We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Grill Jichana

Grill Jichana
Ranked #8 of 610 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A modern and stylish Grill/Steakhouse that offers a short and sizzling menu. The meaning of Jichana, "eating good" in Swahili, embraces the flavours and aromas of the original east Coast of Africa's spice route. Cassia, cloves, cinnamon, ginger, cardamom, turmeric and pepper. These robustly flavoursome spices complement the grilling of meat, fish and chicken creating Jichana!
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great fillet and rump steak, curry butternut the best and service fast efficient. Def reccommend. Wine list extensive.xxxxx xxxxxxxxxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxxx xxx xxxxxx xxx

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank margyshiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    45
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
budapest
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic grill restaurant on Golden Mile”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Very fine restaurant with classic seafood, my favorite was the local blackfish.
Good portions of steaks.
Incredible desserts.
Quick and friendly service.
Big up!

Helpful?
2 Thank verefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top 3 steaks of a lifetime”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We were initially weary of this place as it was in the hotel complex we were staying in. We were wrong. The place is nice enough, the service excellent, but the fillet steak was simply outstanding!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a single second without smiles”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I had a 3 course meal which could compete at a michelin standard. Our waitress, pearl, was beautiful, friendly, intelligent and did not once put us in a situation where we had to wait for her. This type of service is rare and really completed an already unbelievable dining experience.
P.s. the 5 chocolate chocolate ball is to die for

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andytravels33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lives up to its excellent reputation!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I had read the great reviews of the Grill Jichana and not wanting to leave the hotel on the eve of the soccer world cup quarter finals I decide to eat in the hotel complex. On arrival one is welcomed with a glass of sherry and the atmosphere of the restaurant is upmarket, yet warm and relaxed.

We started off with well-priced starter salads - the Jichana salad comprised biltong, blue cheese, mixed greens, red onion, green olives, pepperdews and toasted granola. I tried something which I would not normally have had which was the seafood salad comprising steamed prawn tails, avo, mixed greens,cherry tomatoes, cucumber and citrus segments. They offer a choice of complimentary house dressings and the gingered citrus vinaigrette was perfect for my seafood. Both salads were excellent, beautifully prepared, flavourful and just the right quantity.

For mains we decided on the free range Karoo lamb from de Aar which comprised a duo of chops being a T-bone cutlet and a double loin cutlet - spiced and basted, done to perfection. I had the rump steak and definitely the meal lived up to its reputation of being one of the best in Durban. The steak was done to perfection, pink in the middle but not wet and very very tender where the knife just slid through the steak. There is a choice of sides to go with your main meal - I chose the steamed fresh market vegetables which were perfect.

There is an extensive wine list and they also sell wine by the glass - top quality and a huge variety. Overall a very enjoyable visit, top class food and atmosphere and quite reasonably priced for the quality of the food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill Jichana also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Grill Jichana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing