We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Ranked #1 of 267 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Loved this lodge. The owner/manager was very informative and pleasant to visit with! The grounds are impeccable! The service was fantastic and the one that impressed us the most was Goodman! The room was very comfortable but the internet could be better! The parking in the garage was difficult but overall GREAT!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanTropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 384 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Goolam D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I couldn't face staying at the congress venue aka any generic hotel. I've stayed at Goble before and was very impressed. Nothing has changed. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and the service is sublime. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the bay is lovely.
There is good security and the lodge is well located with respect to the major hotels on the beachfront.
A great weekend.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived at Goble Palms after a very long flight from the UK.We received a lovely welcome and were immediately bowled over by the wonderful colonial feel of this unique guest house.We were able to base ourselves here for our three week trip.We were so amazingly looked after.They organised our transfers ,kept our luggage and did all our laundry.Nothing was ever too much trouble.Our rooms each time were just beautiful with wonderful antiques,magazines and cosy bathrobes too.So many complimentary touches from decanters of sherry,coffee at any time of the day and a wonderful pub downstairs .Leanes wonderful eye for interior design coupled with Lionel's gentle charm are an excellent combination.Their fantastic staff many of whom have been with them for years were simply a true credit to them. Vincent and Goodman especially went that extra mile for us as did the lovely night watchmen who greeted us back after many of the wonderful meals out we had .There is a massive choice of lovely local restaurants to suit all palates and pockets and reservations and taxis ordered were all in a days duty.Breakfast was served on the terrace with beautifully laundered white linen.The choice on offer was great and everything cooked individually to order..A huge thank you from us both for helping make our trip so very special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and all lovely.our favourite was number2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 743HenriettaDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I am generally quite conservative about my praise, however in this case with Goble Palms it is fully justified.

Me and my family stayed twice across our trip to Durban the quality and friendliness of the service is first rate.

The rooms and breakfasts are very well done and the colonial decor fits with the atmos really well. Lionel is a very good host extremely helpful and a pleasure to chat with and went out of the way to help us out one more than one occasion. The later involved arranging and even collecting medicine for me. Truly above and beyond.

Unless you catch it on a really off day which frankly I cannot see happening you are in for a great stay with a great setting with top class service. One of the most pleasant stays we have had anywhere!

A+

Stayed: October 2013
Thank ScottJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was very disappointed when arrived to Goble Palms. They were apparently understaffed and the check in was running after staff. Finally
We were taken to a room, which was stinking with sewage, this apparently happens after rain. We exchanged for one next door where it was less obvious, however, still the rooms are quite smelly like you come to a old lady ' home. We found one of the huge worms in the corner behind the door, scary! The room was small which we knew we booked, bed was tiny to fit in 2 normal people but ok.... The insect spray in the wardrobe indicated some issues and also mosquito stains on the ceiling indicated someone before us already had a battle. The bathroom was dated with mould on walls and corners. The shower is static so I ended up washing my hair every day as there was no choice. On second day we were only supplied one towel. The facilities in the room: insect spray and one grubby hair dryer that's it. No fridge, no free water. You do get some type of alcohol and biscuits which are not in a cover so god knows....
Breakfast was average, we don't eat pork so was offered English breakfast with all without bacon and sausage so egg and beans essentially, mushrooms and tomatoes, next day we didn't bother. The selection is quite poor, at least to 5* standards.
The location is fine, you do come to the bb through some grotty places but the higher you go the better it gets. The grounds are quite nice and a garden but needs some TLC. The owner seemed grumpy all the time, never approached us. The staff is good, he should be grateful for them. I would not stay again but if you expectations are for a 3* then go. It has secure parking.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Coural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goblepalms, Owner at Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

We really regret that you were disappointed with your stay at Goble Palms. We thank you for your valued feedback, as we address all issues in order to improve.

As Durban experiences a humid climate in Summer we do provide insect spray and plug-in units for the comfort of our guests.

Our tea-trays are well stocked and include our popular home-baked biscuits. We do provide several toileteries and amenities in each room. I apologize if any were over-looked in your room and have followed up on this and all your concerns. Once again, we extend our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights at this guest house. Friendly staff and a convenient location for restaurants and the beach front. Good breakfast, comfortable room. All in all a good great place to stay in Durban.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnRadcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,571 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Edward
1.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#12 of 44 in Durban
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
6.7 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Westville
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat

Address: 120 Goble Rd | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $79 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming blend of tradition, elegance and style awaits in the gracious surroundings of Goble Palms, a beautiful Edwardian Lodge set high up on the ridge, overlooking the sea. Air-conditioned bedrooms are luxuriously decorated with comforts to pamper. Sumptuous breakfasts in the elegant dining room or on the patio at the pool. Close to city, ICC, golf,sports stadiums,beaches and restaurants. WiFi. Parking. TGCSA 5-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing