We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Views....service however”
Review of Suncoast Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suncoast Towers
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2007

I checked into the SunCoast hotel for a weekend away, even though I stay in Durban. A lovely lady named Palvie checked me in, she was the star throughout the stay.
The hotel actually has two sections to it. The hotel, which is four star and the Towers which is five star. I was booked into the Towers, which has its own private lounge for check in. Almost like a airline business class lounge with free drinks during certain hours, private breakfast areas etc..
I was lucky enough to be in a Junior Suite, which is a large spacious room with open plan yet separate sleeping/lounge areas. The bathroom is large, his and hers basins, separate shower, huge bath and my most favourite, Molton Brown toiletries. A large LCD tv with DVD player was also in the room, curtains are ultra block out. It is so dark in the mornings even though the sun is out. Lovely to snooze in.

My only criticisms are regarding Food & Beverage departments. Firstly Room Service failed to impress on two occasions. I had ordered soft drinks, with ice separate. The waiter arrives with a tray and two cans of the soda on. Okay I thought. Later, I ordered a bottle of sparkling wine, the same waiter arrives at my door, this time with no tray, just a bottle and two glasses in his hand. Might seem petty, but they claim to be a five star hotel, surely these are basic things to adhere to?

The hotel (four star) rooms are quite small, with open plan bathroom right near your bed. Actually only a shower is provided for the hotel rooms.

My suggestion, pay a little more for the upgrade to the Towers. The rooms are really worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbnguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 480 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zur Seeseite haben einen tollen Ausblick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gezgin-KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kann ich sehr empfehlen !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gourmetundhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank R62GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stmoritz2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncoastManagement, Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
Thank michele n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncoastManagement, Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 44 in Durban
638 reviews
1.3 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Towers

Address: 20 Battery Beach Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $123 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Suncoast Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pulse of Durban’s Golden Mile, the SunCoast Hotel and Towers offers everything a discerning traveller could need: beach views, a casino, excellent service and every modern convenience possible. Unwind on the private pool deck, get a facial at the spa or enjoy a private meal overlooking in the ocean in a luxurious room. This contemporary hotel is Durban’ s ideal getaway spot for all types of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Suncoast Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing