We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious comfort”
Review of Suncoast Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Suncoast Towers
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Luxurious comfort”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Next to Sun Coast Casino, loads of restaurants, the soccer stadium and right on the promenade.
Great service, luxurious rooms, comfy bed in which you can dissappear in.
The restaurant is overprised in terms of drinks, but the food is divine.

Room Tip: If staying in one of the cheaper rooms facing West (away from beach), try to be higher up as to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your wonderful review following your stay at Suncoast Hotel.

I am delighted that you found everything to your liking.

I look forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,


Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    138
    58
    25
    21
See reviews for
90
150
28
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spending our honeymon on Durban's Golden mile, Suncoast Hotel was amazing. Great ocean view; clean & well-kept rooms; awesome breakfast buffet (loved every bit of it :)) Overall service was admirable: very professional - all staff always willing to lend a helping hand, ensuring service with a smile. An important gesture as this provides guests with a sense of comfort - making one feel @ home; hence recommendation to others is made easy.

Special thanks & appreciation to Rashmin (Suncoast Hotel's maintenance manager) and Khalik Essop (GM) for your warm welcome; pleasant and helpful nature; you made our stay very comfortable; so worthwhile.
Also had a treat in the form of a Phytomer Radiance facial by Diane @ the Suncoast Spa..Thank you Diane! was very soothing & relaxing.....ladies, I strongly recommend :)

Khalik Essop & team, you are doing a great job!! "keep doing what you do"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Suncoast Hotel to celebrate the occasion of your honeymoon.

Our staff are our greatest asset and we pride ourselves in delivering professional and friendly service.

My wish is that you will return to Suncoast Hotel to celebrate other special moments.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Suncoast in the past but each time for just one night and the experience was good. This time we stayed for three nights and we didn't enjoy the stay as much. We ate at the restaurant and had curry mutton twice - first time was five-star second dinner not so good as there were different chefs. We ended up eating at Havana Grill which was a better experience. The breakfasts were, however, very good.

The standard rooms have narrow little box windows so the view is not great. The deluxe rooms on the end have the great views but you pay a lot more for them. If we stay at the Maharani we get standard rooms with wonderful panoramic views from spacious rooms and consistantly good food at the Piatta restaurant. In future our Durban trips will be at the Maharani.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and to provide me with feedback on your stay with us.

I am so sorry that your stay was less than perfect. I am delighted that your first stay with us was amazing as you are aware of the standard we try and achieve consistently.

Your comments will be shared with the team.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I can see this hotel being good for a holiday because it is located on the beach and the services are great. However, I was attending a conference and I stayed here because it was one of the conference-recommended hotels.

Pros:
Location is great. Situated close to the beach with a direct access.
Breakfast is scrumptious.
Pool area is clean and well-kept.

Cons:
Internet is horrible. There is a bandwidth limit per day and you can only get limited number of devices on a connection and you have to pay for extra devices. It feels like I am back in 1990 when internet was limited.
The internet situation may not bother some people, but it is extremely frustrating when you are on a business visit and cannot even check email without having to come downstairs to get a signal.
The bathroom set up is weird. It is a glass bathroom, so you have to be comfortable with your partner/ spouse if you are sharing the room. As much as I love my spouse, I think shower time is personal and not left to be open-viewing.

Overall, I feel this hotel works well if you are on holiday, but it is not a good choice for business visits.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us.
We have addressed your concerns regarding the internet service and the bathroom setup and know your constructive criticism enables us to grow and provide consistent good service.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel and casino is located just a few meters from the beach, on Durban's famous Golden Mile. I had a large and very comfortable room with a fantastic view. The breakfast was plentiful, and it could be enjoyed outside, next to the pool. Free wifi internet on top of this, made me a very satisfied hotel guest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the facilities and the good service.

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I went to the hotel on a business trip. Arrived early and the friendly staff assisted in giving me a room on a higher floor with a better view of the ocean. The room was clean and offered everything one could ask for. Very modern.
The service was fantastic from the bar, to room service to breakfast.
A great stay and I will be back

Room Tip: An ocean view is a must. The higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am glad to see that we could assist you with your early check-in. It is vital for us to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible and to assist them where we possibly can.

Thank you for commenting on the good service received - I will share your feedback with the team.

We look forward welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Durban is a very busy and sometimes frustrating place to visit. Their are so many Beautyful things to see and do, but best of all was our stay at the fantastic hotel.

We stayed with this hotel last year and again this year, We would have to rate them 10 out of 10. The whole experience was fantastic from checking in to checking out. The facilities within the hotel are first class. They have a pool area with a bar, where we have spent many an afternoon sipping Piña Coladas and swimming, the service given by Batanya and Rakesh has been exceptional on each of our visits. The restaurants, and bars on site from bisto, casual to fine dining, can not be faulted and deserves to be complmented at all levels. ALL staff within the Hotel greet you and treat you like a special friend. Nothing is too much trouble for any staff member at any level. The General manager is always around talking to guests and asking their opinion to see if there is anything they can improve on or do better. he is genuininely interested in your opinion. Our stay this time was without a doubt the best accomodation we have ever experienced around the world, and look forward to our return next trip. please note that this hotel does not have family rooms and i would suggest taking a premier or executive suite not a standard room as it is a bit small

Room Tip: premier and executive are suites with balcony overlooking the pool and the occean and you can smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ge0gi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed so many of our facilities and the good service offered by our friendly staff.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
1.3 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Towers

Property: Suncoast Towers
Address: 20 Battery Beach Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Suncoast Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pulse of Durban’s Golden Mile, the SunCoast Hotel and Towers offers everything a discerning traveller could need: beach views, a casino, excellent service and every modern convenience possible. Unwind on the private pool deck, get a facial at the spa or enjoy a private meal overlooking in the ocean in a luxurious room. This contemporary hotel is Durban’ s ideal getaway spot for all types of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncoast Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing