We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Durban
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great food”
Review of Havana Grill

Havana Grill
Ranked #13 of 947 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Havana Grill offers an unforgettable dining experience with the combination of great food, an extensive wine selection, humidor for cigars and an environment that is relaxing, yet remains up-market. With views overlooking the ocean, excellent meals and attentive staff Havana Grill is a must when visiting Durban, Suncoast Casino. The restaurant specialises in steaks where they proudly offer grain and grass-fed cuts of meat; as well as seafood, lamb, poultry and game dishes. The wine list and cellar provide a variety of South African wines. Havana Grill is a popular choice for functions and events as the restaurant can be divided into distinct areas; as well as offers two private dining rooms. The restaurant is an ideal meeting place for corporates in the private dining room; or friends enjoying time together over a delicious meal. Havana Grill is open Monday to Saturday from 12:00-17:00(lunch) & 17:00-22:00(dinner) and Sunday 12:00-17:00(lunch) & 17:00-20:00(dinner)
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had one of the best meals ever at this little hidden restaurant in Durban.
The menu has great variety and the steaks are amazing highly recommended.

After dinner if you enjoy arcades you can spend a bit of time burning up some calories playing some games downstairs near the casino.

To get there will be best to use a Uber since its the safest way.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ThePortugueseQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 562 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2019

The Havana, well located in the Suncoast casino complex with a view of the sea, is a favourite. I've heard that the food remains excellent but the specials have likely changed as I haven't lived in the area for a long time, although i did pop in for a meeting in 2018. The afternoon specials were spectacular, usually giving a choice of three different meals with a choice of either a starter or dessert plus a drink. The photo of the meat board shows you what they're famous for but I highly recommend the chicken too. Unfortunately, I can only show you a messy photograph of my plate during a R100 eat-as-much as you like breakfast buffet. I had two plates, fruits, yoghurt and too much coffee - what a deal!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wickedmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019 via mobile

I always make sure I visit Little Havana when I’m in Durban. This trip I have been twice and historically I have had the most amazing steaks here. I have recommended it to so many friends!! However I am concerned Little Havana are letting their high standards slip! Tonight the table to my left complained, twice, about the standard of their food which meant the staff forgot a loyal long-standing customer to ensure they kept the table to my left happy. 3 staff were looking on cleaning glasses for tomorrow but ignored a happy long standing customer. Little Havana it’s not only about the people who complain but it’s about the people who support you. I am so amazed you have completely forgotten a long standing customer tonight. Not sure I will be back in February unfortunately! Keep cleaning those glasses if it’s easier than talking to loyal customers!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Fishy1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2019 via mobile

Dark and heavy wood decor, typical of a good steakhouse. Steak selections all good, lamb shank also well presented and tasty. Mushroom an gnocchi with smoked bacon was sensational. Only starch included with mains, vegetables and salad extra side orders. No bread offered for pre meal, always disappointing. Overall good service and great food.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank cherylt512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2019

Often when travelling it is hard to find a place that has the right ambience of sophistication with the free and casual spirit that comes when one is on vacation. This spot is ideal for holiday makers who want to experience upmarket venues without the formalities.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Grill also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Havana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing