteravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“disappointing & overpriced”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked at this restaurant based on the very positive reviews here but it was a disappointing dinner and so over-priced for SA. The fried calamari starter was average, the duck was so dry but the suckling piglet the worst: It was reassembled meat made into a rectangular-shaped, greasy and heavy dish. This would be ok for a quick lunch but not for a 475-ZAR per-person dinner menu!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicarzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9th Avenue Bistro also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to 9th Avenue Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing