We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat with the fish”

Cargo Hold Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 600 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
912 reviews
546 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 653 helpful votes
“Eat with the fish”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a very unusual restaurant where you eat beside a huge fish tank full of sharks and the restaurant is made from an old ship. Food was very good. We were on an excellent set menu for 190 rand ( about £12) we had starters of prawn toasts( excellent), butternut and lychee soup and chicken salad all very good. Mains were steak( a bit tough) or chicken all presented well . Desserts were creme brulee, selection of ice creams and the best choice- banana and chocolate cake yum ! Good service nice atmosphere and a fun place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    135
    70
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
365 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Stunning Eating Place”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This restaurant can be found in an old cargo ship sited near the end of Uskaka Marine World Complex.

It is clear from the moment you enter that they have made a clever conversion of the ship and many old features still exist including all the steel planking.

The main feature is the fact that you can see sharks and fish swimming around as the tank holding them cover the ground and fist floor of the restaurant.

If going book a table and request it is on the ground floor next to the sharks and you will be seated next to the tank for an amazing view.

Whilst the food was not the best we had in Durban it is still worth going for the experience. However, we did have much better steaks and fish at other places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to reserve a table right next to the shark tank which was brilliant. The food was lovely but wasn't the best I'd ever had and the prices are quite steep. For the experience and atmosphere it is worth going but I've been now and there are much better restaurants out there. Service is brilliant though and our waitress couldn't do enough for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good menu, plus a shark tank!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our dinners were well presented, and prepared. The 2-story fish/shark tank was a treat. We were not able to be seated close to the tank, since those tables have to be reserved well in advance. Our server could have been more attentive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EBRCantonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were excited to be able to get a table right by the tank for lunch but were disappointed by the poor food and high prices. My husband was looking forward to the kingklip but it was totally tasteless and very expensive. I enjoyed a butternut & litchi soup which I thought was AMAZING although it could have been hotter.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitseykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cargo Hold Restaurant also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Cargo Hold Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing