We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durban View Guest House
Ranked #51 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I hadn't been to Durban in nearly a decade and this was an excellent reintroduction. A very comfortable stay with its amiable and charming hosts Llewellyn and Dave. The garden bungalow was sensitively designed and very spacious; a terrific bargain, really. Breakfasts were tasty and ample. The roof deck and hot tub offer exactly what they advertise. Above all getting to know the hosts and other guests made this most worthwhile. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Garden bungalow is away from everything and quite spacious. Only downside -- beyond the owners'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gothamgourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 151 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

As the only gay guesthouse in Durban, you get what you expect.
A very design house, small pool, a roofdeck leisure area with jacuzzi and a stunning view over the city and the sea.
We stayed in the "garden bungalow" which was behind the main house. It is very large and has got also a kitchenette.
Durban View is in a residential area and therefore very quiet.
Florida street, the restaurant street, you may reach in a 15 minutes walk.
Here some of the other points you may also know :
-The bathroom in the "garden bungalow" is as small as a cupboard.
-The architecture of the house is somehow caotic, therefore you have to climb several narrow stairs to get in and out and up and down.
-The parking is maybe a problem, but the owner assist you if the guesthouse is not full.
Don't expect that you see always the owners or that they say goodbye to you, because they are not living in the house and are busy with their other businneses, therefore the guesthouse runs itsellfs with the staff.
But neverless as there is no concurrence on the gay guesthouse market, we recommand Durban View for every gay traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-PhilippeetUrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Durban View Guest House was my first experience of South Africa, and it set a high standard for everything else.

the place is just amazing, owners one of the most hospitable people ever, service, food, drinks - everything to the highest standard. it really felt like being at home - Dave and Llewellyn (the owners) went so far with their kindness, they invited me and one other guest to go to their house and share some drinks and BBQ with their friends and family.

would definitely go back, anytime! thank you for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomislav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed in many guest houses and B & B`s in South Africa. Durban View Guest house by far outweighs the others! We were treated with atmost hospitality. and all our needs were taken care of, while our privacy were respected at all times. We felt very welcome and there is just one regret! We wanted to stay longer! But had to leave due to responsibilities. I can, with a clear conscience, recommend Durban View Guest House to anybody if you would like to be treated as a VSP! (Very Special Person).

Room Tip: Want quiet and privacy? Room on the South Side!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leoni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent stay. Service was warm and friendly. Felt like a home away from home. The drinks at the bar was accompanied with great conversation. It's a shame it was raining, as it would have been great to utilise the outside area. I will definitely book here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A very nice place with very relaxed hosts L&D. Very friendly and they take care of your needs. Rooms are nice and the bathroom great which I had. Welcome drinks are very nice in the personal bar overlooking the pool. The only thing I would change is the door with the code to come in on the first floor; but I guess this is South Africa. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwin020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was treated like a VIP. The rooms were amazing, the service, breakfast, attention to detail, warmth and welcome, were exceptional. I have no hesitation in recommending this awesome guesthouse to any traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.8 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#77 of 256 in Durban
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#161 of 256 in Durban
16 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durban View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durban View Guest House

Address: 16 Holstead Gardens | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $27 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on our rooftop sipping cocktails in Durban's sunny weather 12 months of the year. Great beaches, warm Indian Ocean and exclusive to our gay local and international guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing