We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant for business travelers only”
Review of Bon Ami On Ninth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bon Ami On Ninth
Ranked #105 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2013

As a regular traveler, both on business and with my spouse, I like to help other travelers differentiate between romantic and business get aways. Bon Ami is a large establishment that is best suited to the exec who is in Durban for a week at a time. I would not recommend it to a couple on holiday looking for r&r.

Pro's:
Location, clean rooms, honesty bar (closes at midnight)

Con's:
Dining area is one large table - you feel like you're at a canteen.
Staff take their morning tea in the common area's.
The resident cats have their food bowels placed all over the property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenWarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Bon Ami On Ninth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good location to Florida Road with a wide range of bars and restaurants to choose from.
Rooms were clean Breakfast was nice and there is also a small bar with satellite tv with sports channels, no negitive points to mention.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl-c63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Just left bon ami after a great breakfast. Pictures were most definitely not deceiving. Classy clean place . Just what anyone would want. Very happy. Staff so generous. Thanks again.
Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynChenDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

An excellent B&B located in one of the finest places.... Florida road... 9th avenue... with best in class amenities.... Stayed there for a month on a business trip... The staff was very welcoming and courteous.... Cindy and Siya were very helpful and accommodating.... The place though located on 9th avenue near florida (one of the happening places in Durbz) is pretty calm and quiet and has a pool side bar... if in case u don't want to be confused by the huge choice of pubs and restaurants on Florida.....
Thanks a lot guys... will visit soon :)

Room Tip: Preferably take the rooms in the main building on the 1st floor :)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohanThomasJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent almost a month here on a business trip, saw mixed reviews so was apprehensive in the beginning. It’s perfectly located next to Florida road, close to a load of good restaurant’s all within a short walk, you’ll be spoilt for choice.

The staff was courteous and welcoming, while the host Cindy makes sure she maintains a homely atmosphere, always trying to be helpful and accommodating every request no matter how small. I would say this making all the difference.Rooms some are great, while some need to be refurbished.

Would say its a safe place to be in durban.

Room Tip: Take the rooms away from the gate, can be noisy at times.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Brilliant service by CIndy.
She went over and beyond to help me and my family with all our extra requirements and screaming baby.
Will definitely return.
Great location.
Nice peaceful pool side bar.
Safe and secure parking as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kperrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We do quite a bit of business in Durban and stay at Bon Ami on a regular basis. Everyone is professional and friendly and willing to go the extra mile. I have yet to have a bad day's stay.

It is well located with restaurants, pubs and a shopping centre a few minutes walk away, yet is far enough away to be able to get a good night's sleep.

Thanks guys. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JuniorWarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#6 of 43 in Durban
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
Madeline Grove Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Ami On Ninth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ami On Ninth

Address: 208 9th Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $82 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing