We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's ok, John Doris better”

Cape Town Fish Market
Ranked #145 of 600 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“it's ok, John Doris better”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were sitting at the sushi bar. The sushi look a little bit different than at Jon Doris, the portions on a plate are smaller and the price is higher. I would prefer John Doris for sure which have 50% on sushi on Wednesdays. Cape Town fish market has 50% discount on Tuesdays.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    37
    20
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Sushi was great, service a bit slow and mains just ok. Seared tuna was in fact well cooked and had a coating, not really as described on the menu

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bruisyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Seafood Casino”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good seafood and sushi. Some sushi dishes takes longer to prepare and on a busy night you'll have to wait ...and wait for that to be prepared.

The specials are good value for money and we often dine here on a night out. It is a franchise though and the service will test your patience. Chill with a good wine (and good company) and stay calm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juanv v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorreento
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I ate at the sushi bar at the Gateway branch last night. A meat stew was being prepared and cooked behind the bar. ( meat at a sushi bar?). I saw raw salmon being cut on the same board that the meat had been cut on. The board still had blood on it. I will never eat at this restaurant again.

Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
153 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Sushi Sushi”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

One of my favorite places to stop for Sushi. Always good quality at reasonable prices.
Enjoy sitting at the Sushi belt and picking what I want when I want it.
Service generally good and professionalism.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sach70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Town Fish Market also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Cape Town Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing