We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another awesome experience at Suncoast Hotel!”
Review of Suncoast Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suncoast Towers
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Every time I stay at Suncoast Hotel, I feel like the only guest in there - that's how the staff makes me feel! They are literally at your beck and call, no request is too much trouble and it's done with a smile. Every visit is better than the last one - Suncoast is definitely my favourite 'hangout' in Durbs!

Room Tip: Try the Premium Suite!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback following your stay with us. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay including the attentive and friendly team members.
I hope that it will not be too long before we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back to Suncoast Hotels for another memorable visit.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Suncoast Towers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 463 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

i recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spacious
i recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spaciousi recommend to all holiday / business people
from booking -in to check-out
fantastic/professional/outstanding service
room service brilliant
rooms spacious

Room Tip: all round fantastic hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shehzaad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

We take pride in offering the very best possible service. i am delighted that you found the staff members to be friendly and the service good.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kaliq Eesop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Anyone out their who wants to visit suncoast towers in Durban, please do not hesitate. It was professional, I felt special and so at home. From the time I step into the hotel it was VIP treatment. Extremely friendly staff and wow what a view my room had.

Room Tip: Definitely sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted that you had a good stay with us.

I will share the good comments regarding the professional and friendly staff members with the team.

Looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Kaliq Essop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I recently booked this hotel for my mum for her birthday for 4 nights. It seemed like the perfect break and an excellent location.The room which she stayed in was very small and box like even though I had booked the 'SUPERIOR QUEEN SEA VIEW ROOM' and she was not keen on the open plan bathroom. Having a wash basin at the foot of your head is not exactly ideal. Also, house keeping could have been better, throughout her stay, she had to request for stuff which they seemed to forget to leave in the room, on the one day they had only just left 1 towel instead of 2, there were 2 people sharing the room, then on a separate occasion she had to request for teabags, a shower cap, shampoo. It did get a bit annoying.
Breakfast on the other hand was fantastic and the staff were great too.
After having paid considerably more than I would have at any other other hotel along the beach front, I would have expected her stay to have been perfect and it's quite disappointing to learn that it was not as good as I hoped it would have been. I wouldn't consider this hotel to be good value for money.

Room Tip: You are better off paying less and booking a standard room, as the superior queen sea view room is c...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a reiview and for the feedback.

We are so sorry that you found our "Suncoast Sunsquare" rooms too small and not convenient. May I please ask that you visit our website and have a look at the other component of the Suncoast Hotels which is called "Suncoast Towers". These rooms make part of the deluxe component of the property and might meet up with your expectations.

Your comments regarding the housekeeping service have been noted and action taken. We are commited to offer all guests an experience that exceeds their expetations and were disappointed that we did not meet yours.

We hope to see you back at Suncoast Hotels soon and I would like to meet with you and show you the property and the other offerings we have.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I return to the Suncoast year after year because it never disappoints - great accommodation, attractive public spaces including a lovely pool area which is never overcrowded, and best of all - situated in a prime location on Durban's Golden Mile with direct access to the casino complex (offering a great choice of dining and drinking venues) and adjacent to some beautiful beaches with security and lifeguards in attendance. My most recent trip in June 2013 proved no exception, my Premier Suite providing spacious accommodation with a gigantic bed, beautiful marble bathroom (including power shower) and bijou balcony offering gorgeous views of the sunrise over the sea every morning. This is not a budget option and even the basic rooms (which I don't recommend - unless you like windows you can't open more than a couple of inches and an open-plan bathroom literally at the foot of your bed) don't compare favourably price-wise with their immediate competitors. However, if you know South Africa you know that safety is a primary concern and worth paying for - and I am happy to say I have never had a moment's concern in and around the Suncoast Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted that you always enjoy your stay with us and that you enjoy the big variety of services we have to offer.

We look forward welcomimg you back.

Kind Regards,

Kaliq Essop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The breakfast was great!

Being woken up before 6am as my neighbour was showering, not so cool. Having a square TV with widescreen channels that don't fit, noisy picture and channels that freeze didn't help make my stay any more pleasant. The front-desk and maintenance team were not forthcoming during my stay.

Apparently the Suncoast Towers is a better option although very pricey in comparison.

Room Tip: Avoid floor 1 rooms as the traffic between the casino and the hotel will pass your room. Showers are...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are commited to offering all guests an experience that exceeds their expectations and were disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.

Your comments have been noted and action taken.

As per our telephone conversation, I am looking forward to introduce you to the deluxe Towers section of the property, which will hopefully meet your expectations.

I have sent you a personal e-mail, as I would like to take personal care of you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Werner du Preez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Have stayed in several hotels in and around Durban for business trips. Have recently discovered this one and in my opinion, the best Southern Sun in Durbs. Nice view, nice location, nice room and accessory layout, nice food. The rooms are huge and some have a balcony. Room with a sea view is very relaxing. This will be my frequent stop over in Durban.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Whydoyouneedascreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the positive feedback!

I am glad to know that you have discovered your "home away from home" in Durban!

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Kaliq Essop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
1.3 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Towers

Address: 20 Battery Beach Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $131 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Suncoast Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pulse of Durban’s Golden Mile, the SunCoast Hotel and Towers offers everything a discerning traveller could need: beach views, a casino, excellent service and every modern convenience possible. Unwind on the private pool deck, get a facial at the spa or enjoy a private meal overlooking in the ocean in a luxurious room. This contemporary hotel is Durban’ s ideal getaway spot for all types of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncoast Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing