We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, friendly and immaculate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Ranked #7 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly and immaculate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Gibela was a wonderful back packers to stay in, my favourite in the whole of Kwa-Zulu Natal. The beds were ridiculously comfy and the staff were really friendly and let me know where the best places to go and the ways to get there. The rooms and bathrooms were really clean. There was nothing about Gibela backpackers that i found dissatisfying and would recommend it to people of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evilspiderfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    57
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
41
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Everything you need - clean, quiet, comfortable for a reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Gibela is a clean, beautiful with tons of atmosphere close to the ABSA stadium (and soon to be finished new Moses Mabhida Stadium). We felt at home from the minute we walk through the gate, it has a great backpacker feel with all the trimmings of a modern lodge. The staff are very friendly and with an “chilled” attitude that puts you in the holiday mood. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and always made up when we got back after a night out. I felt we got value for money and will certainly go back when visiting Durban again.. Good work

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyberKallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biberach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Good recommendation. Clean and comfortably. near to the city. Safe and nice.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richterherter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

I made a reservation for double room -
According to the webpage says
"Upstairs Bedroom 7 & 8
2 bathrooms with a shower, basin and toilet in each "

Thats is not true at all since the bathrom was shared for the whole storey. I spoke to the manager by phone and he didn't accept what the webpage says that. In my opinion in bad manners.

Apart from that, the staff is very helpful, especially Ciry who helped us and gave us a lot of tips of Durban.

Downstairs is somewhat noisy , since every night a group of 10 young people emptied the supermarket that was closeby to get hammered there.

The cleaningless is acceptable and relatively close to Florida rd with good restaurants

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carletes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibela, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2009
In our 6 years of existence we have never had en-suite rooms. I'm not clear on where or which site the guest saw that we offer en-suite rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrollton, texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2007

I stayed at this place for 3 nights. The host is extremely helpful, and always available to assist.
Location was excellent, well secured, good safe parking, close to main highways, close to Florida St for restaurants. A Spar grocery store is also nearby. The beach was a 5-7 minute drive.

The atmosphere in the location was relaxed.... people were nice and friendly, a lot of opportunities to socialize, but also space to do your own thing. The accommodations were adequate, also very clean. Breakfast was also good. I would strongly recommend this hostel, and if I came back to Durban, I would certainly consider staying here again

  • Liked — location, friendliness, courtesy
  • Disliked — can't define anything I did not like
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank odnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2007

It was the first backpacker in our life and now, after beeing in some others I can say, it was really the best! The rooms are very nice and useful decorated with ethnic décor throughout an there were really good beds! The "dining room" outside was very beautyful and there was all, what you need for a good breakfast. The bathroom was wonderful and just beside our room, so it was good even for (a little bit) old Ladies. The whole house was very clean! There were nice people, we met and I was glad over the internet possibility, where you can baz-bus things arrange and look for your e-mails. Elmar was very kind and told us all, we need, to go to different nice places, without any danger. We felt ourselves very safe in this backpacker. So we spend wonderful 3 days in Durban. Only for me personally it was only not so nice, that you may not smoke anywhere. But it was not so bad

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Estrelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibela Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Property: Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Address: 119 Ninth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gibela Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP CHOICE - Lonely Planet 2012 "If this hostel (a tastefully converted 1950's Tuscan home) were a B&B, it would be described as 'boutique'. One of Durban's best hostels, it has sparkling surfaces and rooms neat enough to pass an army major's inspection. It even provides a continental breakfast- to be enjoyed in an attractive indoor-outdoor dining area." Gibela is conveniently located in the safe, residential area of Morningside and within walking distance to the center of Durban’s entertainment life, Florida Road, where there are restaurants, cocktail bars, clubs and coffee shops galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Gibela Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing