We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Ridgeview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ridgeview Lodge
Ranked #17 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very good, safe and quiet location with great view. Rooms and bathroom/shower were clean and spacious. Gary and Tosca were gracious and friendly hosts. Minor deficit immediately corrected. Excellent breakfast. Very good restaurants in vicinity, recommended by Tosca.. We were impressed. Good value. Would stay here again! Jannie and Jeanette

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goadmin, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Greetings Jannie and Jeanette, many thanks for submitting a lovely review of Ridgeview Lodge, very much appreciated and we are pleased to have been able to make your stay both comfortable and enjoyable. When next you are down this part of the world, we would love to host you again, Best Regards Gary & Tosca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Ridgeview Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent value for money, food was good , Owners friendly, nice view, unfortunately I think the beds need upgrading.Otherwise all was good and will definitely stay there again as it is close to everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed a few nights here over Christmas time. I am very glad we chose this spot as the hosts made us feel like their friends - they were helpful and very jovial! It definitely feels like we were staying with friends rather than at some unfamiliar place.

The lodge itself is not luxurious, but it is very well kept. The rooms look like they have been recently decorated and common areas look clean and recently done up. I would perhaps rather stay there in winter, however, as the Durban summer makes the heavy furniture and curtains feel a little stuffy. Fortunately the rooms had aircons, so it wasn't a big issue.

The only downside was that our bed was a bit too soft and saggy and the towels were a bit small and thin. Also, while there were some toiletries provided, it was clear that they were a bit cheap and not too good for the skin. If those items were sorted out then this would probably truly be a luxury lodge. However one can't complain too much either as the value for money was superb, especially during the peak season.

The decor is not to everyone's style - it is a traditional english-style house (carpeted rooms, heavy furniture, brick-facade). However they have worked very well with it. I would definitely stay there again.

The location is also quite convenient if one needs to travel around various parts of Durban - it's convenient for accessing areas like Westville and Hillcrest, as well as the beaches.

Room Tip: We had a garden room (room number 6) which was very quiet and we could sleep in.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slav103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goadmin, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Greetings and many thanks for the review from a knowledgeable Tripadvisor contributor, its always gratifying to to have complimentary remarks about the positive aspects to our accommodation and unfortunately disturbing when there are conflicting remarks. Nevertheless we do look forward to hosting you both during 2014 when the opportunity arises. Happy New Year, Gary & Tosca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

this was the most pleasant stay ever. Tosca and Gary were just to great and friendly. the view at ridge view was great and also the designation was pin point. i would recommend this place to anyone....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nazeem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goadmin, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Greetings Nazeem, many thanks for the review and especially that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope that you are have recovered from all the wedding celebrations. Happy New Year. Gary & Tosca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Thanks for looking after me great stay breakfast wonderful fantadtic veiw over the harbour. Tosca and Gary intresting with a wide knowledge of the arra and its history thank you for making me feel welcome

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goadmin, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thanks Rene for staying with us, its always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests staying, very happy that you enjoyed your stay in "Faulty Towers"....Peter, best regards and speedy recovery, we look forward to hosting you in the future, Christmas Greetings, Gary & Tosca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Staying at this lodge felt more like staying at home. They took really good care of us. I would recommend this place to anyone who needs a quiet and comfortable place to stay. It was an amazing place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dushen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goadmin, Owner at Ridgeview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Greetings Dushen, a very big thank you for submitting a review, your aunt and cousin are two very special people who we had the pleasure of hosting, your comfort and satisfaction are paramount in our endevour to meet guests expectations, thanks once again, we look forward to hosting you in the future and a speedy recovery to your uncle Gary & Tosca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

the guesthouse was very nice (rooms,clean,location...). the view is fantastic especially at night. the staff is very friendly and helpful. we loved the bar-ending a day with a glass of wine and enjoy the view over durban is just perfect

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,460 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
2.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mackaya Bella Guest House
3.1 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
0.6 mi away
An Upper Room
An Upper Room
#5 of 256 in Durban
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeview Lodge

Address: 17 Loudoun Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $71 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ridgeview Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durban's leading, triple award winning, 4 star graded, owner managed guest house...Situated high on the Berea ridge with panoramic city port views, swimming pool, pub, secure parking and peaceful surroundings. Bedrooms en-suite, air con, TV, telephone, safety deposit, , refreshments. Close to restaurants, golf, 2010 fifa stadium, beach, shopping, just perfect, 25 minutes away from the airport Free Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ridgeview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing