We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location in Durban” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suncoast Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suncoast Towers
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best location in Durban”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I return to the Suncoast year after year because it never disappoints - great accommodation, attractive public spaces including a lovely pool area which is never overcrowded, and best of all - situated in a prime location on Durban's Golden Mile with direct access to the casino complex (offering a great choice of dining and drinking venues) and adjacent to some beautiful beaches with security and lifeguards in attendance. My most recent trip in June 2013 proved no exception, my Premier Suite providing spacious accommodation with a gigantic bed, beautiful marble bathroom (including power shower) and bijou balcony offering gorgeous views of the sunrise over the sea every morning. This is not a budget option and even the basic rooms (which I don't recommend - unless you like windows you can't open more than a couple of inches and an open-plan bathroom literally at the foot of your bed) don't compare favourably price-wise with their immediate competitors. However, if you know South Africa you know that safety is a primary concern and worth paying for - and I am happy to say I have never had a moment's concern in and around the Suncoast Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted that you always enjoy your stay with us and that you enjoy the big variety of services we have to offer.

We look forward welcomimg you back.

Kind Regards,

Kaliq Essop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    126
    56
    22
    20
See reviews for
83
140
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The breakfast was great!

Being woken up before 6am as my neighbour was showering, not so cool. Having a square TV with widescreen channels that don't fit, noisy picture and channels that freeze didn't help make my stay any more pleasant. The front-desk and maintenance team were not forthcoming during my stay.

Apparently the Suncoast Towers is a better option although very pricey in comparison.

Room Tip: Avoid floor 1 rooms as the traffic between the casino and the hotel will pass your room. Showers are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are commited to offering all guests an experience that exceeds their expectations and were disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.

Your comments have been noted and action taken.

As per our telephone conversation, I am looking forward to introduce you to the deluxe Towers section of the property, which will hopefully meet your expectations.

I have sent you a personal e-mail, as I would like to take personal care of you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Werner du Preez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WR
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Have stayed in several hotels in and around Durban for business trips. Have recently discovered this one and in my opinion, the best Southern Sun in Durbs. Nice view, nice location, nice room and accessory layout, nice food. The rooms are huge and some have a balcony. Room with a sea view is very relaxing. This will be my frequent stop over in Durban.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Whydoyouneedascreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the positive feedback!

I am glad to know that you have discovered your "home away from home" in Durban!

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Kaliq Essop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent a long weekend here when we booked for the Top Gear Festival and were so happy that we chose this hotel! Great service, great rooms, fantastic staff, I have absolutely nothing negative to say. This place comes highly recommended from me. And the added benefit was I did not need to rent a car, everything we wanted was within easy walking distance, including the stadium that the festival was held at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We really value your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you find our staff to be fantastic!

We do hope to welcome you back at Suncoast Hotels.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Suncoast Towers. We have not been to the Durban beachfront for many years and we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is well located with direct access to the beach as well as to the wide variety of restaurants and amenities at the casino. Being a beautifully restored Art Deco building, the hotel has extra charm. There is a very inviting pool set in a private garden which has secure access to the beach and the promenade, which provides a lengthy and very enjoyable walk. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. We have had the privilege of staying at many hotels around the world, and we found the service at the Suncoast Towers to be on a par, if not better than elsewhere. The breakfast served on the pool level overlooking the garden is excellent and offers a variety of choices to please all palates. The only disappointment we had was the layout of the room, which, with an open plan bathroom area, was not to our taste. Overall, our room was rather cramped, had a very small TV set, and finishes which were not of the quality one would expect. For this reason, I believe that our stay was overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the architecture of the building and all the facilities that we have to offer.

We have taken note of the point you mentioned regarding the size of the television.

Looking forward welcoming you back at Suncoast!

Warm Regards,

kaliq Essop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a pleasant surprise this hotel was. Friendly staff from when we arrived in the car park. Clean, lovely rooms, great views, lots of restaurants within the same resort. The first hotel I've stayed in where the conference centre would contact me to tell me when they were going home and when they would be back the following morning in case there was anything we needed in the interim! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when my husband and I decided to take a 1 night break for our anniversary at the Suncoast Towers. As we stay literally 30 mins away from Durban I must admit i was a little apprehensive about what we were going to find. We arrived early and were greeted by the fantastic staff. Their attention to detail is fantastic and we were surprised shortly after with a complimentary cheese cake and mini bottle of champagne to celebrate. The view of the sea was amazing, the room was comfortable and the hotel/complex amenities suit every need and budget. We took a walk down on the beach and reentered the hotel via the pool entrance which is a lovely area, well hidden off the promenade and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was beautiful, there was some thing for every one. Over all we had a fantastic stay and can not fault the staff and hotel in any way. Thank you for a unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for posting a review.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and your anniversary celebration with us. I am glad that we could make it a beautiful memory for you.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Towers

Property: Suncoast Towers
Address: 20 Battery Beach Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Suncoast Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pulse of Durban’s Golden Mile, the SunCoast Hotel and Towers offers everything a discerning traveller could need: beach views, a casino, excellent service and every modern convenience possible. Unwind on the private pool deck, get a facial at the spa or enjoy a private meal overlooking in the ocean in a luxurious room. This contemporary hotel is Durban’ s ideal getaway spot for all types of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Suncoast Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing