We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Durban Botanic Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.14*
and up
Durban City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #3 of 116 things to do in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rare plants, exquisite orchids and charity tea parties draw visitors to this botanical garden.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

One of the lovely idyllic paces left in Central Durban. Lovely to relax at the pond and enjoy ask the fauna there. Very well maintained and they often have live music events there. Lots o fun

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shaats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    334
    69
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Durban Botanical gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

i have been visiting this gardens since i was a kid...more than 20 years...trees are out of this world....well kept...tea garden is a must visit...prices are reasonable...crumpets are the best

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traeson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Botanical gardens are still well maintained (I grew up nearby and used to play in the gardens 40- odd years ago. ). The orchid house is very jolie. There is a tearoom; they have fairly narrow hours of business from what I can remember, but reasonable prices and good food. I don't recall if it is permitted to feed the monkeys, but if you do, be careful as they can crowd you and bite. There is a variety of birdlife. The ducks are tame and the kids will enjoy playing next to the pond. One problem we did encounter was a young woman begging for money, so don't leave anything out of sight at any time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raffles727-200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem in a city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Beautiful gardens and orchid house. Music concerts in the gardens are fabulous, well worth attending. Tea room is good but could be better. Toilet facilities are adequate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank llevieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We love taking our children and dogs here - it's a haven of peace and tranquility and the Music by the Lake concerts make for a a super family day out, or a romantic picnic for couples.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durban Botanic Gardens also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Durban Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing