We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Durban”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durban View Guest House
Ranked #48 of 267 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Last week I have stayed at the Durbanview Guesthouse. I was so lucky to stay at the studio, which is huge and with a full kitchen, terrace and nice view. But also the other rooms are very nice. But the best part is the personalized service, lovely muffins for breakfast and the view from the rooftop (where they also have a jacuzzi. Really would recommend this place, if you look for a gay home away from home. Thanks Dave and Llewellyn!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank berry64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 153 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2008

I have just returned from an awesome stay at the Durban View Guest House. It was a wonderful way to start my visit to South Africa. The house is magnificent and I experienced incredible service and hospitality. It was so lovely that it was hard to leave.
After a day out and about I couldn't wait to get back to the peace and tranquility in the house, I felt like I was back home. The breakfast was a lovely continental spread with cheeses fruit pastries etc. The pool and spa are lovely. The views from the third floor are fantastic. The nearby restaurants and bars are great.
Overall, I would say this is probably one the best guest houses I have ever stayed in on holiday and I am extremely happy that I stayed with them! In addition, it was an excellent value for the price paid. Thank you for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Xrayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Dave and Llewellyn make great hosts and have an offering which should be experienced by those who are attracted to quieter places with a more personal service.

Dave and Llewellyn make you feel as though you have known them forever.

I stumbled across their website on the Internet and feel like I have found a needle in the haystack. Without a doubt, I would stay with Dave and Llewellyn again when I visit Durban.

The room I stayed in was spacious with a kingsize bed and clean. The lady responsible for making breakfast and cleaning up was very pleasant and had a way of cleaning up around you without ever being in your way. The Durban View Guest House has everything from a jacuzzi with a great view to a private swimming pool. My stay at the Durban View Guest House was very comfortable and I got to meet some great people. On top of all of this was the value for money.

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay whilst in Durban, I would definitely consider Durban View Guest House.

Wish to thank Dave and Llewellyn for creating this wonderful place which made my stay in Durban so much more comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbarendsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

What a find! Very nice, gay guesthouse with amazing views of the Durban skyline. The guest rooms are all very nice with modern ensuite bathrooms and tvs, the house has a very nice plunge pool and tanning area, and also a rooftop deck with jacuzzi - with views that can't be beat. The owners and manager are all as nice as could be. It was like staying at your best friend's vacation house. Liked this place so much I stayed an extra night. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MLD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grgr012000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bockmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passagesoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#35 of 44 in Durban
107 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 44 in Durban
41 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#161 of 267 in Durban
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durban View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durban View Guest House

Address: 16 Holstead Gardens | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $27 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on our rooftop sipping cocktails in Durban's sunny weather 12 months of the year. Great beaches, warm Indian Ocean and exclusive to our gay local and international guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing