We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food”
Review of Havana Grill

Havana Grill
Ranked #7 of 604 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Havana Grill offers an unforgettable dining experience with the combination of great food, an extensive wine selection, humidor for cigars and an environment that is relaxing, yet remains up-market. With views overlooking the ocean, excellent meals and attentive staff Havana Grill is a must when visiting Durban, Suncoast Casino. The restaurant specialises in steaks where they proudly offer grain and grass-fed cuts of meat; as well as seafood, lamb, poultry and game dishes. The wine list and cellar provide a variety of South African wines. Havana Grill is a popular choice for functions and events as the restaurant can be divided into distinct areas; as well as offers two private dining rooms. The restaurant is an ideal meeting place for corporates in the private dining room; or friends enjoying time together over a delicious meal. Havana Grill is open Monday through to Sunday. Lunch is from 12.00pm (kitchen closes at 2.30pm) and the restaurant closes at 5.00pm. Dinner service begins at 6.00pm (kitchen closes at 10.00pm).
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This restaurant has charm, service and the best steak in town. I definitely will recommend this restaurant if you like steak.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jstander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    145
    53
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Steakhouse in Durban”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Havana never fails to deliver an outstanding steak. Well known by the local Durbanites for an excellent evening out.

Helpful?
Thank Larin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban North, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic foo & stunning views!!!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Raved about the food and location of the restaurant!! Beautiful at night - the smells coming from the kitchen are dreamy!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High standard”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The restaurant, as you walk in, has a good, clean, caring, well-managed feel. The food and service were excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greatly Disappointed”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Was really looking forward to a meal at Little Havana, Umhlanga Rocks but came away very disappointed. I had explained I did not want any cream in my food and I chose the Norwegian salmon wth stir fried veg, thinking it would be a safe bet. However, it came surrounded by an orange cream sauce and with hardly any veg (mainly noodles)! Upon request they put my meal onto a clean plate but it was inedible. The salmon was completely raw and freezing cold inside. They took the meal away and represented it warm and cooked. However, the quality of the fish was not the usual quality of the Norwegian salmon I know and love!!
My husband had the sirlion 'special'. He asked for the steak to be medium. Unfortunately, this arrived 'rare' with the blood running out and cold inside. Needless to say this also had to be returned to the kitchen.
Our overall experience was very poor and we would not recommend or return to Little Havana. Very disappointing as it was to be a holiday treat for us!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueSKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Grill also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Havana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing