We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Ranked #6 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Everything you need - clean, quiet, comfortable for a reasonable price

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Gibela Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

Gibela is a clean, beautiful with tons of atmosphere close to the ABSA stadium (and soon to be finished new Moses Mabhida Stadium). We felt at home from the minute we walk through the gate, it has a great backpacker feel with all the trimmings of a modern lodge. The staff are very friendly and with an “chilled” attitude that puts you in the holiday mood. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and always made up when we got back after a night out. I felt we got value for money and will certainly go back when visiting Durban again.. Good work

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyberKallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Good recommendation. Clean and comfortably. near to the city. Safe and nice.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richterherter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I made a reservation for double room -
According to the webpage says
"Upstairs Bedroom 7 & 8
2 bathrooms with a shower, basin and toilet in each "

Thats is not true at all since the bathrom was shared for the whole storey. I spoke to the manager by phone and he didn't accept what the webpage says that. In my opinion in bad manners.

Apart from that, the staff is very helpful, especially Ciry who helped us and gave us a lot of tips of Durban.

Downstairs is somewhat noisy , since every night a group of 10 young people emptied the supermarket that was closeby to get hammered there.

The cleaningless is acceptable and relatively close to Florida rd with good restaurants

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carletes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibela, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2009

In our 6 years of existence we have never had en-suite rooms. I'm not clear on where or which site the guest saw that we offer en-suite rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

I stayed at this place for 3 nights. The host is extremely helpful, and always available to assist.
Location was excellent, well secured, good safe parking, close to main highways, close to Florida St for restaurants. A Spar grocery store is also nearby. The beach was a 5-7 minute drive.

The atmosphere in the location was relaxed.... people were nice and friendly, a lot of opportunities to socialize, but also space to do your own thing. The accommodations were adequate, also very clean. Breakfast was also good. I would strongly recommend this hostel, and if I came back to Durban, I would certainly consider staying here again

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank odnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

It was the first backpacker in our life and now, after beeing in some others I can say, it was really the best! The rooms are very nice and useful decorated with ethnic décor throughout an there were really good beds! The "dining room" outside was very beautyful and there was all, what you need for a good breakfast. The bathroom was wonderful and just beside our room, so it was good even for (a little bit) old Ladies. The whole house was very clean! There were nice people, we met and I was glad over the internet possibility, where you can baz-bus things arrange and look for your e-mails. Elmar was very kind and told us all, we need, to go to different nice places, without any danger. We felt ourselves very safe in this backpacker. So we spend wonderful 3 days in Durban. Only for me personally it was only not so nice, that you may not smoke anywhere. But it was not so bad

Stayed: September 2007
Thank Estrelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2007

I had the pleasure to stop at the Gibela Backpackers Lodge during my solo backpacking trip to South Africa, and I have to admit it was one of the best places I stayed at. Clean, quiet, friendly and perfectly located to grab a bite or catch a bus. I have already recommended it!

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank Caribbsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,459 reviews
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 43 in Durban
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#6 of 43 in Durban
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibela Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Address: 119 Ninth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Price Range: $38 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gibela Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP CHOICE - Lonely Planet 2012 "If this hostel (a tastefully converted 1950's Tuscan home) were a B&B, it would be described as 'boutique'. One of Durban's best hostels, it has sparkling surfaces and rooms neat enough to pass an army major's inspection. It even provides a continental breakfast- to be enjoyed in an attractive indoor-outdoor dining area." Gibela is conveniently located in the safe, residential area of Morningside and within walking distance to the center of Durban’s entertainment life, Florida Road, where there are restaurants, cocktail bars, clubs and coffee shops galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Gibela Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing