We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully welcoming”
Review of Essenwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Essenwood House
Ranked #6 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully welcoming”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Essenwood House three times now, and every time has been wonderful.

The house is beautiful and the location perfect, but the main attraction for us as been the welcome afforded us by the home's owners John and Paddy.

We are a (relatively) young couple from Cape Town via England who have two young boys now aged 4 and one. It's fair to say that at the moment the children are a bit of handful.

Every time we have stayed at Essenwood, Paddy and John have gone out of their way to make sure we and the kids are happy, including offering to cook nice but simple suppers for the kids...and then us a few hours later.

Somehow, despite the fact that Essenwood House is a posh, English-style colonial house with lovely furnishings, the kids have felt perfectly at home.

I would highly recommend Essenwood to anyone staying in Durban. We will certainly be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nopolony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are so lucky to only have really nice people who come and stay here which makes looking after you all worthwhile when appreciated like this,
Once again, many thanks,
John chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    38
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
96
28
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Schmiedrued-walde
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 12 nights in Essenwood House and highly recommend this immaculate B&B. The location is very practical, you can reach the beaches and all the major Highways within minutes. Our hosts made every effort to make us feel comfortable and welcome. We had a beautiful, large room on the first floor, it was worth the extra cost. The large bathroom was very well appointed, we felt very much at home. The breakfast choices with fresh fruit salad, assorted cereals and freshly cooked hot food of your choice gave us both a great start to the day. This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in in South Africa, and we have travelled around quite a bit. If you plan to stay in Durban, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 747Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much for your kind words which makes all the hard work worthwhile.
Hope to see you again, best wishes
John chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

On a recent trip to Durban we stayed at the Essenwood. From the time we booked, I knew that this was something special: The instructions to get there or whether we need a "Pick up?"; The welcome and personal guided tour of the room with a proper introduction to all the facilities; The advice as far as eating out and how to enjoy our stay - all just made this a wonderful stay.
The room with its own veranda (outside entrance) was superbly fitted with everything one could want. The bathroom was a revelation and spotless and the bed was heaven to a tired body. We woke up with a view over the garden and Durban harbour and bay area.
Our breakfast was enjoyed on the veranda with eggs exactly right and all the trimmings to go with a "Full English Breakfast". Our stay was too short but I am sure we will be able to make an excuse for staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: We had the room with an outside door onto a beautiful veranda - Superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaboCapeStFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
What a very kind review, much appreciated by both paddy and I. We always try and look after our guests and when they write such nice things it makes it all worthwhile,
With best wishes,
John and paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Wow, what a great B&B with fabulous hosts! We stayed at Essenwood for 2 nights and were very impressed with the property and Paddy and John were very friendly and helpful to us and our friends. The rooms are big and very comfortable. If you are looking for a quiet, well-run and well-located place to stay in Durban, you can't go past Essenwood House.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation, which makes it all worthwhile!
Hope to see you again sometime, With best wishes.
John and paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This guest house is beautiful, John welcomed us and we felt at home very quickly. We stayed for one night , our room was very well decorated, comfortable bed, efficient air conditioning (can't be underestimated), lovely bathroom and toiletries. Our friends stayed in the room with the balcony and the view on Durban is great. John was very helpful with all the questions we had. Highly recommend this guest house. Thank you!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, when we hear from our guests that everything went well it makes it all worthwhile, Hope to see you again, best wishes,
John and paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

One of the best places to stay. This guesthouse is equipped with everything you need for a perfect time in or around Durban. In addition the great service completed the wonderful visit in South Africa.

Many thanks for that

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron Sq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all went well, Obviously we hope to see you or your friends here sometime in the future,
With best wishes
John and paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is this best place ever to stay if you're in Durban. So close to town and all the lovely restaurants and yet so secluded and quiet you could be in the middle of the country. Our room was a beautiful , cool , large colonial room, with amazing views over the town. I spent a lovely morning relaxing by the pool in the garden , I felt like I was at home . John is a wonderful host and even carried my very heavy suitcase upstairs for me, but of course ladies do like to take outfits for all occasions! I wish we could have stayed longer but am sure we will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Annie, Thank you so much for your very kind review, which is of course much appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again soon after your stay at the beach, hope it has been as nice!
best wishes and again many thanks
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,393 reviews
1.9 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
1.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenwood House

Property: Essenwood House
Address: 630 Stephen Dlamini Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Essenwood House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essenwood House offers both the corporate or leisure guest all the comforts of a magnificent Edwardian private home in true 5 star affordable accommodation. Set in a tropical garden, peace and quiet yet minutes away from the city centre of Durban, shopping malls, restaurants, Durban Convention centre and the well-known Durban beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Essenwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing