We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Durban”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Ranked #7 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed for 5 day when I arrived in Durban. Lovely place. Very clean. Friendly staff. Quiet at night and very secure. Close to Florida Rd (2 min walk) which is got loads of places to eat/ drink. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmar Gibela Ow... T, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Many thanx for your review and great write-up.
Our location is a great sales point. Being close to Florida Road restaurants, cafe's and bars. Walking distance to supermarket, laundramata and bus routes makes live easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 163 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

I visited Gibela Backpackers Lodge for four nights over Christmas with two friends. It was ideal for our requirements - basic, affordable accomodation yet clean, bright and in very pleasant surroundings. The communal area is comfortable with sofas and chairs by the pool, and the rooms were small but adequate, and spotlessly clean. The only slight issue we had was that it was hot during our stay, and even with the ceiling fans on in the rooms, it was still very warm at night and therefore it wasn't overly comfortable (despite a comfy bed). In addition to the pool, the hostel has a kitchen for the use of guests, and also a barbecue - which we used on Christmas Day!

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the owner, Elmar, who gave us a no-nonsense run-down of pretty much everything we needed to know about the place and the local area (where to go and where not to go). The hostel is located in a very nice district, with plenty of amenities within walking distance. There is a Spar supermarket nearby and there are numerous restaurants and bars on Florida Road (a 5 minute walk). The surrounding area is perfectly safe to walk - even at night. It is about a 25 minute walk to the sea front, and the route is again safe to walk.

Elmar was extremely helpful with any questions we had, and is the font of all knowledge with regards to Durban and beyond. I would highly recommend Gibela for anyone who wants a base in a nice district of Durban, not too far from the beaches, and isn't fussed about 5 star treatment. Yes, it is 'basic' accommodation but the cleanliness, the location and the price (in comparison to other forms of accommodation in Durban) are the key points with Gibela.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great hostel--it has almost a boutique hotel feel to it. The owner runs a tight ship and the place is sparkling. He is also a great source of no BS travel advice. Attracts a very chill crowd. Returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aleks R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's definitely not a party hostel, but the Gibela has a lot offer. The place is probably the cleanest hostel we've stayed at in South Africa. Elmar, the owner, knows pretty much everything about Durban/South Africa. They have a clean pool, a well-equipped kitchen and some nice areas to hang out in the front of the house and at the back. They even have a little handicraft shop, where they sell stuff that is still better (and cheaper) than the things they "force" you to buy on the tours. Besides, the hostel is located in the best area in Durban, close to Florida road, so you can even walk from/to the hostel at night.
It would be nice to have free wifi, but to be fair, between Joburg and Durban only very few hostel offer free wifi. You'll find it more often on the Garden Route.
Would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The place is well protected and placed in a cozy area. You can walk around, even at night and visit some nice restaurants and bars that are located nearby. It is a good hangout, an opern area, and the owner is very friendly and will help you with your stay and trip. The rooms are realy clean btw.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Gibela is definitely safe and clean. the rooms are simple but you are only there to sleep. the bathrooms were very clean with hot water. Elmar is a bit intense and at times can be extremely rude to his guests. Even though he was not rude to us (we simply wouldn't let him be) we did witness some very abrupt, unfriendly behaviour towards other guests during breakfast. Our friends had accommodation down the road from us and each time they called to collect us Elmar was rude and made it very plain he just couldn't be bothered answering them and wished they would just go away. Quite frankly I think he was glad we took off each day after breakfast and didn't come back til late at night.

the thing that worried us was the number of keys needed (3) just to get into our room and what would happen if there was a fire. We could not find anyway to be able to exit the building quickly if the worse happened as we were tripled locked in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigglesandsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We felt Gibela was excellent.
Service: The hosts were helpful and offered suggestions for tours, etc.
Location: Near a nice restaurant strip, grocery stores, malls. In possibly the safest part of Durban.
Accomodations: Room was nothing fancy, but certainly adequate. Lots of common areas. Washrooms were clean.
Overall we had a really good stay at Gibela.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibela, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hello Adam
Many thanx for your positive feedback.
We are fortunate with our location and that everything is in easy walking distance.
Any idea or suggestion in how we could make the rooms more "value for money", would be highly appreciated.
Travellers are the best source for ideas and suggestions. Through trial and error we offer what works best for us, but its you the travellers, with the experience that picks up on the smaller things. Hopefully we can add abit more before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
96 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
632 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibela Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Address: 119 Ninth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Price Range: $50 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gibela Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP CHOICE - Lonely Planet 2012 "If this hostel (a tastefully converted 1950's Tuscan home) were a B&B, it would be described as 'boutique'. One of Durban's best hostels, it has sparkling surfaces and rooms neat enough to pass an army major's inspection. It even provides a continental breakfast- to be enjoyed in an attractive indoor-outdoor dining area." Gibela is conveniently located in the safe, residential area of Morningside and within walking distance to the center of Durban’s entertainment life, Florida Road, where there are restaurants, cocktail bars, clubs and coffee shops galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Gibela Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing