We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essenwood House on the Berea is a haven while staying in Durban”
Review of Essenwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Essenwood House
Ranked #7 of 267 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Boundless Africa recommended Essenwood House to us while were were in Durban for a couple of days. We are always researching best practice so that we can make sure we are delivering excellence at our luxury accommodation in Australia, Basia Mille. We learnt many things at Essenwood House, being particularly well looked after by John and Paddy. John was an excellent host, driving us a short way to dinner at local restaurants, giving us advice about where to go, and making sure everything was working well. The accommodation was delightful. The room was large and the outlook towards Durban's city lights and the ocean was gorgeous. The breakfasts were delicious and the staff very accommodating. We had dinner in one evening and it was very pleasant.

Room Tip: We had the room on the left hand side of the House, upstairs. It had a large verandah with comfy ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

What a pleasant surprise on a Monday morning to receive such a kind review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and also weer able to pick out the things that needed a bit of attention. We would be grateful for advise as to what was not 100% as it is only when we hear from our guests that we can see what was not 100%and we can fix it! So many thanks, and of course hope to see you again,
best wishes
John and paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 268 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Paddy, John and all the staff were welcoming and helpful at all times, accommodating to our vegetarian diets, answering all our questions from where to eat, to how to get places. We felt totally at home coming and going, completely safe in their gated grounds and loved our enormous room with a walk out patio/ balcony overlooking the gardens and ocean in the distance. The beds were very comfortable and we loved the fresh fruit bowl in the room- thanks so much for that! And to top it off, the breakfasts were scrumptious- starting with fresh brewed coffee and tea and croissants straight from the oven, followed by a full English breakfast of whatever you order and a breakfast bar of cereals and fruits to choose from. Beautiful gardens and sweet little dogs were wonderful to be surrounded by!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffeetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to receive such a nice report of your stay, I am so glad that everything was as you expected. but obviously a bit concerned about 4 out of 5 for cleanliness- our staff clean the whole house daily but obviously I can't be everywhere and maybe missed something. I have asked you to let me know where you found it not 100% so that we can improve! So thanks for that, unless guests tell us we never hear !
Hope to see you again, Regards,
John and Paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this charming B&B. Paddy greeted us on our arrival and was attentive to our needs. Her dining recommendations were perfect! The accommodations were very comfortable with a nice city view and the ocean in the distance. Breakfasts were wonderful and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again if we ever return to Durban.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cappie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you so much for the very kind things you had to say about your stay with us. I am sorry I was not here to meet you, being away on my own annual break, but I am so glad that Paddy managed to look after you and make your stay a success.
I do hope we may see you again, so much to see and do in S.Africa, in one visit, maybe you have been more than once?
Anyway, all the best and again many thanks,
John Chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As a woman travelling on my own I always appreciate staying somewhere that is safe and secure - Essenwood House fitted the bill for this. The location was also very convenient for me as all my activities on this trip centred around Berea. The view from the veranda of my room over Durban to the sea was lovely. The guesthouse is down a panhandle street off the busy road and was very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nolene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to receive this review on my return from a vacation overseas!
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Paddy looked after you while I was away. She was under a lot of pressure with a full house but so glad that everything went well for you,. Hope to see you again, and meet you!
Regards,
John chance .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Essenwood house was picked as a place to stay based on the reviews from the web.. and these were spot on. The accommodation was comfortable and the stay was most relaxing. The place was offroad with safe parking. The hosts were most welcoming and provided good advice on many aspects of the visit. I would stay there again in preference to any hotel. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review, which is of course much appreciated that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we did having you here!
I have just got back from Europe for e three week break and found your review, which was of course a very nice homecoming. ! Hope to see you again and hope all well when you got home. Regards,
John Chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our stay at Essenwood house was wonderful, comfortable and relaxing. The breakfasts served every morning was delicious and the staff very friendly. John the host- was most helpful in every regard- even with the weather forcast every day- always spot on! The pool area is beautifully kept and the garden beautiful. We recommend Essenwood House without any reservations to anyone visiting Durban- with fantastic restaurants and attractions on your doorstep!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the top floor on the north east corner of the house with a huge private bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

We were so glad to receive your very kind remarks about your stay at Essenwood and are glad that everything went off well. It is always very heartening to receive nice things said about our service and yours was one of the best, which is making our day today!!
Hope your long trip home was not too exhausting and of course that we will see you again,
best wishes,
John chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Essenwood was recommended to us by our friends and family in the area. The accommodation was beautiful, so clean, comfortable and safe. The morning breakfasts were always spot on and catered to our preferences. John was so welcoming when we arrived we felt like we were returning home from a long trip away. Essenwood Guest House is central to many attractions, however, we often felt that the beautiful views and the pool/garden area was enough to keep our entire family entertained. After a horrible experience at a nearby B&B I would not recommend staying anywhere else in Morningside other than Essenwood. Thank you John for a wonderful time at Essenwood! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review of your stay, it is much appreciated. We always try and make everyone feel "at home' and try our best to take care of all their requests, so very gratifying to hear that you appreciated that.
once again many thanks,
John Chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,571 reviews
2.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 44 in Durban
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
1.2 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
14.7 mi away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#5 of 267 in Durban
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenwood House

Address: 630 Stephen Dlamini Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $63 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Essenwood House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essenwood House offers both the corporate or leisure guest all the comforts of a magnificent Edwardian private home in true 5 star affordable accommodation. Set in a tropical garden, peace and quiet yet minutes away from the city centre of Durban, shopping malls, restaurants, Durban Convention centre and the well-known Durban beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Essenwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing