We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting for tourists”

Phezulu Safari Park
Ranked #15 of 120 things to do in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting for tourists”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Growing up in Durban means I have been here and you don't really need to revisit, but my partner had never been to KZN so off we went to take in the local sights. He REALLY enjoyed his visit to the Crocodile and Snake park as he has never seen crocodiles in the flesh before and this allows you to get up close to these huge reptiles. I also found it informative and enjoyed strolling around seeing animals I don't expect to see in the my daily life.
We also went across to the Cultural Village and enjoyed the dancing and singing. Since we were doing Kruger in a few months, we skipped the Safari Drive.
Was it the best park of our visit to Durban? No- but it was an interesting morning which allowed us to make a trip to the valley of 1000 Hills and now we can say we did it. (He still tells friends about Junior and the Zulu ladies)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CrispSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    70
    20
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great performance”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Loved the park. We did the package which included the Zulu village & reptile park. Our highlight was the zulu performance.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“must see”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

this is a must .get so so close to crocodiles.you can drive around game park but its a little one. the show the people put on is great.they tell the story of Zulu times past.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“waste of time”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

wildlife park attached is by far the best thing to see, the Zulu village and the show is not worth anything, the craft shop has nice things but it is overpriced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had friends visiting from NZ and Canada and took them here in the morning. We did the combo where you see the croc and reptile park and the cultural experience. The croc park was really cool, got to see lots of crocs. As well, the one worker allowed us to hold the constrictor and the python. So me and my friends were super thrilled about that! After that we went to each hut and they explained what the men and women each do. Then they showed how in the Zulu culture the man gets the woman. Very beautiful dancing, drumming, and singing. As well, it overlooks a beautiful view of the 1000 hills as you are watching them perform, I highly recommend this place if you have friends visiting or if you are visiting from another country, and want to experience the Zulu culture!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phezulu Safari Park also viewed

 

Been to Phezulu Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing