We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise”
Review of Suncoast Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suncoast Towers
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Casino resort hotels are not normally high on my list of accommodation choices, but when I was unable to find accommodation at my normal hotel in Durban, I thought I would give it a go. Even though I was just looking for a bed, having driven down to Durban on my Harley and without my wife, I was pleasantly surprised. I found the reception to be warm and accommodating and within no time they had secured a standard room with a sea view for the night. The next morning, I intended to move on, but decided that I had enjoyed the night and I might as well stay another day. No standard rooms were available, except a smoking room which I politely declined. At this point the GM overheard the discussion and upgraded me to a fantastic Junior Suite. The location is superb and afforded me direct access to one of the best boardwalks in the world!

As I said, not my normal choice for a hotel, but this one surprised.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    130
    57
    24
    20
See reviews for
87
144
26
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

As a frequent traveller to more third world towns and cities, one expects service levels at one of Africa's best cities to be top notch. Unfortunately, this is not the case. Whether friendly service is a favour to staff, as opposed to a standard expectation I am not sure - one thing which is for certain though is that this falls way below expectation and certainly does the brand no favours. The in-room complimentary beverages were absent and the general feel was below standard. Certainly ranks lower for service than most hotels in other challenging parts of Africa.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am sorry to hear that the levels of service did not meet your requirements.

I can assure you that we strive to provide our guests with the best possible service.

Your comments have been shared with the team and I trust that we will be able to meet your requirements on your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed in a Suite on 8th floor and was bowled over by the views, comfort, little extras, luxury and size. This hotel is in an excellent location and you feel like you at a Resort. The staffs' friendly smiles were evident throughout and they made me feel special and attended to my requirements so very well. The food is varied and top notch and I have stayed at many other places in Durban to make a fair comparison. Everything felt sublime and effortless. One big negative:- I did not want to go anywhere at all, just wanted to stay in the luxury and comfort of my suite and the Hotel. Highly recommended - will encourage clients, friends etc to experience this awesome Hotel. make a booking now and go!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your wonderfull review following your recent stay with us at Suncoast Hotels.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the exceptional service and friendliness of the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy another memorable stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Lack of attention to detail. No through the line provision of customer service. Cleanliness standards in the room problematic, fresh beverage stock absent. Lack of facility communciation. Very small room

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anita8303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the feedback provided.

We have addressed your concerns regarding the standards of cleanliness of your room and know that your constructive criticism enables us to grow and provide consistent good service.

May I please ask that you visit our website to learn more about all the room types we have on offer.

Looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were there for our birthdays. FANTASTIC. We will always going back. We love Durban.The hotel was exelent. Very clean., Smells very good. Personall friendly and helpfull. So keep up the GOOD work please.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank hesterbritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guests

Great to hear that you had a FANTASTIC time with us and that we could provide you with good memories on a special occasion!

We also appreciate the positive feedback on the staff attitude and good service.

I look forward welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I always try and stay at Suncoast Towers when visiting Durban and reserve the junior suite as the experience is second to none. The room and the views are brilliant and leaves a very pleasant memory.

The service and hospitality is par excellence and the breakfast is really good. The week dinner - Jeera is great and is a must try.

I always enjoy my stay at Suncoast Towers and would gladly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: junior suite - all are sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am delighted that you have pleasant memories of your stay and that you experienced excellent service.

I look forward welcoming you back at Suncoast Hotels.

Kind Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

everything was awesome, staff friendly, cleaners were efficient, rooms are amazing, well done to suncoast casino hotel. I will refer suncoast hotel to all friends and family, the rates for the special was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank MervinNaidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuncoastManagement, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am glad to hear that you found everything to be awsome and thanks for mentioning the friendly staff.

We hope to see you back at Suncoast Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Adrian Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Towers

Property: Suncoast Towers
Address: 20 Battery Beach Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Suncoast Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pulse of Durban’s Golden Mile, the SunCoast Hotel and Towers offers everything a discerning traveller could need: beach views, a casino, excellent service and every modern convenience possible. Unwind on the private pool deck, get a facial at the spa or enjoy a private meal overlooking in the ocean in a luxurious room. This contemporary hotel is Durban’ s ideal getaway spot for all types of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncoast Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing