We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Ranked #1 of 249 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“excellent!”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Goble Palms is a great place to stay, offering excellent and friendly service from the staff, great value, very good location and great comfort.

The rooms and lounge areas are beautifully furnished and the overall feel is that of charm and class.

I will be back and have highly recommended this lodge to my company for all our staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank challin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    73
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
56
136
30
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Unbelievable service. Lionel, Goodman, and their staff really know how to pamper their guests. Great experience. It's definitely my favorite place to stay in Durban.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

really enjoyed my stay here while attending a conference. service and accommodation top notch! thanks lionel for your advice and restaurant recommendations. Love the honesty bar!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Goble Palms' rooms are luxurious, very comfortable. We were greeted warmly on arrival and are check in was efficient, professional and friendly. In my opinion it is the best Guest House in Durban. It is conveniently located with superb views of the city of Durban and the sea. The breakfast is delicious! You have complimentary swiss chocolates in the evening in your room, you can have complimentary sherry at anytime. Goble Palms has a fully stocked bar, snacks also provided. Goble Palms has such a comfortable air about, the bedrooms are luxurious, the lounges very comfortable but yet you feel as comfortable and relaxed as you would in your own home. Can't wait to stay at Goble Palms again and I will be recommending it to all my friends. Lionel and Leanne really run their Guest House superbly and this is also reflected in the staff who are efficient, very friendly, honest, hardworking and very happy in their work, many of the staff have been at Goble Palms for several years.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bindi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I travel frequently on business - locally and internationally and can honestly say that Goble Palms is the best guest house that I have ever stayed at. I have a check list of: Comfort, convenience, privacy, amenities and safety. Goble Palms meets all of these with outstanding ratings. The guest house is beautifully appointed and the rooms are stunning with each individually decorated in an old charm that is both cozy and luxurious. I feel extremely comfortable conducting meetings in one of their many private lounges and offer my guests tea which is brought on a tray with silver teapot and sugar bowl and jug, fine bone china and home made biscuits. The owners - Lionel and Leanne and their staff have amazing attention to detail and make their guests feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are fabulous and cooked to perfection and these are enjoyed with the most wonderful sea view and special attention from Lionel, Vincent and staff.
An added bonus is safe off street on site parking, so your security is never compromised.
Their is also staff on duty 24 hours.
I entertain many clients and the buzz of Florida Road restaurants is conveniently close by, as is the new stadium. If you don't feel like going out, you can order takein and enjoy it around the pool and have a drink from the well stocked honesty bar.

The best part for me is that it feels like I am staying with old friends that make me feel so welcome. The cost of staying is half the price of any of the hotel groups prices and Goble Palms deserves the 5 star rating that they have!

Room Tip: Room 4 is amazing - four poster king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LornaBrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

my wife and i stayed here for a few days in may. from arriving to leaving we received an excellent service. nothing was too much trouble and we had a wonderful stop. i would recommend this guest house to anyone. if in the future we were in durban i would not hesitate to stop here. leanne and lionel were so kind and are well worthy of this review.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazhalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Having spent just one night here, we may not have had a chance to develop sufficient affinity with Goble Palms in the same way as others seem to have done before us. Our room was satisfactory - everything we needed, everything working, nicely appointed. The breakfast was good, although not special. We found Vincent particularly helpful and anxious to make sure we were comfortable and happy. There are drawbacks though - the extraordinary R50 per hour internet charge (- waived by the owner when we complained and pointed out that all we needed to do was quickly check emails), the fragmented nature of the establishment requiring lots of upstairs/downstairs, the cramped parking area. Not sure whether we'd return or try to find somewhere else in the vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.3 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.0 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
2.2 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat

Property: Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Address: 120 Goble Rd | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming blend of tradition, elegance and style awaits in the gracious surroundings of Goble Palms, a beautiful Edwardian Lodge set high up on the ridge, overlooking the sea. Air-conditioned bedrooms are luxuriously decorated with comforts to pamper. Sumptuous breakfasts in the elegant dining room or on the patio at the pool. Close to city, ICC, golf,sports stadiums,beaches and restaurants. WiFi. Parking. TGCSA 5-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing