We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Southern Sun in Durban”
Review of Suncoast Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suncoast Towers
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Have stayed in several hotels in and around Durban for business trips. Have recently discovered this one and in my opinion, the best Southern Sun in Durbs. Nice view, nice location, nice room and accessory layout, nice food. The rooms are huge and some have a balcony. Room with a sea view is very relaxing. This will be my frequent stop over in Durban.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Whydoyouneedascreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the positive feedback!

I am glad to know that you have discovered your "home away from home" in Durban!

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Kaliq Essop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Suncoast Towers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 463 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent a long weekend here when we booked for the Top Gear Festival and were so happy that we chose this hotel! Great service, great rooms, fantastic staff, I have absolutely nothing negative to say. This place comes highly recommended from me. And the added benefit was I did not need to rent a car, everything we wanted was within easy walking distance, including the stadium that the festival was held at.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We really value your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you find our staff to be fantastic!

We do hope to welcome you back at Suncoast Hotels.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Suncoast Towers. We have not been to the Durban beachfront for many years and we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is well located with direct access to the beach as well as to the wide variety of restaurants and amenities at the casino. Being a beautifully restored Art Deco building, the hotel has extra charm. There is a very inviting pool set in a private garden which has secure access to the beach and the promenade, which provides a lengthy and very enjoyable walk. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. We have had the privilege of staying at many hotels around the world, and we found the service at the Suncoast Towers to be on a par, if not better than elsewhere. The breakfast served on the pool level overlooking the garden is excellent and offers a variety of choices to please all palates. The only disappointment we had was the layout of the room, which, with an open plan bathroom area, was not to our taste. Overall, our room was rather cramped, had a very small TV set, and finishes which were not of the quality one would expect. For this reason, I believe that our stay was overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the architecture of the building and all the facilities that we have to offer.

We have taken note of the point you mentioned regarding the size of the television.

Looking forward welcoming you back at Suncoast!

Warm Regards,

kaliq Essop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a pleasant surprise this hotel was. Friendly staff from when we arrived in the car park. Clean, lovely rooms, great views, lots of restaurants within the same resort. The first hotel I've stayed in where the conference centre would contact me to tell me when they were going home and when they would be back the following morning in case there was anything we needed in the interim! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when my husband and I decided to take a 1 night break for our anniversary at the Suncoast Towers. As we stay literally 30 mins away from Durban I must admit i was a little apprehensive about what we were going to find. We arrived early and were greeted by the fantastic staff. Their attention to detail is fantastic and we were surprised shortly after with a complimentary cheese cake and mini bottle of champagne to celebrate. The view of the sea was amazing, the room was comfortable and the hotel/complex amenities suit every need and budget. We took a walk down on the beach and reentered the hotel via the pool entrance which is a lovely area, well hidden off the promenade and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was beautiful, there was some thing for every one. Over all we had a fantastic stay and can not fault the staff and hotel in any way. Thank you for a unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for posting a review.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and your anniversary celebration with us. I am glad that we could make it a beautiful memory for you.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Suncoast Hotel and Towers is right on the beachfront. Get an ocean view room -- it is lovely to see the waves of the Indian Ocean and feel the breeze.

The room and the bed are definitely comfortable. However, I would not rate the room as fantastic as there was nothing that made it extra special. I stayed only for one night on business and selected the property for its location and safety. The location is definitely very convenient as it is attached to several restaurants and a secure beachfront.

The staff are helpful and the property is well maintained. There is a gym and pool onsite as well. I ordered room service for dinner as I was really tired and found the food quite delicious. My only complaint is the fragrance that the hotel uses in all its public spaces. I found it to overpowering. Plus, it was not a fragrance that I really liked. It would be great if they controlled how much of it was wafting through the public spaces.

Final words...stay here if you are looking for convenience, comfort and safety. This is not the place if you are looking for that extra "oomph" in your stay and experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay.

We appreciate the positive comments regarding the good service and the facilities of the hotel.

Please note that we have larger and more luxurious rooms on the Towers division of the hotel. We look forward welcoming you back and I would be delighted to personally assist you with the perfect room, so that your experience is fantastic.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great location on beachfront, excellent service and friendliness from all staff, fantastic breakfasts, great sea view! Convenient amenities at hotel or at Suncoast complex. This was our second stay and cannot wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graemevdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliq E, General Manager at Suncoast Towers, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

We really value your feedback and I was delighted to see that you enjoyed so many of our wonderful fascilities, including the Spa.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Kaliq Essop
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
1.3 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Towers

Address: 20 Battery Beach Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $131 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Suncoast Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pulse of Durban’s Golden Mile, the SunCoast Hotel and Towers offers everything a discerning traveller could need: beach views, a casino, excellent service and every modern convenience possible. Unwind on the private pool deck, get a facial at the spa or enjoy a private meal overlooking in the ocean in a luxurious room. This contemporary hotel is Durban’ s ideal getaway spot for all types of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncoast Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing