We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a class of its own..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Ranked #1 of 258 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed for about 3 days in Durban. Loved goble palms, the room, the staff, and the whole experience was memorable.The rooms were luxurious and had amazing decor. The breakfast was also very good., have to compliment Vincent and other staff for being so very helpful all the time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kngopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 376 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

My daughter and I spent 10 very happy days at Goble Palms, which is stylish and comfortable. In a gracious part of Durban, near the beach and plenty of local restaurants. Lionel and Leanne are great hosts and the service is excellent, particularly Goodman and Vincent. Delicious breakfasts. Lock up garages. Pleasant touches such as swimming towels, complimentary Baileys on arrival, chocolates on Valentines Day, honesty pub open all hours, take away collection service from local restaurants, big fridge available for guests' use. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 20 big, close to the top deck and jacuzzi, with lovely view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My friend and I were in South Africa in February.
We had our first stop in Durban.

The Goble Palms is a very nice and - to me - very stylish Guest Lodge.
It has different - I would say - floors:
You find an English styled Pub, a colonial roof terrace with views of Durban and the Indian Ocean and a pool.
The individual rooms are very beautiful and equipped in different colors and furnutures.
Our bathroom was equipped with an old bathtub and a spacious shower.

Smokers can use the little patio next to the room, which is planted pretty.

The big bed was very comfortable.

We had our English breakfast on the terrace - it was beautiful.
It was so nice to sit on the terrace in the evening with a glass of wine.

The host is unobtrusive, but the day, we wanted to leave, he asked us about our plans. So we told him. He gave us very good advice and in addition a map - thanks a lot again.

The stuff was very friendly and helpful.

Resume: Very recommendable !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Loved this lodge. The owner/manager was very informative and pleasant to visit with! The grounds are impeccable! The service was fantastic and the one that impressed us the most was Goodman! The room was very comfortable but the internet could be better! The parking in the garage was difficult but overall GREAT!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanTropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Goolam D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I couldn't face staying at the congress venue aka any generic hotel. I've stayed at Goble before and was very impressed. Nothing has changed. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and the service is sublime. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the bay is lovely.
There is good security and the lodge is well located with respect to the major hotels on the beachfront.
A great weekend.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived at Goble Palms after a very long flight from the UK.We received a lovely welcome and were immediately bowled over by the wonderful colonial feel of this unique guest house.We were able to base ourselves here for our three week trip.We were so amazingly looked after.They organised our transfers ,kept our luggage and did all our laundry.Nothing was ever too much trouble.Our rooms each time were just beautiful with wonderful antiques,magazines and cosy bathrobes too.So many complimentary touches from decanters of sherry,coffee at any time of the day and a wonderful pub downstairs .Leanes wonderful eye for interior design coupled with Lionel's gentle charm are an excellent combination.Their fantastic staff many of whom have been with them for years were simply a true credit to them. Vincent and Goodman especially went that extra mile for us as did the lovely night watchmen who greeted us back after many of the wonderful meals out we had .There is a massive choice of lovely local restaurants to suit all palates and pockets and reservations and taxis ordered were all in a days duty.Breakfast was served on the terrace with beautifully laundered white linen.The choice on offer was great and everything cooked individually to order..A huge thank you from us both for helping make our trip so very special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and all lovely.our favourite was number2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 743HenriettaDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,528 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
6.7 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Westville
255 reviews
2.2 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat

Address: 120 Goble Rd | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $74 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming blend of tradition, elegance and style awaits in the gracious surroundings of Goble Palms, a beautiful Edwardian Lodge set high up on the ridge, overlooking the sea. Air-conditioned bedrooms are luxuriously decorated with comforts to pamper. Sumptuous breakfasts in the elegant dining room or on the patio at the pool. Close to city, ICC, golf,sports stadiums,beaches and restaurants. WiFi. Parking. TGCSA 5-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing