We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
112
38
2
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
112
38
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury experience other guests pool room a great stay dave hosts privacy lounge establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 157 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2010

When we did this review, we did it with no effort, as good service should always be rewarded.
Great staff and even better management! Well done Dave and Llewellyn.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We went to Durban in October 2010 to go and watch the Currie Cup Final. We arrived a little bit earlier as initially indicated - the establishment had no problem with our earlier arrival and we were promptly met at the gate with a friendly smile. As we were two friends travelling together, we asked whether we could have a room with twin beds - we were upgraded to the studio apartment that had two double beds, a small kitchenette and a small shower. Although small, all the amenities were in perfect working order and clean. The owner's were very friendly and were very helpful with tips on restaurants and places to go to. Everything were available for us to use - including a "honesty bar", swimming pool and the jacuzzi. Due to limited time constraints we unfortunately could not use all the facilities available to us. The guest house is ideally located close to all the trendy restaurants and the gay night life. We really had a wonderful time and have already started making plans to go back. Thank you Dave and Llewellyn for a very pleasant stay at your establishment.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsievanderMerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Dave and Llewellyn are some of the most sincere host you can find in Durban. Their guest house in Berea is ideally located for both business and pleasure.

They have created a loving, elegant environment where you can relax and feel comfortable.

The small things like the heated towel railings to the excellent quality mattresses and linen creates a home away from home.

Thanks guys

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoVermaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Great place to stay in Durban. Probably one of the best gay B&B guesthouses in South Africa. Very modern place with nice outdoor swimming pool, guest bar and roof terrace with jacuzzi and great view over Durban. Llewellyn and Dave are great hosts.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MML90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

What a wonderful surprice to find a gay guesthouse with so much class and finesse. Our room had a private patio overlooking the pool and "staircase to heaven" (roof top spa) which came quite handy at times. Definitely A ***** establishment. What makes this guesthouse tick is without no doubt the two yummy owners Dave and Llewellyn. On arrival they where there to welcome us with a complimentary drink and after making sure that we are settled in introduced us to the rest of the guests.
Even our last night, which was supposed to be an early night as Henk just completed the 106km amashova road race, where turned upside down as Dave and Llewellyn had other plans!!!. They made sure we had an unforgettable farewell. Needless to say we both woke up with quite a hangover (thanks to Llewellyn-hy weet van shooters! maak) and we missed our flight back to Jo'burg.
We will definitly stay there again and as one of the other guests, Adriaan said " the hosts-Dave and Llewellyn are there but also not there" and my travel partner, well.......he is still on another planet!!!

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews