We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Ranked #6 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I highly recommend Gibela Travellers Lodge. Friendly staff, excellent service, very clean and beautifully maintained, great breakfast included in the price of the room! I will definitely stay here again if I happen to come back to Durban.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Manager at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Morning - many thanx for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the GIBELA EXPERIENCE and that you appreciate the small extras that make a stay with us special. Looking forward to welcome you back to Gibela and share more on what's on offer in Durban.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Gibela Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at Gibela Lodge for 4 nights, with two friends in a private room. I absolutely loved it! It is a beautiful property and located in a very safe neighborhood. There is a wonderful breakfast in the morning and friendly people to share stories and advice with. I completely recommend this place, very clean and such a friendly owner who is always available to give advice. He even called the cheaper airport shuttle on our behalf and taxis when we needed them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelingjoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Many thanx for sharing your Gibela experience with fellow travellers.
We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us in Durban.
Live is all about give and take and not just take, take, take. What one put into life you will receive back and time and time again it shows with guests that take the time to "absorb" the Gibela surroundings and take the time to chat to fellow travellers. Not everyone is as fortunate to have the time to travel at a slower pace, but I have always said do less and in doing so explore, smell, taste the destination, get to feel the "gear of the system".
Happy travels and enjoy your time in South Africa!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A lovely hostel, with homely touches and beautiful courtyard. Very helpful and accomodating place to stay. Also has a lovely little shop with local crafts and handy guidebooks to peruse. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Great to see you made it back safe and sound in Malawi !! Thx for the positive review, It is always a pleasure to host guests on multiple night stays in Durban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Gibela Backpackers in Durban is a very pleasant & very safe. We had a twin room with shared bathroom here.
There was off street secure parking for our rental car. Breakfast was included in the room price.\
Everything was clean & there was a small kitchenette available.
A supermarket plus a blissful bakery & a great patisserie were just a block's walk away.
Very handy for the Botanical Gardens & the Stadium.
Good pool & lovely communal areas. Lindsay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsandjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

many thx for the review. It definitely show that those that spend multiple nights with us have a great experience. Definitely not a one night wonder stop over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

very clean, safe car-park, supermarket opposite the street,
very relaxed owner, breakfast okay, nice garden and pool, room for a family a bit small but okay for one night, Location is in a safe area of Durban

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thx for the feedback. We did offer you this room instead of 2 twin rooms you initially booked, this you accepted, For a one night stay this was ideal especially for the family who enjoyed being together and the communal facilities. I even remember the swimming lessons in the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

... but quite a provincial attitude with too many rules ("instruction labels" are situated all over the place and e.g. reminding the guest to clean up if "mummy" should not be around; consistent though that smokers have not even a chance to smoke outside). The administrator of the place welcomes new inmates with a cautionary, expeditious introduction re dos and dont's, go areas and no-go areas etc.

In view of the price of the location, cleanliness (dirt under the bed), sleep quality (no double bed offered for couple), rooms (small, no safe deposit box availabe) and service are below average. Rest is OK and reminding of better times.

Once a highly commended place, the lodge has apparently lost much of its atmosphere - or it was just a little depressing Durban winter. Good luck!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gilbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Welcome to Tripadvisor. It's a pity you didn't know about this before you booked us. From your review we can gather that you booked on our web-site. Not quite sure how you missed that we are a non-smoking propert - hence the fact you cant smoke here, Hopefully you will make use of this platform to better plan your future accommodation choices. As we cant link your tripadvisor profile to any of our recent stays we cant work out in which room you stayed, So as for the dirt under your bed Im unable to know in which room it was and if it was actually at Gibela. As a 2 review person you might actually get the feel that we not actually into the quick stop over business, It seems you are non resident working individual which is not our target market, We cater for travellers. But the more you use tripadvisor the wiser you will become.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Super clean!!!
Very safe!
Very quiet!
Very restful!
Very helpful staff!
Very close to the grocery store!
I love it !!!
I return to Gibela every year for exactly the reasons listed above.
Elmar and the staff are fantastic and make you feel like family. The complimentary breakfast is filling and the kitchen is great for cooking our own dinners at night.
The pool this year was a nice surprise and very helpful for post running recovery.
The beach, shops, Botanical garden and entertainment are all a short walk away in a great area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you VERY much.
Gibela is definitely a "the longer you stay - the better the experience" establishment.
To keep our returning clientele satisfied and ensuring their return we continuously stive to add new features - as in the swimming pool.
It's a clean cut deal by just looking at other reviews that we are not a suittable stop for "one night wonders".
Looking forward in seeing you back - climbing the ladder to that GREEN number !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,463 reviews
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#6 of 43 in Durban
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibela Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Address: 119 Ninth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Price Range: $38 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gibela Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP CHOICE - Lonely Planet 2012 "If this hostel (a tastefully converted 1950's Tuscan home) were a B&B, it would be described as 'boutique'. One of Durban's best hostels, it has sparkling surfaces and rooms neat enough to pass an army major's inspection. It even provides a continental breakfast- to be enjoyed in an attractive indoor-outdoor dining area." Gibela is conveniently located in the safe, residential area of Morningside and within walking distance to the center of Durban’s entertainment life, Florida Road, where there are restaurants, cocktail bars, clubs and coffee shops galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Gibela Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing