We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Ranked #6 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor customer service and hospitality”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The cancellation policy here is ridiculous and the wifi is very expensive and turns off at 8:30 at night. The staff is cold and not hospitable. Not worth staying at if you are just in town for a quick night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabrown1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
1) The cancellation policy is displayed to future guests when they make an online booking. In fact you have to accept / acknowledge it before the booking is confirmed - a lack of reading on behalf of the person who made the booking is not our fault - in this case your travel partner who made the booking and accepted the conditions on 06 June 2013 @ 20H25 should have understood the cancellation policy. If anything she should have discussed it with myself and not you.

2) WI-FI is free & we charge for the use of our computer as far as I can remember you worked on your own devise and didn't work on ours.

3) As we are a travellers lodge, 95% of our guests are here to experience and explore Durban. We don't really cater for the working person - which both you and your friend seem to have been. Our guest actually go out to meet real people rather than sitting glued to their computer screens. Our policy of closing Wi-Fi is accepted by our clientele and it's not very sustainable to leave it on for 10 hours without being used - we do actually think GREEN !!

4) With the limited time you spent at the lodge you will definitely not get to feel the warmth of the establishment and it's staff referred to in many of the other rave reviews below.

5) Well we not really into "quickies" as this usually leads to chaos on behalf of the traveller. Maybe if a bit more time is taken to read, plan and explore, your travel (working) experience will be more rewarding. Our average stay is 2 / 3 nights with many guests extending it if their time allows it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    58
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
41
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is always the place to go to when in Durban for a quick visit. We love the clean rooms, easy location, and nice staff. It is simple yet effective. You can get by here with a car (good parking inside) or without (close to downtown with a walk) as Florida St. and other neighborhoods are close.



  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JutWags7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Many thanx for taking the time to write the review. It is always good to see returning clientele as it somehow shows we doing something right. Our location is a great bonus close to all what travellers need and safe to walk day and night.
Looking forward to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My second stay, and I'll recommend this Backpacker. The pillows are too high. A little problem with the transportation to the city centre. All necessary informations and handouts are available. A very good house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Manfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Morning Manfred - many thanx for your review. If only you had asked, we would of have given you a lower pillow. Be sure to remember next time you come and stay to ask for one. Transport to the city should have been easy as we are on two inner bus routes. I do admit that over weekends things do slow down a bit as the city is more of a business hub rather then an entertainment centre so not so many people trekking to the centre.
Hope to see you back for No 3 next year !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Good location close to lots of very good (and well priced) restaurants. Owner took time to give advice regarding city and safety when walking. Room immaculate and facilities very good for price.

Breakfast nice added bonus- fresh fruit daily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Greetings from Durban. Many thx for adding your review to Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Durban and that the time and effort we make to explain the hidden treasures about Durban was appreciated. Hope to welcome you back one day !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

After driving 8000 km exploring South Africa I lucked out finding Gibela Backpackers by chance. I stayed in many different places throughout may travels and this was a great place to chill out to spend the last month out of 4 to relax and explore Durban. Elmer was very helpful in every way and runs his place with great passion and it shows: spotless and very artsy decorated which makes it warm and cozy. There are great restaurants in walking distance and a grocery story with great take-out food. Well organized kitchen to cook your own. Durban has so much to offer and miles of a wonderful beach promenade to walk or bike. After a full day of sightseeing a quiet lodge in a quiet neighborhood is a wonderful treat. Yet there is lots of evening action within safe walking distance. I stayed a whole month and met some young doctors and nurses working in villages staying at Gibela's regularly to have some fun in Durban town. Great place, Elmer, thanks! Barbara from Canada

Room Tip: I stayed in the sunny dorm with big window overlooking all. During the week there were only two gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trustthew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello
Many thanx for the review and the kind words. Yup you really got to see a real spectrum of Gibela clients and especially the returning ones that have visited Gibela on various occasions. It's rewarding to hear that what we have created and on goingly trying to create is appreciated and valued by our guests. Our location is a great bonus restaurants, post office, supermarket, laundry, bus routes all in close walking distance. Our "quietness" and "peacefulness" is a great selling point. The party can be found in Florida Road only 5 min walk away but we try and secure a peaceful nights sleep. After you many many miles covering southern Africa it must be good to be back home - kick back feet up and hopefully you can get a good bottle of South African red wine in Canada to remind you of your journey !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hostel is very pleasant and quiet probably helped by the fact there is no bar. I liked very much the garden and pool.
The service was excellent and the owner was always on hand to answer queries and help.
Place is kept spotless by the staff.
The room I stayed in was reasonable but a little on the small side for the length of our stay (6 nights). Also the ceiling fan was not working that well so the room was very warm in the evenings, though I should probably have kept curtains open in the evening.
The hostel is in a good quiet location near a supermarket, cafes and restaurants and very quiet but it is not that easy to get to the beach. The walk to the beach is along a busy main road and takes about 25- 30 minutes and I am not aware of any public transport going there.



  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibela, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Many thanx for taking the the time to write a review.
Yes February is the hottest month and this year even more so - real killer tempretures - at least you made use of our newly installed pool to cool down.
Thanx for mentioning the ceiling fan - we have sorted it out - someone previously changed the setting on the actual fan and the wind flow direction was on the wrong setting. If I had know it during your stay I would have sorted it out.
Even though we do offer drinks for sale we are definately not a party hostel, but that is also thanx to our clientele that keep the establishment calm and quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had to book into Gibela after being let down at the last minute by Nomads just down the road. We landed on our feet! Gibela is a fantastic backpackers. It is super clean and secure, with really nice rooms that have been tastefully decorated. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babarpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. it was great having your group stay with us and were very pleased that we could assist at the last minute. Hope the group enjoyed the stay and even more importantly Durban - do remember that the restaurant meals were memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,393 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 43 in Durban
82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
1.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#16 of 43 in Durban
132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibela Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Property: Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Address: 119 Ninth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gibela Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP CHOICE - Lonely Planet 2012 "If this hostel (a tastefully converted 1950's Tuscan home) were a B&B, it would be described as 'boutique'. One of Durban's best hostels, it has sparkling surfaces and rooms neat enough to pass an army major's inspection. It even provides a continental breakfast- to be enjoyed in an attractive indoor-outdoor dining area." Gibela is conveniently located in the safe, residential area of Morningside and within walking distance to the center of Durban’s entertainment life, Florida Road, where there are restaurants, cocktail bars, clubs and coffee shops galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Gibela Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing