We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gibela” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Ranked #7 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gibela”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hostel is very pleasant and quiet probably helped by the fact there is no bar. I liked very much the garden and pool.
The service was excellent and the owner was always on hand to answer queries and help.
Place is kept spotless by the staff.
The room I stayed in was reasonable but a little on the small side for the length of our stay (6 nights). Also the ceiling fan was not working that well so the room was very warm in the evenings, though I should probably have kept curtains open in the evening.
The hostel is in a good quiet location near a supermarket, cafes and restaurants and very quiet but it is not that easy to get to the beach. The walk to the beach is along a busy main road and takes about 25- 30 minutes and I am not aware of any public transport going there.



  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibela, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Many thanx for taking the the time to write a review.
Yes February is the hottest month and this year even more so - real killer tempretures - at least you made use of our newly installed pool to cool down.
Thanx for mentioning the ceiling fan - we have sorted it out - someone previously changed the setting on the actual fan and the wind flow direction was on the wrong setting. If I had know it during your stay I would have sorted it out.
Even though we do offer drinks for sale we are definately not a party hostel, but that is also thanx to our clientele that keep the establishment calm and quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    57
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
41
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had to book into Gibela after being let down at the last minute by Nomads just down the road. We landed on our feet! Gibela is a fantastic backpackers. It is super clean and secure, with really nice rooms that have been tastefully decorated. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babarpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. it was great having your group stay with us and were very pleased that we could assist at the last minute. Hope the group enjoyed the stay and even more importantly Durban - do remember that the restaurant meals were memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
308 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I only stayed here for one night on my way back to Joburg, but it seemed like a really cool place, complete with a pool and average continental breakfast. It's far from city center, but that is a plus for me. And it is a Baz Bus stop, so convenient for those using that to get around South Africa. I lucked out and ended having a whole dorm room to myself. Bathroom, room, common areas were great. There is a little shop in the reception area where you can buy trinkets and stuff. It's overpriced, bt it's convenient if you have no other options. Wish I had more time to really enjoy them, but the little I saw was enough to make me recommend it. A bit pricey, but it is well secure and you can't put a dollar amount on peace of mind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibela, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanx for your review.
The city by foot is a bit of a trek - about 45 min walk, but being on two inner city bus routes and a mini-bus taxi route the city is a quick 7 - 10 min drive away. Alternatively the 25 min walk to the beach connects you with the Peoplemover bus that covers all the major city attractions, museums and attractions. A one night stop in Durban does make covering all the to do and see spots a bit tricky.
Our rates is a reflection of all the positive points you mentioned - breakfast included, pool and the great bathrooms and common areas.
The items in our craft shop is of a high standard and some made by respected craft people - these items are labour intensive and of export quality, not something you see on every street corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed for 5 day when I arrived in Durban. Lovely place. Very clean. Friendly staff. Quiet at night and very secure. Close to Florida Rd (2 min walk) which is got loads of places to eat/ drink. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Many thanx for your review and great write-up.
Our location is a great sales point. Being close to Florida Road restaurants, cafe's and bars. Walking distance to supermarket, laundramata and bus routes makes live easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I visited Gibela Backpackers Lodge for four nights over Christmas with two friends. It was ideal for our requirements - basic, affordable accomodation yet clean, bright and in very pleasant surroundings. The communal area is comfortable with sofas and chairs by the pool, and the rooms were small but adequate, and spotlessly clean. The only slight issue we had was that it was hot during our stay, and even with the ceiling fans on in the rooms, it was still very warm at night and therefore it wasn't overly comfortable (despite a comfy bed). In addition to the pool, the hostel has a kitchen for the use of guests, and also a barbecue - which we used on Christmas Day!

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the owner, Elmar, who gave us a no-nonsense run-down of pretty much everything we needed to know about the place and the local area (where to go and where not to go). The hostel is located in a very nice district, with plenty of amenities within walking distance. There is a Spar supermarket nearby and there are numerous restaurants and bars on Florida Road (a 5 minute walk). The surrounding area is perfectly safe to walk - even at night. It is about a 25 minute walk to the sea front, and the route is again safe to walk.

Elmar was extremely helpful with any questions we had, and is the font of all knowledge with regards to Durban and beyond. I would highly recommend Gibela for anyone who wants a base in a nice district of Durban, not too far from the beaches, and isn't fussed about 5 star treatment. Yes, it is 'basic' accommodation but the cleanliness, the location and the price (in comparison to other forms of accommodation in Durban) are the key points with Gibela.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great hostel--it has almost a boutique hotel feel to it. The owner runs a tight ship and the place is sparkling. He is also a great source of no BS travel advice. Attracts a very chill crowd. Returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aleks R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's definitely not a party hostel, but the Gibela has a lot offer. The place is probably the cleanest hostel we've stayed at in South Africa. Elmar, the owner, knows pretty much everything about Durban/South Africa. They have a clean pool, a well-equipped kitchen and some nice areas to hang out in the front of the house and at the back. They even have a little handicraft shop, where they sell stuff that is still better (and cheaper) than the things they "force" you to buy on the tours. Besides, the hostel is located in the best area in Durban, close to Florida road, so you can even walk from/to the hostel at night.
It would be nice to have free wifi, but to be fair, between Joburg and Durban only very few hostel offer free wifi. You'll find it more often on the Garden Route.
Would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibela Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Property: Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Address: 119 Ninth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gibela Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP CHOICE - Lonely Planet 2012 "If this hostel (a tastefully converted 1950's Tuscan home) were a B&B, it would be described as 'boutique'. One of Durban's best hostels, it has sparkling surfaces and rooms neat enough to pass an army major's inspection. It even provides a continental breakfast- to be enjoyed in an attractive indoor-outdoor dining area." Gibela is conveniently located in the safe, residential area of Morningside and within walking distance to the center of Durban’s entertainment life, Florida Road, where there are restaurants, cocktail bars, clubs and coffee shops galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Gibela Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing